5,601,062 Members 46,560 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How To] Fix acore and google services framework force close

Tip us?
 
mattisdada
Old
(Last edited by mattisdada; 2nd September 2012 at 12:55 AM.)
#1  
mattisdada's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 255
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne
Default [How To] Fix acore and google services framework force close

Wipe data for Contacts Storage and Google Services Framework.

Really easy, this will fix either android.process.acore force closing or google.services.framework force closing.

WARNING!: This will wipe contacts. It seems acore fc's when there are corrupted contacts. Usually by restoring contacts on an incompatible ROM....
And will temporarily wipe market list. So backup your contacts!

Step by step:
Code:
0. Make sure Sync is off, leave it off for some time!
1. Go into settings
2. Select Applications
3. Select Manage Applications
4. (If you are on 2.2) Select the All tab
5. Scroll down until you find Contacts Storage (select it).
6. Wipe data+clear cache(If available)
7. Hit back
8. Scroll down until you find Google Services Framework (select it)
9. Wipe data+clear cache (if available)
10. Reboot and enjoy
11. (optional) Enable Sync again
Enable sync again when your convinced that the error has gone.

If this works for you, can you reply stating what ROM your on? (Eg, Stock 2.2, Cyanogenmod 5.08, MIUI 0.9.24, etc)
Or if it doesn't work for you, do the same thing?
Thanks guys!

NOTE:
It can be caused by corrupted database entiries in ANY of the syncs, Gmail, Calender, etc, but I've found contacts are the most likely culprits. This is a band-aid solution, if the problem is reappearing than there is probably something wrong with the source data being synced. Or an external application trying to do modifications (eg, a custom contacts application).

If you don't want to wipe all contacts:
Quote:
Originally Posted by s3xkiller View Post
It happened on my galaxy s too, when I viewed my contacts I got force close.
But after I tried many contacts backup tool on the market, I found that my contacts had 1 contact with no first name and no last name on it.
So I use contact removal from the market to remove that contact.
After that I got no force close again.
And my contact do not need to be wiped clean before.
Maybe this can resolved the contact error for some.
At least this worked on my galaxy s.
So far most users are able to fix the error using the above steps, except Droid Incredible's seemingly...

Thanks to this user here Bear55 for a more detailed explanation:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear55 View Post
This solution will work in some cases but not for others. Read this guide for why the problem is happening and how to fix it: http://www.google.com/support/forum/...5968cd2e&hl=en

It is most likely a corrupted record on one of the services that you are syncing.

Good luck!

Samsung Galaxy S 4: Cyanogenmod 10. JB 4.2
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10: Stock CM10.1 JB 4.2
Launcher:Nova Launcher Prime
SMS:AOSP SMS / Facebook Messenger
Video Player:MX Video Player / DICE player / VLC (in that order)
Audio Player:Spotify
News:Pulse
Backup:Titanium Backup(apps)

The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to mattisdada For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
frankieg22x
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2010
worked perfect.

Thank you
 
trikotret
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 733
Join Date: Aug 2010
Has anyone found a fix for to get the Location Apps to work??? The google maps work but apps which require gps like weather widget are not working. Cant find your location
 
Armyof2
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gonna be a noob and ask how to do this because honestly i'm a bit lost on that part.
 
kdmhong
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 36
Join Date: Aug 2010
Nvm, i'm still having problems.
 
mattisdada
Old
(Last edited by mattisdada; 29th September 2010 at 01:22 AM.)
#6  
mattisdada's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 255
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armyof2 View Post
Gonna be a noob and ask how to do this because honestly i'm a bit lost on that part.
Ill elaborate a little more on on the main post as well.

1. Go into settings
2. Select Applications
3. Select Manage Applications
4. (If you are on 2.2) Select the All tab
5. Scroll down until you find Contacts Storage (select it).
6. Wipe data+clear cache(If available)
7. Hit back
8. Scroll down until you find Google Services Framework (select it)
9. Wipe data+clear cache (if available)
10. Enjoy

PS: Asking questions isn't noob like

Samsung Galaxy S 4: Cyanogenmod 10. JB 4.2
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10: Stock CM10.1 JB 4.2
Launcher:Nova Launcher Prime
SMS:AOSP SMS / Facebook Messenger
Video Player:MX Video Player / DICE player / VLC (in that order)
Audio Player:Spotify
News:Pulse
Backup:Titanium Backup(apps)

The Following User Says Thank You to mattisdada For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
EVOme
Old
#7  
EVOme's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 1,601
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattisdada View Post
This fix at the very least works on the MIUI ROM. It may work on all ROMs, if someone starts getting this error, try this fix and report back

Wipe data for Contacts Storage and Google Services Framework.

Really easy, this will fix either android.process.acore force closing or google.services.framework force closing.

WARNING!: This will wipe contacts. It seems acore fc's when there are corrupted contacts. Usually by restoring contacts on an compatible ROM....
And will temporarily wipe market list.

Step by step:
1. Go into settings
2. Select Applications
3. Select Manage Applications
4. (If you are on 2.2) Select the All tab
5. Scroll down until you find Contacts Storage (select it).
6. Wipe data+clear cache(If available)
7. Hit back
8. Scroll down until you find Google Services Framework (select it)
9. Wipe data+clear cache (if available)
10. Enjoy

If this works for you, can you reply stating what ROM your on? (Eg, Stock 2.2, Cyanogenmod 5.08, MIUI 0.9.24, etc)
Or if it doesn't work for you, do the same thing?
Thanks guys!
I did this on CM6 and have not gotten the error since. I think this may have worked. Thanks!!
-----------
Device: Galaxy S5
 
mattisdada
Old
#8  
mattisdada's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 255
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne
Glad to hear it worked . Edited the first post appropriately

Samsung Galaxy S 4: Cyanogenmod 10. JB 4.2
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10: Stock CM10.1 JB 4.2
Launcher:Nova Launcher Prime
SMS:AOSP SMS / Facebook Messenger
Video Player:MX Video Player / DICE player / VLC (in that order)
Audio Player:Spotify
News:Pulse
Backup:Titanium Backup(apps)

 
kizleblonde
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2010
thank you this worked perfectly
 
mattisdada
Old
#10  
mattisdada's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 255
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by kizleblonde View Post
thank you this worked perfectly
Glad to be of help

Samsung Galaxy S 4: Cyanogenmod 10. JB 4.2
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10: Stock CM10.1 JB 4.2
Launcher:Nova Launcher Prime
SMS:AOSP SMS / Facebook Messenger
Video Player:MX Video Player / DICE player / VLC (in that order)
Audio Player:Spotify
News:Pulse
Backup:Titanium Backup(apps)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes