FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

[How To] Flashing | Official ROMs | Custom ROMs

1,049 posts
Thanks Meter: 38
 
By kancrutt, Senior Member on 12th September 2010, 07:23 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
13th April 2011, 04:31 PM |#2121  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Question
I am currently at 2.0.9.1. I noticed that my phone would hang and then reset itself once a while. What could have gone wrong?

Also, I noticed that the SD card is readable by the phone only (or through Kies on PC). If I plug the card in a card reader, my PC cannot see it. The card was formatted by the phone. Any suggestions for improvements?

Thanks,
Kai
 
 
13th April 2011, 09:48 PM |#2122  
Azrael_PT's Avatar
Member
Flag Lagos
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just got my phone back from the service.
The main PBA was changed.
14th April 2011, 07:33 AM |#2123  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Question Debian?
Anyone installed Debian(LINUX)on samsung galaxy 5?
14th April 2011, 08:13 AM |#2124  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Awsomeness!
14th April 2011, 11:07 AM |#2125  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAD_PUPPY

HI Guys

Had a now not so good mate that updated my phone without me knowing and now it wont turn on or do anything

its a I5503T and apparently he put I5800 firmware on it, is there any way i can get it back to atleast show signs of life.

i have tried to start in download mode but nothing happens i push the power button and nothing happens, if any one knows of any way i can get this going again please let me know


flash again with another rom!
14th April 2011, 08:19 PM |#2126  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radium22

I am currently at 2.0.9.1. I noticed that my phone would hang and then reset itself once a while. What could have gone wrong?

Also, I noticed that the SD card is readable by the phone only (or through Kies on PC). If I plug the card in a card reader, my PC cannot see it. The card was formatted by the phone. Any suggestions for improvements?

Thanks,
Kai

please update your rom. everybody! 2.0.9.1 is a failure !.. mad team already fix this by releasing 2.0.9.2. but 2.0.9.3 around the corner. please update your information of mad team release on their forum.! http://forum.g5devteam.com/ LOL
Last edited by curiouso9; 14th April 2011 at 08:20 PM. Reason: ZZZZZZZ
14th April 2011, 09:21 PM |#2127  
Senior Member
Flag Android
Thanks Meter: 296
 
More
Bloody Wifi Power consumption when screen is off
I was very annoyed by the battery consumption of my Wifi when in sleep mode. After 2 days normal use (few calls) the battery was drained. After inspecting with the Testing app > Battery History it showed almost 100% battery consumption for Wifi Running. WTF? My screen was off most of the time that 48 hours and in advanced wifi settings I told Wifi to goto sleep when the Screen is off. "Listen to the boss bloody phone" HELP Google!

Google: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=774507

Allthough it is for older version finding the settings db was easy. So of we go...

Copy it from the phone to the PC
Code:
C:\Temp\_samsung i5500\
-> adb pull /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
1088 KB/s (0 bytes in 34816.000s)

-->>>> EDIT settings.db with SQLite () see pictures (http://www.sqlite.org free version)
- add a new record in secure called wifi_idle_ms and set it to 10000
(default is 15 minutes I found somewhere = 15 x 60 x 1000)
- add a new record in system called wifi_watchdog_on and set it to 1
(Dunno what the default is for wifi_watchdog_on, set it to 0 if you don't want it)

After editing copy it back to the phone
Code:
C:\Temp\_samsung i5500\
-> adb push settings.db /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases
2176 KB/s (0 bytes in 34816.000s)
After that immidiately reboot the phone
Code:
-> adb reboot
The settings are referenced in the system/framework/services.odex or framework.odex file.
Use google for more settings and their specific table (system or secure) in settings.db

Cheers

ps: just for fun: create in system table a record show_processes with value 1
this will show all running processes and cpu load/avarage in the right upper corner after reboot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wifi_idle_ms.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	85.1 KB
ID:	568742   Click image for larger version

Name:	wifi_watchdog_on.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	89.2 KB
ID:	568743  
Last edited by tweakradje; 15th April 2011 at 11:04 PM.
15th April 2011, 03:52 AM |#2128  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
3g not working
i'm from india {i bought originally GT I5503} and on motafoca's 2.0.9.2.However yesterday for the first time i inserted a 3G sim in my device and found that its still runnin on EDGE.3G frm that sim is flawlessly working on my friend's Xperia and Galaxy S.What should i do now?Apart from this i find my phone very unresponsive..i have to wait sometimes for 20 odd secs after clicking an application.

Details {as of now}:
PDA:I5500xwJP9
Phone::I5500LuyJP2
CSC:I5500OxxJP3
15th April 2011, 06:18 PM |#2129  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anant kandpal

i'm from india {i bought originally GT I5503} and on motafoca's 2.0.9.2.However yesterday for the first time i inserted a 3G sim in my device and found that its still runnin on EDGE.3G frm that sim is flawlessly working on my friend's Xperia and Galaxy S.What should i do now?Apart from this i find my phone very unresponsive..i have to wait sometimes for 20 odd secs after clicking an application.

Details {as of now}:
PDA:I5500xwJP9
Phone::I5500LuyJP2
CSC:I5500OxxJP3

There is some problem on using 3G after the update. You have to select the wcdma option from the service menu.
If it does not work, then its time to return it to service center for recalibration.
The Following User Says Thank You to xanezu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 10:48 PM |#2130  
Junior Member
Flag Timisoara
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Smile hello 2.2
2.2 is available in romania via Kies!!!
16th April 2011, 07:07 AM |#2131  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hi guys i just got a GT-I5500
the pda and phone are I5500XWJK3 and the csc is I5500O2IJH1
i'm new to android and havent a clue about rooting, is there a way to restore the phone if i make a mess of it, also which rom should i use in the OP
thanks

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy 5, galaxy europa, gt-i5500, i5503t, samsung galaxy i5500, samsung galaxy i5503
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes