5,815,022 Members 38,735 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fascinate/Vibrant Widgets on Captivate

Tip us?
 
Sgt_Bilbo
Old
#1  
Sgt_Bilbo's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 86
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Keller, TX
Default Fascinate/Vibrant Widgets on Captivate

Sorry if this has been mentioned before (I did search before posting), but there are a few widgets from the other Galaxy S phones that are rather nice, the weather clock in particular. I know there is a Fascinate dump out there, but can I just extract the apk and install it, or is there something else that I need to do. Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
 
shamelin73
Old
#2  
shamelin73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 427
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Naperville

 
DONATE TO ME
I would like to know this as well. Have subscribed to this thread.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
Scott

AT&T Samsung Galaxy S II SOLD
Nokia Lumia 900 SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S III SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S IV SOLD
Moto X Developer Edition
 
in_nujerz
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Mar 2008
Download the firmware that has those widgets and pull the apks and install them on your firmware of choice
 
Sellitus
Old
(Last edited by Sellitus; 26th September 2010 at 07:37 PM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 70
Join Date: Jan 2009
If anyone does this post it please, if you link a how to ill do it.
 
Sgt_Bilbo
Old
#5  
Sgt_Bilbo's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 86
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Keller, TX
Well, i pulled the APK's out of the ROM, but I'm not able to install them. I'm really new at this, so forgive me for the ignorance. there are ODEX files that accompany the apks...do i have to do something with those on order to install the widgets?
 
uiskibum
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 397
Join Date: Nov 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
you'll need to use adb shell once you copy the files to a location on your internal sd card

you'll need to mount system as r/w first so do this, so:

adb shell
su (your device needs to be awake and unlocked so you can verify the SU request)
mount -o remount rw /system
cp /sdcard/xxxx.odex /system/app
cp /sdcard/xxxx.apk /system/app
reboot

the reboot is just for good measure. i've used this technique to get apps onto the phone, but as usual YMMV. If you post up the apk and odex files as a zip i'll give them a shot.
HTC One X (ATT)
Moto Atrix - Solid Hardware - trade in
Samsung Captivate - flawed at birth
iPhone 3g - eBay fodder
AT&T 8525 - eBay fodder
 
alphadog00
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 1,451
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by uiskibum View Post
you'll need to use adb shell once you copy the files to a location on your internal sd card

you'll need to mount system as r/w first so do this, so:

adb shell
su (your device needs to be awake and unlocked so you can verify the SU request)
mount -o remount rw /system
cp /sdcard/xxxx.odex /system/app
cp /sdcard/xxxx.apk /system/app
reboot

the reboot is just for good measure. i've used this technique to get apps onto the phone, but as usual YMMV. If you post up the apk and odex files as a zip i'll give them a shot.
Do you have o remount /system as read only or will the reboot do that?
Samsung Captivate - rooted
iPhone - jailbroken
 
uiskibum
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 397
Join Date: Nov 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphadog00 View Post
Do you have o remount /system as read only or will the reboot do that?
the reboot will do that
HTC One X (ATT)
Moto Atrix - Solid Hardware - trade in
Samsung Captivate - flawed at birth
iPhone 3g - eBay fodder
AT&T 8525 - eBay fodder
 
bowtieguy
Old
#9  
bowtieguy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 415
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
What kind of cool stuff do they have?

Do tell!!
 
ewingr
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 114
Posts: 1,931
Join Date: Dec 2007
I had asked about putting the Samsung Touchwiz widgets on if using Launcher Pro. Was told no.

Would this method allow that for them?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more