Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Superuser su binary

OP dangdang

17th September 2010, 03:35 AM   |  #1  
dangdang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I've noticed that the su binary installed by superuser doesn't survive a reboot. Anyone else have this problem? Any fixes?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
17th September 2010, 05:00 AM   |  #2  
sultan.of.swing's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fayetteville, N.C.
Thanks Meter: 56
 
1,054 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Same here. Have to re update after each reboot

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk
17th September 2010, 07:16 PM   |  #3  
vavaud's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
same here, had to update the binary too
18th September 2010, 03:57 AM   |  #4  
plmiller0905's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Janesville,Wisconsin
Thanks Meter: 243
 
5,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
How do you update the su?
18th September 2010, 07:11 AM   |  #5  
dangdang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Launch superuser, go to settings and scroll to the bottom.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
18th September 2010, 07:32 AM   |  #6  
dangdang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I've found 3 su:

/system/bin/jk-su (original from the oneclick/permanent)
/system/xbin/su (symlink to /sdx/su)
/sdx/su (superuser updates this one)

Superuser does not update /system/bin/jk-su so I decided to.

So far its working.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
18th September 2010, 11:42 AM   |  #7  
rjmjr69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southie
Thanks Meter: 116
 
1,775 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dangdang

I've found 3 su:

/system/bin/jk-su (original from the oneclick/permanent)
/system/xbin/su (symlink to /sdx/su)
/sdx/su (superuser updates this one)

Superuser does not update /system/bin/jk-su so I decided to.

So far its working.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App


How did you update it yourself?
18th September 2010, 06:08 PM   |  #8  
dangdang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Here's what worked for me. Keep in mind I am rooted using oneclick 2.2.4 which comes with busybox and remount scripts.

1. Update the su binary using superuser.
2. Launch a terminal (I use better terminal emulator pro)
3. Run 'su' from the terminal
4. Mount system rw with 'remount rw'
5. Remove jk-su with 'rm /system/bin/jk-su'
6. Copy the su binary superuser installed with 'cp /sdx/su /system/bin/jk-su'
7. Reboot and it should survive.

Notes:

Do not include single quotes when running the commands.

I'm paranoid about permissions so as root in terminal I ran:

chown root.shell /system/bin/jk-su
chmod 755 /system/bin/jk-su

To match the permissions of the removed jk-su. I'm not sure if this was necessary.

I haven't tested using adb yet so I don't know the steps.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
20th September 2010, 10:16 PM   |  #9  
vavaud's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Code:
#cp /sdx/su /system/bin/jk-su
cp: not found
the last part does not work (i have the same root method)

i have to re-root the phone when i get home today. but i will try to move the updated binary with root explorer instead of the command line.
Last edited by vavaud; 20th September 2010 at 10:23 PM.
21st September 2010, 01:02 AM   |  #10  
dangdang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Replace 'cp' with 'busybox cp'.

Sent from my Android using CDMA

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes