FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Does anyone know who the flagship network operator will be for the desire HD?

29th September 2010, 09:57 AM |#1  
dladz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 854
 
Donate to Me
More
THinking of getting the DHD on my network Orange when i'm due for an upgrade in October and i was wondering if it will actually be available? Does anyone know what the flagship network will be?

Please don't say o2 lol, i hate those buggers.
 
 
29th September 2010, 10:36 AM |#2  
dazultra2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
As far as I know, Vodafone is going to be the "flagship". HTC seemed to be bigging them up a lot at the launch event.
Orange and T-Mobile are getting the phone too, but they didn't get a mention.
O2 so far aren't even getting the phone at all!
29th September 2010, 11:35 AM |#3  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,636
 
More
3rd party online stores are offering the HD on T-Mobile, Orange, O2 and Vodafone...always best to get from a 3rd party as to not get a crap branded handset!!
29th September 2010, 11:49 AM |#4  
dazultra2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

3rd party online stores are offering the HD on T-Mobile, Orange, O2 and Vodafone...always best to get from a 3rd party as to not get a crap branded handset!!

Yep, that's what I did with my TP2 and is what I'm doing with my HD
29th September 2010, 11:57 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Brighton
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I have it ordered from a 3rd party on Vodafone. I wonder because it will be the first shipment will it have all the Vodafone crap on it or touch wood it will be sim free ??
29th September 2010, 12:17 PM |#6  
dazultra2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Depends where you get it from and whether you're first shipment or not.

When I ordered my TP2 from mobilephonesdirect I was first shipment and Voda didn't even have theirs yet - so I got an unbranded one.

I don't know if somewhere down the line Voda got their stock and MPD started selling from Voda stock rather than sim-free stock...

I expect at this stage all stock that doesn't come direct from an operator will be unbranded and sim-free.
29th September 2010, 12:34 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Brighton
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I ordered it from here immediately once they started taking orders so i should be in the first shipment - http://www.mobiles.co.uk/htc-desire-hd.html

Here's hoping its sim free then m8
29th September 2010, 01:21 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
I've just sent Orange an email asking about a release date. I'll post back when I hear something.

I never use a 3rd Party. Insurance is 6.00 a month on Orange. They replace the phone the next day usually no questions asked.

If you buy 3rd party you cannot insure your phone direct. You end up paying about 10.00 a month then if you want to claim they try everything to get out of helping you.

In my experience always buy direct. I know the branding is a pain. Custom Roms get rid of the bloatware. A small badge you can put up with.

If you buy a 3rd party phone the main operator will always tell you to contact who you bought your phone from if there's a fault.

That's where you will start having problems.

Sent from my HTC Hero
29th September 2010, 01:57 PM |#9  
dazultra2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
I phoned Vodafone about my TP2 when I got it asking if I can have insurance put on through Vodafone rather than via the reseller and they said "Yep no problem" and put it on for me! Not had to use it, but just saying...
29th September 2010, 03:09 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
That's good maybe it's just Orange. I got a phone from Phones 4 you years ago and Orange wouldn't touch me on insurance. I just like to deal direct because I get really good loyalty discounts.

Sent from my HTC Hero
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes