Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Captivate without 3 button combo

OP DemonWav

16th September 2010, 07:21 AM   |  #1  
DemonWav's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
Flag Lawton, OK
Thanks Meter: 775
 
451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
I've tried everything in the book, my Captivate is one of the phones that will not boot into recovery using any sort if button combo, I have to use ADB. My phone is rooted, lag fix, bloatware removed, sideloading enabled, MobileAP installed, and the Vibrant's GPS files installed, and I'm afraid that someday I'm going to need my phone in recovery/download for Odin3 because I've bricked my phone, but I wont be able too because if my phone's setup. I'm just asking, question of concept, is it possible for someone who knows what they are doing (I have no inexperience) to find the difference between a Captivate w/ the 3 button combo, and one w/o, so that I could manually enable it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
16th September 2010, 07:32 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
if you brick your phone, your main worry is how to get into download mode. take battery out, put back in, hold volume down+power while plugging in usb cable. can you at least do that?
16th September 2010, 08:05 AM   |  #3  
DemonWav's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
Flag Lawton, OK
Thanks Meter: 775
 
451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
As I said, I've tried every trick in the book, it doesn't work.
16th September 2010, 08:13 AM   |  #4  
denellum's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 18
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonWav

I've tried everything in the book, my Captivate is one of the phones that will not boot into recovery using any sort if button combo, I have to use ADB. My phone is rooted, lag fix, bloatware removed, sideloading enabled, MobileAP installed, and the Vibrant's GPS files installed, and I'm afraid that someday I'm going to need my phone in recovery/download for Odin3 because I've bricked my phone, but I wont be able too because if my phone's setup. I'm just asking, question of concept, is it possible for someone who knows what they are doing (I have no inexperience) to find the difference between a Captivate w/ the 3 button combo, and one w/o, so that I could manually enable it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App

go to where you got it, tell them its a samsung problem, they SHOULD replace it. Before you okay the replacement try to boot the phone without the sim to recovery.
16th September 2010, 08:17 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Auckland, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 26
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
try turning off. Unplug USB. Then hold down the Vol down button and the power button. Just the 2 of them.

Then insert the USB cable 2-3 seconds after holding those 2 keys down.

That worked for me even though I used to use Vol up and down and power all together.

Hope it works for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to scott2ride For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2010, 08:41 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
we need a sticky that includes EVERY single way of recovering from all these "bricked" phones. I'm nervous that it will happen to me one day and i won't know what to do. Everyone says there is always a way to unbrick, but there sure are a lot of people that have claimed to try every possible way of entering download mode and still not happen.....and i don't want to get stuck with them!

BTW, did you try plugging your phone into the wall for awhile and then going back to trying usb and download modes?
The Following User Says Thank You to buddy17 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2010, 03:46 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag POS
Thanks Meter: 8
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
i also have the same problem with a friends phone. i know the newer ones have issues with the 3 button combo and adb is the only way. i suppose there is a way to remove the block from boot that detects the command, maybe like a different firmware, i remembered that the stock i9000 firmware on the captivate uses only vo down + power to get to download mode but i will not want to risk the phone or it will be bricked.

i know alot of users in this forum are saying read the stickys but until u experience the problem, u will be singing a different tune. there are new captivate owners that cannot get into download mode with the 3 button combo.

i will confirm this and i have 3 other captivates that going into download mode no prolems with 2 possible 3 button combo, just only 1 that doesnot
16th September 2010, 04:38 PM   |  #8  
bobbylx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Holly Springs, NC
Thanks Meter: 94
 
630 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Yes, I think someone needs to make a sticky for this. Mine works with 3 buttons, but I have seen many many users now that have 3 button disabled. I'm sure they appreciate all the suggestions, but every single person recommends the regular button methods that just don't work!

I would say, if it were me, I would stop modding it now before you f*** it up and return it to the store. I would also test the new phone in store until you get one that works.

I'm sure someone much smarter than I will figure out a software method for this. I find it hard to believe the when the phone is in Phone--!--computer mode that there is no possible way to force it into download mode via software. I know adb doesn't work, but theres got to be some other developer tool that will work.
16th September 2010, 04:49 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
328 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Part of the issue is terminology.

Recovery Mode is what you use to clear cache, clear user data, or install an update.zip file by selecting "Reinstall Packages".

Download Mode is the screen with a yellow triangle and android digger icon and allows you to use odin to flash. This is the important one for recovering from a problem.


Both modes can be entered with ADB. Both modes can be entered with hardware buttons and that's where things get tricky.

On my phone, I can activate recovery mode with the steps below:

Power off
Hold both volume buttons
Press Power
Release power when I see the AT&T splash screen
Release the volume buttons a second or two after releasing power

If I continue to hold all three buttons, the phone simply boot loops at the AT&T screen with a blank flash in between. If I continue to hold the volume buttons after releasing the power button, the phone will boot normally. I have to release them to get into recovery. The phone also has to get past the AT&T splash screen before recovery will load.

I can only enter download mode with the steps below.
Phone off
Remove battery, sim, microsd
Hold volume buttons
Plug in USB
Plug in battery

The phone will then immediately enter download mode.


People need to be very careful when claiming what mode they are in and how they got there.
Last edited by l7777; 16th September 2010 at 04:52 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to l7777 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2010, 05:05 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
thanks for repeating what millions have already posted.....that doesn't work for a ton of people around here. Luckily, it does work for me, but in the case i get put in the same situation as those guys, i want to know how to get myself out. There are some people that know what they are talking about and still can't get into download mode, and yes, that is including adb reboot download

just because it works for you doesnt mean it works for everyone

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes