FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[MOD] Disable menu unlock for lockscreen.

558 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,723
 
By preludedrew, Recognized Developer on 27th September 2010, 01:40 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is a mod for the lockscreen so that the capacitive menu button is disabled for unlocking. This has been tested on Vanilla Lockscreens, but should work the same on HTC Lockscreens. This also has been tested on 3.29* based sense roms, unsure if it will work with other bases. If you have other fixes (i.e. reboot button change) you will overwrite that. Please post if you need me to upload a fixed version of that. Thanks goto ViRuS for the idea, and brut.all/jesus freke for apktool.


Instructions:
  • Download flashable zip.
  • NANDROID NANDROID NANDROID? did i miss something?
  • Reboot into recovery.
  • Flash zip and reboot.
  • That was easy wasn't it?
  • No more accidental unlockings!

Cookers/Developers: If this does not work for your rom, PM me and i can make individual flashable updates.
Rom users: reply to the thread with the base rom that it does not work on. I can find the base myself and make a list of updates.


Edit: It will take awhile to reboot, because i added a cache and dalvik-cache wipe to the update script.
Added mediafire mirror.



Links:
Rapidshare
Mediafire
Last edited by preludedrew; 28th September 2010 at 05:17 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to preludedrew For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th September 2010, 02:43 AM |#2  
iamthebigcheeze's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norf Carolana
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Just flashed on Fresh 3.3.0.1 and it took a while for the phone to reboot but it's working great. Thanks!
27th September 2010, 04:59 AM |#3  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 2,670
 
More
Sir, you are a gentleman and a scholar. This is very, very appreciated.

Would you be willing or be able to get to the bottom of the graphical glitches with the Vanilla lockscreen? I know it's plaguing more than one person, myself included.
27th September 2010, 07:44 AM |#4  
preludedrew's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Santan Valley
Thanks Meter: 1,723
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamthebigcheeze

Just flashed on Fresh 3.3.0.1 and it took a while for the phone to reboot but it's working great. Thanks!

yeah, i made the update script clear cache and dalvik-cache. Updated OP to let other people know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_

Sir, you are a gentleman and a scholar. This is very, very appreciated.

Would you be willing or be able to get to the bottom of the graphical glitches with the Vanilla lockscreen? I know it's plaguing more than one person, myself included.

Locate the 2.1 fix, and I'll see what i can do.
27th September 2010, 02:24 PM |#5  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 2,670
 
More
Here is the page that talks about the fix and has the files, and this is the file itself.

Thank you in advance.
27th September 2010, 05:17 PM |#6  
iamthebigcheeze's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norf Carolana
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Just found a bug (and a pretty major one). It worked perfectly fine disabling the menu button unlock; however, it also FC'ed the HTC dialer, vanilla clock, and HTC gallery every time I tried to open them. Nandroid was my friend today. Not sure if this will happen with anyone else.
27th September 2010, 06:54 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Link not working

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
27th September 2010, 08:03 PM |#8  
mikevillarroel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Thanks Meter: 189
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubiche

Link not working

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

Yeah we need a mirror please!
27th September 2010, 09:28 PM |#9  
preludedrew's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Santan Valley
Thanks Meter: 1,723
 
Donate to Me
More
I'll look into the issues tonight. I'll also upload it to mediafire tonight. What Rom are you using to get fc's? Noone else has reported fc's.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
27th September 2010, 10:30 PM |#10  
mikevillarroel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Thanks Meter: 189
 
Donate to Me
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by preludedrew

I'll look into the issues tonight. I'll also upload it to mediafire tonight. What Rom are you using to get fc's? Noone else has reported fc's.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App



I've got it, the link is working, they just changed the homepage, lol
I was waiting for this since i got my evo, if you do a search you'll find A LOT of threads i made asking for this
Good job preludedrew! Thank you.

Last edited by mikevillarroel; 27th September 2010 at 10:32 PM.
28th September 2010, 02:51 AM |#11  
preludedrew's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Santan Valley
Thanks Meter: 1,723
 
Donate to Me
More
added mediafire mirror. Rapidshare did a UI update to their site today, so its possible it was down at that time.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes