Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,775 Members 40,756 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Arabic support for Froyo (vanilla and sense) now available

Tip us?
 
ilangoadigal
Old
(Last edited by ilangoadigal; 23rd September 2010 at 01:00 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 274
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Arabic support for Froyo (vanilla and sense) now available

Reposting this from the Incredible forum because I know quite a few people want it-

This was not written by me. It was written by Ayman al-Sanad, username UAE (I believe), who has been working for some time to create workable libraries for so Android devices can properly display Arabic. Oddly there was no thread posted here that I can find so I'm going to go ahead and post it, since I know this is a much-desired feature for many people and at least some people will find it over Google or the like.

As Google has yet to add native support for Right-To-Left languages like Arabic, Persian and Urdu (despite it being the top feature request) Ayman stepped in and created libraries for our usage.

The downloads page is available here: http://ardoid.com/?page_id=5. I'm assuming the libraries will work with any Froyo install. Put the relevant library zip on your SD card, flash it. Reboot will take some time on a black screen.

Big thanks to Ayman for his great work.




 
Geo411m
Old
#2  
Geo411m's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 533
Posts: 940
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Newington CT

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for the info. I wondered how to do this and now I know.
[Status] Rooted
[Recovery] Clockworkmod Recovery 6.0.1.9
[ROM] Custom JOP40D JellyBean
[Kernel] Stock
[Launcher] Stock

If you like my work, you can always buy me a soda.
Dropbox Invite. We both receive free extra storage.
 
aladin6
Old
#3  
aladin6's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 1,462
Join Date: Mar 2009
Please how can i add arabic language to my Spica 2.1 ????? I really need it.
Thank you for your response .
 
digitaldust
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2007
its working everywhere, email, web, contacts but not working with sms, my text messages will not show arabic also if I type a text message in arabic that would show but if i get a reply in arabic the reply won show arabic text, anyone know how to get it fixed or is not possible yet
 
ilangoadigal
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 274
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitaldust View Post
its working everywhere, email, web, contacts but not working with sms, my text messages will not show arabic also if I type a text message in arabic that would show but if i get a reply in arabic the reply won show arabic text, anyone know how to get it fixed or is not possible yet
What phone/ROM are you using?
 
domii
Old
#6  
domii's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 81
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alexandria
unfortunately none of the downloads worked for me... hope there 'll be another copy coming out soon.

am currently using biffmode 2.0.1 rom

thanks
- iMate Jam (HTC Magician) - "Stored"
- HTC Touch (HTC Elfin) -"Retired"
- T-Mobile G1 (HTC Dream) - "Stored"
- HTC HD2 (HTC Leo) - "Retired"
- LG Optimus 4X HD - "Active"




ROM: OmniRom - Rooted - Unlocked
Kernel: Stock
MEMORY: 32GB SanDisk Class 10
RECOVERY: CWM Touch 6.0.4.4
 
yozpalang
Old
#7  
yozpalang's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 490
Join Date: Mar 2009
can some one please tell me commands i don't have custom recovery i can't flash the zip but ayman the dev says i can do it via terminal but i dont know how please help
 
adel alg
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Algeria

 
DONATE TO ME
Thank you
 
yozpalang
Old
#9  
yozpalang's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 490
Join Date: Mar 2009
so nobody knows?
 
aous.naimi
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2010
does anyone here know how to flash this using terminal or ADB, my device is TMobile HD2 with Andoid running from SD and i dont know how to start it in recovery mode.

please help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more