Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[DISCUSSION][SOLVED] ROOTING G2 Vision T-mobile

OP tubaking182

28th September 2010, 07:15 PM   |  #1  
tubaking182's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
1,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
What is this thread?
This is where steps will be tried to get root on the device

What should be posted?
Steps to try, steps tried and failed, steps that worked

What should not be posted in this thread?
If your post doesn't have anything to do with root then you may ask in general, we will not help get adb set up or anything else, there are thousands of threads all over the interwebs that tell you how to get adb working and this will not be one of them.


So now that we have devices in hand and we have a few devs on-hand as well we can really get into this.

I will update this post later with tried methods and failed(and why) but for now we have some simple rules.

If you want to test, fine but share any and all details

We do not have someone in charge of root as several that are working don't have devices(myself included) and so we may just post steps, if you try the steps be sure to quote the steps tried and post results of each step(errors especially)

Once root is achieved provide pics and what you did so we can replicate and verify

Anything done on the phone is YOUR fault if you think that what you are trying could cause issues and you are uncomfortable doing the steps provided then stop and ask questions.

Standard disclaimers apply, if your phone is broke then fix it, we will try to be helpful if it was caused by our steps but the end result is if you brick it then it's your fault and we will note it as a step not to try again.

Hope this is helpful the rest will be updated below this later when I have computer to work at
28th September 2010, 07:52 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 71
 
1,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Yea I preordered mines so it should be n by the oct 6 day(my brithday )
But yea I want root asap once I get the phone ill be up to trying a few things to help out.
What's mainly needed? A system, boot, and recovery dump?

Sent from my T-Mobile G1 using XDA App
29th September 2010, 06:38 AM   |  #3  
Gr8gorilla's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga
Thanks Meter: 103
 
887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
what about unrevoked universal root method?
29th September 2010, 06:59 AM   |  #4  
WilliamStern's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, Fl.
Thanks Meter: 39
 
636 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Give me some clockwork. I want the process to be easy like it is for the Vibrant. **** only took 2 seconds to root.
29th September 2010, 09:27 AM   |  #5  
Kainous's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
If I do acquire one.. how can I be of help?
29th September 2010, 10:33 AM   |  #6  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 551
 
3,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
The slides method should work. It works on all newer htc android models so far. we'll just have to wait and see really.
29th September 2010, 10:35 AM   |  #7  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 551
 
3,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamStern

Give me some clockwork. I want the process to be easy like it is for the Vibrant. **** only took 2 seconds to root.

yeah... sorry, that won't happen. but it won't be too difficult. start practicing with adb if y'all are rusty, lol!
29th September 2010, 04:57 PM   |  #8  
WilliamStern's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, Fl.
Thanks Meter: 39
 
636 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sino8r

yeah... sorry, that won't happen. but it won't be too difficult. start practicing with adb if y'all are rusty, lol!

The thing about that is that I own only Macs. Doesn't adb, and odin only work with pc?

I know we won't really see clockwork on the G2, I'm just wishing here. lol

Either way, I just want this to be easy.
29th September 2010, 07:46 PM   |  #9  
tubaking182's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
1,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
odin was for vibrant, adb will run on any OS so long as you know how(put ./ in front and run the command or just make sure that the adb binary is in your path) i plan on trying the adb method tonight, just need a build with root to test with
29th September 2010, 08:42 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 11
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Hopefully I will be able to test this theory out tomorrow when I receive my device :)

Sent from my OC844 Stock R00T3D Mytouch 3G Slide

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes