How Open Source Can Help Your Project w/ Ethan Yonker – BABBQ2014

People have finally recovered from this years Big Android BBQ … more

Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more

More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more

Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more
Post Reply

Internal memory...

OP Jorsher

30th September 2010, 08:10 AM   |  #1  
Jorsher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL
Thanks Meter: 5
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Why does it only show me 1.23GB available fresh out of the box?

I understand the OS itself takes up room, but I know it can't take up 2.5ishGB of it.

Do we really only have 1.5GB internal memory like the Desire Z despite the 4GB claimed on the T-Mobile and HTC websites?
30th September 2010, 08:11 AM   |  #2  
ericc191's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Davis, CA
Thanks Meter: 118
 
1,989 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Someone brought up that the space might be set aside for Gingerbread which drops later this year. Could be it.
30th September 2010, 08:18 AM   |  #3  
Jorsher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL
Thanks Meter: 5
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericc191

Someone brought up that the space might be set aside for Gingerbread which drops later this year. Could be it.

As nice as that would be, they wouldn't do that and it'd be extra trouble on HTC's part to accomplish...nothing. Even if Gingerbread was a ridiculously major update, it wouldn't account for another 2.5gb of space...

I think the truth is, we got 1.5gb instead of the claimed 4gb.
30th September 2010, 08:47 AM   |  #4  
unforgiven512's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Erie, PA
Thanks Meter: 144
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Also, I have the full system dump on my PC, and it's only weighing in at 1.7GB (This includes the ~1.3GB userdata partition).

If anyone would like to see a screenshot, give me a shout and I'll upload one.
30th September 2010, 08:58 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I was thinking that they may have partitioned off a FAT32 section which you could mount to. Vibrant and the Gentouch have done that. Though from a post on tmobiles board, it didn't look like the missing amount was mounted. Total for the partitions was 2169356.

Hmmm..

What do you see when you plug in your USB, just the SDCard, or do you get a notice about an internal memory as well?

-oldsk00lz
30th September 2010, 09:33 AM   |  #6  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
1,853 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Perhaps someone with a G2 on hand could install ConnectBot and run the command

cat /proc/partitions


and post the result here
30th September 2010, 10:08 AM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 0
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jashsu

Perhaps someone with a G2 on hand could install ConnectBot and run the command

cat /proc/partitions


and post the result here

major minor #blocks name
179 0 2203648 mmcb1k0

lord there's so many for me to type it'd be ridic, how do I take a screen shot with the phone so I can upload it? Basically though I go from 0 to 33 in that minor category.

I wonder why I have so many partitions (I'm assuming that's what these all are)
30th September 2010, 10:36 AM   |  #8  
ericc191's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Davis, CA
Thanks Meter: 118
 
1,989 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Not cool if it doesn't have the claimed 4GB.
30th September 2010, 01:11 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
If it doesn't have the claimed 4GB, then maybe someone can start a class action lawsuit?
30th September 2010, 01:45 PM   |  #10  
Jorsher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL
Thanks Meter: 5
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
I'm not upset enough that I'd push for a lawsuit, but I do feel kind of let down :P I don't even think I'll use the full 1.5gb, but I expected 4gb and didn't get what I expected.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 and Desire Z General by ThreadRank