FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[Q] Got my Square card reader today

435 posts
Thanks Meter: 50
 
By garfnodie, Senior Member on 24th September 2010, 03:21 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
21st October 2010, 04:23 AM |#21  
luvit's Avatar
Senior Member
MotoDroid_(CM6)_& Incredible_(RootedStock2.2)
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
This absolutely does not show up in market for me. Even from links on squareup.com.
Who is rooted prior to searching for this and had succeeded to install?
I did obtain an APK, I can't remember from where, but when I click on install button it simply states "not installed"
 
 
22nd October 2010, 12:52 AM |#22  
garfnodie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Charles, Missouri, USA
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvit

This absolutely does not show up in market for me. Even from links on squareup.com.
Who is rooted prior to searching for this and had succeeded to install?
I did obtain an APK, I can't remember from where, but when I click on install button it simply states "not installed"

Where are you located, geographically speaking?

As for root vs not rooted, I am rooted and was able to install and use it, my father is not rooted and he was also able to install and use it as well.
22nd October 2010, 10:58 AM |#23  
luvit's Avatar
Senior Member
MotoDroid_(CM6)_& Incredible_(RootedStock2.2)
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I have confirmed it is because I'm rooted.
It does not reject all rooted phones..
I happen to be using leaked 2.2 stock rom with hydrakernel v0.5.
What rom and kernel are you using?
Thanks.
22nd October 2010, 08:35 PM |#24  
inneyeseakay's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbia, SC
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
I'm using a rooted Nexus One w/Evil's NXSense ROM and had no problems downloading or using the app...
23rd October 2010, 01:01 AM |#25  
garfnodie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Charles, Missouri, USA
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
I'm running CM6 nightly build 204.
28th October 2010, 02:19 AM |#26  
Kermee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Thumbs up
Square sent me two of the readers by accident.

Works without issue on CM Nightly 203.

Cheers,
Kermee
28th October 2010, 03:43 AM |#27  
garfnodie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Charles, Missouri, USA
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kermee

Square sent me two of the readers by accident.

Works without issue on CM Nightly 203.

Cheers,
Kermee

I got two readers as well, so I gave one to my Dad, and he installed and set up the app on his phone, and then he was told that his reader was on the way, so now he's going to have two, maybe three if they double up on him as well.
28th October 2010, 11:26 AM |#28  
Smokeaire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Missouri
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
I received two readers also.
I rooted my Nexus 1 months before I knew about Square, no problems in downloading and installing app. Running CM roms.
3rd November 2010, 09:54 PM |#29  
player911's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 1,020
 
Donate to Me
More
Finally got my Square reader
Although it doesn't work.

I downloaded the latest app from the Market so it gets updated and downloaded when I switch roms. I'm using CM6.1. The Program starts up and detects the reader inserted, although when I touch or swivel or look at the reader the wrong way, it vibrates... and on the main screen it says, "Please Swipe Again"

Looks like it kinda goes in and out. The headset icon in the taskbar is steady.

I haven't once gotten it to read my card. I don't know if the reader is bad or if my headset jack is flaky? This is my second N1 due to my first headphone jack freaking out and always thinking it was in headset mode (making calling difficult). This one seems fine. It switches back and forth out of headset mode.

I do have a weird problem with the headset jack in my car keeps freaking out just like this but it is a cheap cable. I just blamed it on the cable being poorly designed. Maybe I have another funky headset jack.

[UPDATE]
I think its my phone
My neighbor has a N1 and it works perfectly. I finally got mine to read if I kinda wrap my finger around it and push it forward so it gets a good connection. I also have mine tilted slightly. Once I find the right angle/grip, I can swipe it flawlessly.

I guess I'll be giving Google a call.
Last edited by player911; 3rd November 2010 at 10:15 PM.
6th November 2010, 01:57 AM |#30  
luvit's Avatar
Senior Member
MotoDroid_(CM6)_& Incredible_(RootedStock2.2)
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Today i accidentally found square in the market and it installed!
I changed nothing... Did they just release an update?
6th November 2010, 06:23 AM |#31  
garfnodie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Charles, Missouri, USA
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvit

Today i accidentally found square in the market and it installed!
I changed nothing... Did they just release an update?

As a matter of fact, they did. Hope it works for you then.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes