Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,359 Members 39,099 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] Disable menu unlock for lockscreen.

Tip us?
 
preludedrew
Old
(Last edited by preludedrew; 28th September 2010 at 05:17 AM.)
#1  
preludedrew's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1,721
Posts: 558
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Santan Valley

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD] Disable menu unlock for lockscreen.

This is a mod for the lockscreen so that the capacitive menu button is disabled for unlocking. This has been tested on Vanilla Lockscreens, but should work the same on HTC Lockscreens. This also has been tested on 3.29* based sense roms, unsure if it will work with other bases. If you have other fixes (i.e. reboot button change) you will overwrite that. Please post if you need me to upload a fixed version of that. Thanks goto ViRuS for the idea, and brut.all/jesus freke for apktool.


Instructions:
  • Download flashable zip.
  • NANDROID NANDROID NANDROID? did i miss something?
  • Reboot into recovery.
  • Flash zip and reboot.
  • That was easy wasn't it?
  • No more accidental unlockings!

Cookers/Developers: If this does not work for your rom, PM me and i can make individual flashable updates.
Rom users: reply to the thread with the base rom that it does not work on. I can find the base myself and make a list of updates.


Edit: It will take awhile to reboot, because i added a cache and dalvik-cache wipe to the update script.
Added mediafire mirror.



Links:
Rapidshare
Mediafire
Device-HTC Evo 4G LTE
ROM-Evervolv


Join me. chat.freenode.net #evervolv

Follow me and evervolv on twitter @preludedrew
The Following User Says Thank You to preludedrew For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iamthebigcheeze
Old
#2  
iamthebigcheeze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 483
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Norf Carolana
Just flashed on Fresh 3.3.0.1 and it took a while for the phone to reboot but it's working great. Thanks!
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#3  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,064
Posts: 5,187
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Sir, you are a gentleman and a scholar. This is very, very appreciated.

Would you be willing or be able to get to the bottom of the graphical glitches with the Vanilla lockscreen? I know it's plaguing more than one person, myself included.
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
preludedrew
Old
#4  
preludedrew's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1,721
Posts: 558
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Santan Valley

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamthebigcheeze View Post
Just flashed on Fresh 3.3.0.1 and it took a while for the phone to reboot but it's working great. Thanks!
yeah, i made the update script clear cache and dalvik-cache. Updated OP to let other people know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_ View Post
Sir, you are a gentleman and a scholar. This is very, very appreciated.

Would you be willing or be able to get to the bottom of the graphical glitches with the Vanilla lockscreen? I know it's plaguing more than one person, myself included.
Locate the 2.1 fix, and I'll see what i can do.
Device-HTC Evo 4G LTE
ROM-Evervolv


Join me. chat.freenode.net #evervolv

Follow me and evervolv on twitter @preludedrew
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#5  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,064
Posts: 5,187
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Here is the page that talks about the fix and has the files, and this is the file itself.

Thank you in advance.
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
iamthebigcheeze
Old
#6  
iamthebigcheeze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 483
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Norf Carolana
Just found a bug (and a pretty major one). It worked perfectly fine disabling the menu button unlock; however, it also FC'ed the HTC dialer, vanilla clock, and HTC gallery every time I tried to open them. Nandroid was my friend today. Not sure if this will happen with anyone else.
 
cubiche
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2008
Link not working

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
 
mikevillarroel
Old
#8  
mikevillarroel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 188
Posts: 1,937
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Miramar, Fl.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubiche View Post
Link not working

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
Yeah we need a mirror please!


Bootloader unlocked
S-OFF
SuperCID
SIM Unlocked
Firmware - 6.09.401.5
Radio/Baseband - 1.01.20.0515
ROM - [Sprint] ViperOne 7.0.1
KERNEL -SPR [4.4.3] Kangaroo Kernel-1 SEP-v027
PRL - 55020

 
preludedrew
Old
#9  
preludedrew's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1,721
Posts: 558
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Santan Valley

 
DONATE TO ME
I'll look into the issues tonight. I'll also upload it to mediafire tonight. What Rom are you using to get fc's? Noone else has reported fc's.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
Device-HTC Evo 4G LTE
ROM-Evervolv


Join me. chat.freenode.net #evervolv

Follow me and evervolv on twitter @preludedrew
 
mikevillarroel
Old
(Last edited by mikevillarroel; 27th September 2010 at 10:32 PM.)
#10  
mikevillarroel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 188
Posts: 1,937
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Miramar, Fl.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by preludedrew View Post
I'll look into the issues tonight. I'll also upload it to mediafire tonight. What Rom are you using to get fc's? Noone else has reported fc's.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App


I've got it, the link is working, they just changed the homepage, lol
I was waiting for this since i got my evo, if you do a search you'll find A LOT of threads i made asking for this
Good job preludedrew! Thank you.



Bootloader unlocked
S-OFF
SuperCID
SIM Unlocked
Firmware - 6.09.401.5
Radio/Baseband - 1.01.20.0515
ROM - [Sprint] ViperOne 7.0.1
KERNEL -SPR [4.4.3] Kangaroo Kernel-1 SEP-v027
PRL - 55020


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more