Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

[APP] Android Notifier

8th September 2010, 11:47 PM   |  #1  
kristopherson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Canton, Michigan
Thanks Meter: 2
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Just found this. Works great. Install this on your phone, http://code.google.com/p/android-not...4.apk&can=2&q= and this on your PC (Windows/Linux) http://code.google.com/p/android-notifier-desktop/ or this for Mac http://code.google.com/p/android-not...6.dmg&can=2&q=
Last edited by kristopherson; 10th September 2010 at 06:52 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kristopherson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th September 2010, 05:08 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
For users who need a guide in setting up the application may visit the following web pages:-

- http://droidbar.net/2010/09/setup-gu...wi-fi-windows/ (Connect via Wi-Fi on Windows)
- http://droidbar.net/2010/10/setup-gu...-ubuntu-linux/ (Connect via Wi-Fi on Ubuntu Linux)
- http://droidbar.net/2010/11/setup-gu...tooth-windows/ (Connect via Bluetooth on Windows)
- http://droidbar.net/2010/11/setup-gu...-ubuntu-linux/ (Connect via Bluetooth on Ubuntu Linux)
Last edited by ChEnG Fu; 5th November 2010 at 12:47 PM.
29th September 2010, 05:41 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Columbia, SC
Thanks Meter: 27
 
633 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Should also note that to use the 64 bit version of the windows software you must be running 64 bit java.
29th September 2010, 06:07 PM   |  #4  
sturmeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 4
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Now this is just awesome.

However it needs a fair bit of setting up in Windows as the balloon notifications are ugly. :P

Maybe I'll try Growl for windows!
29th September 2010, 09:45 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Tallahassee
Thanks Meter: 5
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I have had this for about 2 weeks now. The latest update is becoming annoying because it gives me a battery notification every 5 minutes. Maybe its the rom im using.
29th September 2010, 09:54 PM   |  #6  
warri's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jupiter
Thanks Meter: 37
 
976 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
I cant seem to get this working. I would assume that since my desktop is connected to the network via Wired Connection, and my phone via wifi, but my pc wont see any of the services.


[edit] turns out i had to set it to sent to my custom IP and it works
Last edited by warri; 29th September 2010 at 10:04 PM.
30th September 2010, 12:43 AM   |  #7  
ADeadlySpoon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Macclesfield
Thanks Meter: 8
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
I just saw this and downloaded it... It's perfect for me!

It worked perfectly first time, no configuration needed... just start the app and start the .exe on my PC and it works great.

One question I do have though is, what is Growl and how do I get it?
30th September 2010, 02:15 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
ya, i set up custom ip, which i assume would be the ip address of my desktop? and no go for some reason. too bad, i could actually use this. any suggestions would help but if not, Ill try and email the dev..vista with a wired connection to my router, if that makes a difference
30th September 2010, 03:58 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrosen

ya, i set up custom ip, which i assume would be the ip address of my desktop? and no go for some reason. too bad, i could actually use this. any suggestions would help but if not, Ill try and email the dev..vista with a wired connection to my router, if that makes a difference

Try double checking your IP address?

Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center (If you're on Windows)

1. Click on "Local Area Connection" (If you're on Wired Connection)
2. Click on "Details..."
3. Look for your IP address at "IPv4 Address"

However, if the IP address of your desktop is not static. I’m afraid it will vary whenever you reboot your router/modem.

Alternatively, you may set the Target IP address to “Global broadcast address” on your phone.
Last edited by ChEnG Fu; 1st October 2010 at 07:41 PM.
30th September 2010, 04:40 AM   |  #10  
sturmeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 4
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADeadlySpoon

I just saw this and downloaded it... It's perfect for me!

It worked perfectly first time, no configuration needed... just start the app and start the .exe on my PC and it works great.

One question I do have though is, what is Growl and how do I get it?

http://www.growlforwindows.com/gfw/default.aspx

Just install that, pick a nice display, then go in android-notifications and enable the Growl and disable System default.
Last edited by sturmeh; 30th September 2010 at 05:40 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes