5,598,297 Members 47,945 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sidetone - Need android_secret_code to access menu

Tip us?
 
egg_head
Old
#1  
egg_head's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Sidetone - Need android_secret_code to access menu

Ok, so I'm trying to adjust, or change the sidetone on the Fascinate.

I've discovered that there is a sidetone adjustment within the HwCodec.apk.

While viewing the AndroidManifest.xml inside of the HwCodec.apk I found this:

...
<intent-filter>
<action name="android.provider.Telephony.
SECRET_CODE">
<data scheme="android_secret_code"
host="0002*28346">
</data>
<data scheme="android_secret_code"
host="0002*28347">
</data>
...

From the research I've done, as long as we know the android_secret_code we can dial it and gain access to the HwCodec menu using its <code>.

In other Android devices, the android_secret_code has been *#*#<code>#*#*.
This appears to have changed with the Fascinate.

Is anyone able to look into this, or point me in the right direction?
Somewhere within the device there has to be the android_secret_code.

Sorry if my terminology is off, I don't do this stuff often. I just want to figure this thing out and try to remedy the excessive sidetone used on this device.

Thanks.
 
egg_head
Old
(Last edited by egg_head; 27th September 2010 at 09:00 PM.)
#2  
egg_head's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2010
I found this from an outside source. I would post the url, but I can't cause I'm a noob to the forums and I need moderator approval. Credit goes to the author though.



Quote:
Iíve looked deep into platform code. Hereís are the code from Phone.git


static boolean handleSecretCode(Context context, String input) {
// Secret codes are in the form *#*#<code>#*#*
int len = input.length();
if (len > 8 && input.startsWith("*#*#") && input.endsWith("#*#*")) {
Intent intent = new Intent(Intents.SECRET_CODE_ACTION,
Uri.parse("android_secret_code://" + input.substring(4, len - 4)));
context.sendBroadcast(intent);
return true;
}

return false;
}

Maybe this will help..
 
jason1332
Old
#3  
jason1332's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 153
Join Date: Apr 2008
search for sgs tools in the market... think what you are looking for is

*#*#197328640#*#*

hope this helps.
 
egg_head
Old
(Last edited by egg_head; 29th September 2010 at 03:09 AM.)
#4  
egg_head's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason1332 View Post
search for sgs tools in the market... think what you are looking for is

*#*#197328640#*#*

hope this helps.
Negative, did not work.
That's the "normal" service code string- *#*#<code>#*#*.
The Fascinates had to of changed.
That's what I need to know.
Thanks though.
I will be checking out SGS Tools.

[tapatalk on android]
 
egg_head
Old
#5  
egg_head's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2010
I checked out SGS Tools, but it appears to be for GSM based Galaxy S phones.

Does anyone have an idea where to look to the find new dialing code string for the Fascinate?
Like I posted, it was in the phone.git file on the Droid 1.
Is that the same as the Phone.apk file in the Fascinate?
I picked that AndroidManifest.xml apart trying to find it.

I might be way off on this.
Like I said, I don't have experience with programming, or anything like that.
I just really want this sidetone to be adjusted.
 
egg_head
Old
#6  
egg_head's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2010
I created a new thread for the dialing string needed, but I will update this for future searches and such..

The dialing code used to gain access to the sidetone adjustment is:

*#0002*2836#

This will take you to the Codec Tuning Menu.

Proceed with caution. You don't have to ruin your phone.
 
jtwags
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2010
Has anyone had any luck with the SideTone adjustments? I am on my second phone with the sidetone/mic feedback through the earpiece. I have accessed the hidden menu's but have no clue what values correspond to what. Has anyone been able to reduce the effect in the earpiece by adjusting values in the menu???
Thanks,
 
aecky01
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Oct 2010
Over at android central they have a thread. So far people have been able to change the sidetone values, but it tends to drop sounds during calls. Also it resets the value on reboot.

Link

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more