Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,879 Members 43,768 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to use HD2 to connect PC to wireless router?

Tip us?
 
alangordon73
Old
#1  
alangordon73's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 99
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default How to use HD2 to connect PC to wireless router?

Done a search and can't find the answer to this anywhere.

Recently moved house and just had my internet installed. My laptop doesnt have wireless and my GF has pinched the only wireless key we have. I don't have any CAT 5 or RJ45 to make a cable and was wondering if I can use my HD2 (plugged in via USB) to connect my PC to my wireless router? You may say 'why dont you just use internet sharing and connect via 3G?'... The simple answer to that is that we live in a signal blackspot and as such cannot get a mobile signal in my home.
 
frav
Old
(Last edited by frav; 16th September 2010 at 11:09 PM.)
#2  
frav's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 174
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Paris
Hi,
You can use WMWifiRouter : http://www.wmwifirouter.com/

It has one mode that allows what you're looking for.
You just have to add your WiFi as your default WiFi node on WiMo. WMWiFirouter will use it.

PC -> USB cable -> phone (HD2 in my case) -> WMWifiRouter -> WiFi -> WiFi Hotspot (WiFi router in your case) -> internet.

Using it to write down this post.

Works great.

Hope it helps !
Galaxy Note 2 - N7102 (dual active sim, dual standby) - Stock ROM
Samsung Captivate Glide - I927UCLG9 - 4.0.4 ICS - "Official" Leak
HTC Rhodium (Touch Pro 2) - WiMo - ROM : 1.86.406.1 FRE, Radio : 4.49.25.17
 
alangordon73
Old
#3  
alangordon73's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 99
Join Date: Dec 2007
^^ Many thanks. Problem solved
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes