5,604,367 Members 48,951 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Request] script to get into download mode

Tip us?
 
michael0702
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default [Request] script to get into download mode

I know there is a script to get into recovery mode, anyone know if there is one for download mode, or can someone make one, for the phones not able to use 3 button combination. ?
 
ivanchin99
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 265
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
12.My phone cannot enter download mode or recovery mode using the buttons combos. What can I do?
Some batches in various countries seem to not have this feature. Whether this is an intentional change made by Samsung or simply a software error is not completely clear. While some Samsung offices see it as a softwarebug and are claiming that they will release a software fix, others do not acknowledge the issue and so not replace phones without the fuction. If you are one of the unfortunate group who cannot use the button combos (VolumeUp+Home+Power for recovery and VolumeDown+Home+Power for download mode), you can use the commands "adb reboot recovery" and "adb reboot download" to get into the respective modes (See Post#3 for a step-by-step tutorial on using ADB). However, if you cannot enter download mode by using the button combo, you will NOT be able to recover from a failed flash! Since this is a rather common occurance, I strongly advise you NOT to flash your phone using the adb reboot download command!
Read the big faq
 
michael0702
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2010
Ahh ok, ty.
I will try that.
 
BackfireNL
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 585
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Haarlem
Ok i have a small script for you to use! but read the WARNING below!

IF the flash fails... you won't be able to restore or reflash your phone and it WILL be bricked. Because your not able to go into download mode anymore.

So use it at your own risk (generally flashing is pretty ok and safe with odin and it has never failed for me!) But thats just my experience. If your pc crashes or you get unlucky any other way.

Anyway script is in this post! Download it but don't spread without a warning it because it is very dangerous and similar to Russian roulette.

Instructions:
1) Put phone in USB Debugging
2) Connect Phone
3) Download script and unzip it somewhere
4) open Reboot recovery.bat
Attached Files
File Type: zip reboot download script.zip - [Click for QR Code] (292.1 KB, 945 views)
Quote:
Ex Samsung Galaxy S I9000 owner
Ex HTC Nexus One owner
Ex Samsung Galaxy SII i9100 owner
Ex ASUS Transformer Prime TF201 owner
Ex Samsung Galaxy SIII i9300 owner
Google Nexus 7 owner
Sony Xperia Z owner

If you like what i do here on XDA buy me a beer!
 
jodue
Old
#5  
jodue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 447
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: vienna
also you could just use adb. i guess this is what BackfireNL's script does, so just to give you all the information:

Code:
adb reboot recovery
or

Code:
adb reboot download
is what you want
 
ivanchin99
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 265
Join Date: Aug 2010
And it must be said, since you dont have access to the 3 button combo, you have only ONE shot of getting this right.
 
michael0702
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thx, this is just what I was looking for.
I have flashed my own sgs tons of times, never had any problems, this is to be able to flash a friends phone(lacks 3 button comb.)
 
krisz222
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jun 2010
I have the same problem and i tried adb reboot download, but not working.

It worked with rooted firm, but without the 3 button i cannot root the new firm, so this command not works.

Any useable advice?
 
mengsuan
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 480
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisz222 View Post
I have the same problem and i tried adb reboot download, but not working.

It worked with rooted firm, but without the 3 button i cannot root the new firm, so this command not works.

Any useable advice?
I am quite certain that I went into recovery mode using ADB without root. Then of course I rooted.
 
krisz222
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jun 2010
sorry for my last message

i was able to flash the new firm because i used this command

but now adb refuse it, i thought its because its not rooted...

but now i have "no way out"....cannot flash recover or root...

a new kernel can fix this? or what should i do?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more

Wearables Walkthrough: Tasker on the Samsung Galaxy Gear – XDA Developer TV

The future certainly looks like it is full of wearables. … more

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more