Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,262 Members 50,294 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

JI5 via Kies !!

Tip us?
 
scooterman
Old
(Last edited by scooterman; 29th September 2010 at 01:42 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 67
Join Date: Mar 2007
Default JI5 via Kies !!

No idea what this update does but i plugged my phone into Kies and it said there was and update, it flashed fine. And it booted. GPS lock in 5 seconds inside!!!
 
scooterman
Old
(Last edited by scooterman; 29th September 2010 at 03:06 PM.)
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 67
Join Date: Mar 2007
swype with voice input, signal meter fixed!!

hd camcorder and media hub

task manager did we have one before?

compass appears broken still

GPS is working at my work which im on the 1st floor of a 4 story building, it has never ever worked in here before.

I use to get crashes with flash lite sometimes, pages that were broken now seem to work.
 
masterotaku
Old
(Last edited by masterotaku; 29th September 2010 at 02:36 PM.)
#3  
masterotaku's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 440
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spartanburg S.C.
downloading it now.....more info as I have it.

- flash finished...rebooting...

- reboot successful...re-rooting and posting screenshots and info to come..

Version

PDA: T959UVJI5
Phone: T959UVJI5
CSC: T959TMBJFD

Build Time: 2010.09.22
Changelist: 584835

Doesn't seem to be much different from JI4 on a cursory examination. Haven't had a chance to step outside and test GPS. The 5.1 SRS sound effect for video playback is still as broken as it was in JI4.

First time I've gotten a lock outside (in my back yard) to hold after walking back in my basement (where my downstairs den and lab of doom reside). Accuracy and whatnot seems fine. Will have to wait till later to drive around and see if the GPS decides to not develop a mind of it's own and move around on me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snap20100929_090110.jpg
Views:	1123
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	409768  
 
PSP_Hacker
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 285
Join Date: Apr 2009
Holy ****! I might restore my phone to stock and flash this update!
Device: HTC Sensation 4G (TMoUS)
System: kristofpetho's HyperSensation v1.6 (minimalistic variant of
CyanogenMod 7.1)
Kernel: morfic's Trinity kernel for CM7. Very lean, performs off the charts, and the best idle battery life I have seen on any device I've owned. Mad props.
Previous devices:
Samsung Vibrant - Awesome device, gave to a relative
T-Mobile G1 (HTC Dream) w/ CM6, Haykuro SPL, AmonRA recovery, retired but currently a companion to my desktop PC for displaying conky!
 
blackerwater
Old
#5  
blackerwater's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 857
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
My phone doesn't work with keys? Never has.

Sent from my vibrant
-Vibrant-root-exthack-morphed-my own custom rom

-Nexus S Deodexed Memory Hack OG kernel custom.

-Lg Gslate Rooted

-Wifeys G2

and the retarded little cousin of the G2 mytouch slide running CM

Use drop box. Sign up now! Thanks

Sign up using this link and get a bonus:
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTQyNzg2MTc5
 
scooterman
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 67
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackerwater View Post
My phone doesn't work with keys? Never has.

Sent from my vibrant

did you put usb on the phone into kies mode
 
blackerwater
Old
#7  
blackerwater's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 857
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooterman View Post
did you put usb on the phone into kies mode
Ya . I get a massage saying kies isn't available for your device. We will let you know when it is. Im not worried about it. Im sure it will be posted on here soon enough



Sent from my vibrant
-Vibrant-root-exthack-morphed-my own custom rom

-Nexus S Deodexed Memory Hack OG kernel custom.

-Lg Gslate Rooted

-Wifeys G2

and the retarded little cousin of the G2 mytouch slide running CM

Use drop box. Sign up now! Thanks

Sign up using this link and get a bonus:
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTQyNzg2MTc5
 
scooterman
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 67
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackerwater View Post
Ya . I get a massage saying kies isn't available for your device. We will let you know when it is. Im not worried about it. Im sure it will be posted on here soon enough



Sent from my vibrant

are you on stock firmware?
 
g1g
Old
#9  
g1g's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 241
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FLA......
How do you use kies?
]verizon note 3 best phone so far..[/COLOR]..[/COLOR]
Galaxy note 2 with meanbean
Gallaxy s3
galaxy nexus.
ROOTED infuse 4g with infused 2.0.5
32 gig gtab task650 custom
ATRIX 4G ROOTED AND unlocked BOOTLOADER 2.3.4 gb[
SAMSUNG VIBRANT
rooted and waiting for cm6
16gig class 4 sd
[/COLOR]

T-MOBILE G1
ROM
CM 6
Amon RA 1.7.0 RECOVERY
8 gig class 4 sd
 
masterotaku
Old
#10  
masterotaku's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 440
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spartanburg S.C.
Once you are in KIES mode you do have to back out to the Home screen for KIES to actually work...Figured that out the hard way a long time ago.

And it only reliably works with the Samsung driver. the Android ADB drivers for the sdk no worky...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...