5,599,254 Members 37,364 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] Disable menu unlock for lockscreen.

Tip us?
 
preludedrew
Old
(Last edited by preludedrew; 28th September 2010 at 05:17 AM.)
#1  
preludedrew's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1673
Posts: 544
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Santan Valley

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD] Disable menu unlock for lockscreen.

This is a mod for the lockscreen so that the capacitive menu button is disabled for unlocking. This has been tested on Vanilla Lockscreens, but should work the same on HTC Lockscreens. This also has been tested on 3.29* based sense roms, unsure if it will work with other bases. If you have other fixes (i.e. reboot button change) you will overwrite that. Please post if you need me to upload a fixed version of that. Thanks goto ViRuS for the idea, and brut.all/jesus freke for apktool.


Instructions:
  • Download flashable zip.
  • NANDROID NANDROID NANDROID? did i miss something?
  • Reboot into recovery.
  • Flash zip and reboot.
  • That was easy wasn't it?
  • No more accidental unlockings!

Cookers/Developers: If this does not work for your rom, PM me and i can make individual flashable updates.
Rom users: reply to the thread with the base rom that it does not work on. I can find the base myself and make a list of updates.


Edit: It will take awhile to reboot, because i added a cache and dalvik-cache wipe to the update script.
Added mediafire mirror.



Links:
Rapidshare
Mediafire
Device-HTC Evo 4G LTE
ROM-Evervolv


Join me. chat.freenode.net #evervolv

Follow me and evervolv on twitter @preludedrew
The Following User Says Thank You to preludedrew For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iamthebigcheeze
Old
#2  
iamthebigcheeze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 483
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Norf Carolana
Just flashed on Fresh 3.3.0.1 and it took a while for the phone to reboot but it's working great. Thanks!
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#3  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Sir, you are a gentleman and a scholar. This is very, very appreciated.

Would you be willing or be able to get to the bottom of the graphical glitches with the Vanilla lockscreen? I know it's plaguing more than one person, myself included.
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
preludedrew
Old
#4  
preludedrew's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1673
Posts: 544
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Santan Valley

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamthebigcheeze View Post
Just flashed on Fresh 3.3.0.1 and it took a while for the phone to reboot but it's working great. Thanks!
yeah, i made the update script clear cache and dalvik-cache. Updated OP to let other people know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_ View Post
Sir, you are a gentleman and a scholar. This is very, very appreciated.

Would you be willing or be able to get to the bottom of the graphical glitches with the Vanilla lockscreen? I know it's plaguing more than one person, myself included.
Locate the 2.1 fix, and I'll see what i can do.
Device-HTC Evo 4G LTE
ROM-Evervolv


Join me. chat.freenode.net #evervolv

Follow me and evervolv on twitter @preludedrew
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#5  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Here is the page that talks about the fix and has the files, and this is the file itself.

Thank you in advance.
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
iamthebigcheeze
Old
#6  
iamthebigcheeze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 483
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Norf Carolana
Just found a bug (and a pretty major one). It worked perfectly fine disabling the menu button unlock; however, it also FC'ed the HTC dialer, vanilla clock, and HTC gallery every time I tried to open them. Nandroid was my friend today. Not sure if this will happen with anyone else.
 
cubiche
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2008
Link not working

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
 
mikevillarroel
Old
#8  
mikevillarroel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 1,895
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Miramar, Fl.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubiche View Post
Link not working

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
Yeah we need a mirror please!
 
preludedrew
Old
#9  
preludedrew's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1673
Posts: 544
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Santan Valley

 
DONATE TO ME
I'll look into the issues tonight. I'll also upload it to mediafire tonight. What Rom are you using to get fc's? Noone else has reported fc's.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
Device-HTC Evo 4G LTE
ROM-Evervolv


Join me. chat.freenode.net #evervolv

Follow me and evervolv on twitter @preludedrew
 
mikevillarroel
Old
(Last edited by mikevillarroel; 27th September 2010 at 10:32 PM.)
#10  
mikevillarroel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 1,895
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Miramar, Fl.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by preludedrew View Post
I'll look into the issues tonight. I'll also upload it to mediafire tonight. What Rom are you using to get fc's? Noone else has reported fc's.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App


I've got it, the link is working, they just changed the homepage, lol
I was waiting for this since i got my evo, if you do a search you'll find A LOT of threads i made asking for this
Good job preludedrew! Thank you.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more