FORUMS

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC Sync 3.0 & Windows 7 - no device connected

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By maximx86, Junior Member on 7th September 2010, 08:29 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I know that other people are having similar problems with Android phones, but I just got a Wildfire today and it doesn't get detected.

I have Windows 7 x86, HTC Sync 3.0.5422. I am running HTC Sync as administrator with disabled AV and Firewall. I am using the back USB ports. I don't see any other options in HTCSync than Help and About. HTC is appearing in Devices and Printers normally.

It also comes in Device Manager under

- Disk Drives as HTC Android Phone USB Devices
- portable Devices as D:\ (next free letter drive)

Anyone has any ideas?

Thanks
 
 
7th September 2010, 11:29 PM |#2  
thearif's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
More
When you first connect your phone to the computer, make sure that you enabled "usb debugging". Once this is done, you should not have any more problems.
To activate usb debugging, just go settings -> applications > usb debugging.


Hope this helps.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using XDA App
9th September 2010, 02:11 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I had the same problem on x64. Couldn't get it to work till I was so frustrated about it and gave up. I think there is a problem with the usb drivers.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using XDA App
9th September 2010, 05:59 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Enabling USB debugging allows me to connect. But as soon as it looks like syncing, the wildfire comes up with "prepairing SD card" and it disconnects

Very frustraiting
9th September 2010, 09:07 AM |#5  
Skye Menjou's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halen
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishb00n

I had the same problem on x64. Couldn't get it to work till I was so frustrated about it and gave up. I think there is a problem with the usb drivers.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using XDA App

Works fine for me on 7 x64.
I did install the drivers from the SD card earlier though for development.
10th September 2010, 12:01 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I had similar problems - which all disappeared when I used a different usb port. The one's at the front of my PC just didn't work. Ones at the back worked fine.
10th September 2010, 03:54 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skye Menjou

Works fine for me on 7 x64.
I did install the drivers from the SD card earlier though for development.

I know it should work. but I can't find out what exactly is causing this behavior - and that sickens me Cause usually I get everything to work =]

I did uninstall everything that had to do with HTC. Sync App, Drivers, everything. Rebooted and tried from scratch.

I saw that Windows Update automatically downloads drivers for the Wildfire as soon as it detects it on USB. I had no chance to abort that so that I could install the Stock HTC drivers that came on the SD Card.

As soon as Windows said the device should be ready to use, I installed Sync again and tested if sync was working. Didn't work. Then I installed HTC drivers from SD Card. Tried if it works. Nothing. Rebooted. Tried Again. Nothing. USB Debugging on. Nothing. USB Debugging off. Nothing ... I don't know any further

Skye do you have installed the HBOOT driver from unrevoked along with the HTC drivers? Could it be possible that they both interfere somehow? Or is this not possible at all.
11th September 2010, 12:39 AM |#8  
Skye Menjou's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halen
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
I don't use the HBOOT drivers since I don't have my device rooted.I can see that it could have an effect.
I'll check the device name, hardware id and driver version for the ADB tomorrow and we shall compare it with yours.
15th September 2010, 11:15 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Haapsalu
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
i had same problem, turned out it is firewall blocking (least for me), disabled security suite and all works fine. i had f-secure internet security
24th September 2010, 09:05 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Plug in using rear USBs
Well, plugging in using the rear USBs worked for me. Slightly inconvenient. Maybe they're trying to sell more docks...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes