FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

[DISCUSSION][SOLVED] ROOTING G2 Vision T-mobile

1,088 posts
Thanks Meter: 13
 
By tubaking182, Senior Member on 28th September 2010, 06:15 PM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
What is this thread?
This is where steps will be tried to get root on the device

What should be posted?
Steps to try, steps tried and failed, steps that worked

What should not be posted in this thread?
If your post doesn't have anything to do with root then you may ask in general, we will not help get adb set up or anything else, there are thousands of threads all over the interwebs that tell you how to get adb working and this will not be one of them.


So now that we have devices in hand and we have a few devs on-hand as well we can really get into this.

I will update this post later with tried methods and failed(and why) but for now we have some simple rules.

If you want to test, fine but share any and all details

We do not have someone in charge of root as several that are working don't have devices(myself included) and so we may just post steps, if you try the steps be sure to quote the steps tried and post results of each step(errors especially)

Once root is achieved provide pics and what you did so we can replicate and verify

Anything done on the phone is YOUR fault if you think that what you are trying could cause issues and you are uncomfortable doing the steps provided then stop and ask questions.

Standard disclaimers apply, if your phone is broke then fix it, we will try to be helpful if it was caused by our steps but the end result is if you brick it then it's your fault and we will note it as a step not to try again.

Hope this is helpful the rest will be updated below this later when I have computer to work at
 
 
28th September 2010, 06:52 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Yea I preordered mines so it should be n by the oct 6 day(my brithday )
But yea I want root asap once I get the phone ill be up to trying a few things to help out.
What's mainly needed? A system, boot, and recovery dump?

Sent from my T-Mobile G1 using XDA App
29th September 2010, 05:38 AM |#3  
Gr8gorilla's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga
Thanks Meter: 103
 
Donate to Me
More
what about unrevoked universal root method?
29th September 2010, 05:59 AM |#4  
WilliamStern's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, Fl.
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Give me some clockwork. I want the process to be easy like it is for the Vibrant. **** only took 2 seconds to root.
29th September 2010, 08:27 AM |#5  
Kainous's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If I do acquire one.. how can I be of help?
29th September 2010, 09:33 AM |#6  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
The slides method should work. It works on all newer htc android models so far. we'll just have to wait and see really.
29th September 2010, 09:35 AM |#7  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamStern

Give me some clockwork. I want the process to be easy like it is for the Vibrant. **** only took 2 seconds to root.

yeah... sorry, that won't happen. but it won't be too difficult. start practicing with adb if y'all are rusty, lol!
29th September 2010, 03:57 PM |#8  
WilliamStern's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, Fl.
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sino8r

yeah... sorry, that won't happen. but it won't be too difficult. start practicing with adb if y'all are rusty, lol!

The thing about that is that I own only Macs. Doesn't adb, and odin only work with pc?

I know we won't really see clockwork on the G2, I'm just wishing here. lol

Either way, I just want this to be easy.
29th September 2010, 06:46 PM |#9  
tubaking182's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
odin was for vibrant, adb will run on any OS so long as you know how(put ./ in front and run the command or just make sure that the adb binary is in your path) i plan on trying the adb method tonight, just need a build with root to test with
29th September 2010, 07:42 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Hopefully I will be able to test this theory out tomorrow when I receive my device :)

Sent from my OC844 Stock R00T3D Mytouch 3G Slide
29th September 2010, 07:47 PM |#11  
tubaking182's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
The divice in my hand has recovery 3e which means the adb method may not work, we'll have to try a few things, won't have the G2 near a comp for another 8 hours from now

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes