5,600,429 Members 32,953 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Softkeys don't light-up, Trackball flash red (Error?!)

Tip us?
 
sir.knatter
Old
(Last edited by sir.knatter; 27th September 2010 at 11:20 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Berlin
Question Softkeys don't light-up, Trackball flash red (Error?!)

After i go step by step this tutorial forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=726258& the softkeys on my Nexus One don't light-up. If it is dark, in example by night, i didn't see the keys and i have to guess where the right softkey is.

I think the trackball flashes red, because it's a error statement that the softkeys are faulty.

I think the problem made by flashing the mtd0.img from this website ks33673.kimsufi.com/misc , because it's for a HTC Desire.

So i think i have to flash the right mtd0.img for a Nexus One LCD to fix the Problem.

But i can't find something like this.

After this procedure the display don't work and i flashed the PASSIMG_Passion_Google_WWE_2.16.1700.1_FRG33_relea se_signed.zip with the new HBOOT for my LCD on my Phone. Then i flashed CyanogenMod 6 stable and it still works fine, but the softkeys always dark and the trackball flash red.

If the room bright enough, and the softkeys has not to flash, the trackball doesn't flash red.

So i need help, please.


Sorry for my english, it's not my native language.
 
craigacgomez
Old
#2  
craigacgomez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2459
Posts: 1,810
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lake Forest, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
FYI, this should not be in the development forum... mods please move!!!

Trackball flashing does not mean error... it's a notification alert... and as to the soft-keys... they don't flash... they lightup... maybe something to do with the SLCD version of the N1!!!

Do they light up if you have just stock??

CRAiG GoMEZ

Donate to me

Google LGE Nexus 5 [D820] | SlimKat (Android 4.4.2) - SlimRoms
Google Samsung Nexus 10 [GT-P8110HAEXAR] ThunderKat (Android 4.4.2) - craigacgomez
 
sir.knatter
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Berlin
First time, before i downgrade my hboot the softkeys light up. Now, after downgrade and upgrad back to 0.35.0017 they don't light up.

There is no difference between stock or custom rom.
I tested:
- PASSIMG_Passion_KT_KR_2.15.1010.2_FRF91_release_si gned.zip
- PASSIMG_Passion_Vodafone_Generic_2.15.151.5_R_FRF 91_release_signed.zip
- PASSIMG_Passion_Google_WWE_2.16.1700.1_FRG33_relea se_signed.zip

After i flashed Google_WWE_2.16.1700.1_FRG33, flashed CyanogenMod with Custom Recovery (RA-nexus-v1.8.0.1-aw).

For what does the notification stand? It's also red, if i flashed a stock rom and has no additional apps installed.

When i put the lightness sensor under a lamp or is bright enough (sun is shining), the trackball doesn't flash red.

If the phone is in standby, the trackball doesn't flash.
 
peteypeter
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Sounds like a sensor calibration failure.
Is there any data files stored anywhere in relation with hboot.
Your flashing procedure for 0.35 hboot retrieving may not put the LCD compliant data's.
Sorry it's only a clue, I'm novice in android and nexus.
 
sir.knatter
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Berlin
Thank you for your comment, but until now I didn't have an idea how its help me.

---

Until now I'm not possible to fix the problem.
I only found a way to disable the red trackball:
I go to CM settings under "user interface" and activated "use custom" in "automatic backlight" and set in "edit other levels" all levels to 0 at buttons. So the system will not activate the back-light of the soft-keys in any way and the error message (red trackball) don't appear.

Additional i know that the back-light is not faulty, when i started in LED notification the flash test in someone of the application, the back-light lights up collectively with the trackball.

The problem is still alive, when i have a stock rom, like Passion_Google_WWE_2.16.1700.1_FRG33.

Have anyone another idea how i can fix this problem?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes