FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[ROM-FIX] CM 6.xx, Ruby 1.1.1 and Shadowrom Radio and Wifi - Drops and Reboots Fix

864 posts
Thanks Meter: 60
 
By dnoyeb, Senior Member on 1st October 2010, 03:46 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Latest Cyanogenmod nightly number 97 (10/3/2010) has the new ril baked in. No need to use this patch if you are running it or a newer one.

Back Story
Long story short, the Chinese group Miui mananged to get / build (not really sure) a new Radio Interface Layer for our HTC devices... I pulled this file out of the Nexus one build that they released and it works perfectly. Link to the Nexus1 version

Over in the Nexus one forum a few people have questioned where this Chinese group got some of the files they're using, as they're really bleeding edge (at least thats what they say in the N1 forum). This newer / different RIL file seems to fix the issues we're facing with random phantom reboots while wifi is on. Also included in this is the issue where the signal bars show an "x" for a second or two after connecting to a wifi hotspot. Also fixed are issues where the radio signal drops before / after receiving a call that plagues AOSP builds (ruby and CM for sure).

Cyanogenmod 6.xx
This works on the 6.xx versions as well as the Nightlies.
NOTICE: As of Oct 2nd this has been "committed" so I assume the nightly that comes out this evening will have the fix built in. Check it out

Latest nightly number 97 has the new ril baked in. No need to use this patch.

Ruby 1.1.1
This works for Ruby. If you are wanting the BT Media Streaming audio fix as well, please see this thread. They are two separate installs.

Shadowrom
It has been confirmed that this also works for Shadowrom.

Bugs
I honestly don't know of any yet... but that doesn't mean there aren't any. Only a handful of us have been testing this thing out on the inc so far. Figured more people might want to check it out.

Credit
I take no credit for the fix. The Miui group built/got it(not sure which), I simply happened to be playing around with some files and noticed the side effects. Thanks again to Jermaine for letting me know more about the rom (and the fact that they weren't plagued by our reboot issues) in the first place so I could start digging...
Of course thanks go out to the entire ruby and cyanogenmod teams, without them we wouldn't have these fun roms. Lastly, IncredibleDoes for doing the Inc port of miui that opened our eyes to it.

Installation
- Download the file and place it on your SD card.
- Load up Rom Manager and hit "Install rom from SD card," select the file.
- I'd probably make a nandroid backup if you haven't recently just in case... no wipe has been needed.

Disclaimer
If this messes up your phone, not my fault Was tested by about 30 people so far, and no issues that we've seen. Please make a nandoid backup just in case.
THIS IS FOR AOSP roms listed above ONLY. Please do NOT install it on any sense based roms.

Downloads
see below

Latest Cyanogenmod nightly number 97 (10/3/2010) has the new ril baked in. No need to use this patch if you are running it or a newer nightly .
Attached Files
File Type: zip CM-Radiofix5-Signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (203.6 KB, 1052 views)
Last edited by dnoyeb; 3rd October 2010 at 04:04 AM.
 
 
1st October 2010, 03:49 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnoyeb

Also included in this is the issue where the signal bars show an "x" for a second or two after connecting to a wifi hotspot.

Isn't this just cosmetic? Or because the phone is switching from 3G to 1x? I've never dropped a call while toggling WiFi on...
1st October 2010, 03:51 PM |#3  
dnoyeb's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Auburn, AL
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by larsrya8

Isn't this just cosmetic? Or because the phone is switching from 3G to 1x? I've never dropped a call while toggling WiFi on...

Not that I can tell... so far the mere fact that the wifi isn't causing reboots anymore is the main reason I'm putting this out there...

anything else is just gravy.
1st October 2010, 03:53 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnoyeb

Not that I can tell... so far the mere fact that the wifi isn't causing reboots anymore is the main reason I'm putting this out there...

anything else is just gravy.

Fixing the WiFi reboots would be great. Though, strangely, I'm at 110 hours uptime with the WiFi on... I guess it'll take a while to verify this fix works.
1st October 2010, 03:55 PM |#5  
dnoyeb's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Auburn, AL
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by larsrya8

Fixing the WiFi reboots would be great. Though, strangely, I'm at 110 hours uptime with the WiFi on... I guess it'll take a while to verify this fix works.

sounds good. in all reality the one person who can really verify is koush... sending him the idea as well...

(wish I could make it 110 hours! hah... at my office i'm lucky if I get more than 3 hours) so today will be a major test of it. so far so good.
1st October 2010, 04:00 PM |#6  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 3,599
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnoyeb

sounds good. in all reality the one person who can really verify is koush... sending him the idea as well...

(wish I could make it 110 hours! hah... at my office i'm lucky if I get more than 3 hours) so today will be a major test of it. so far so good.

Good job! I hope that solves it since we've determined the kernels don't.
1st October 2010, 04:03 PM |#7  
dnoyeb's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Auburn, AL
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermaine151

Good job! I hope that solves it since we've determined the kernels don't.

all thanks to you bud will update credits with backstory if all goes well.
1st October 2010, 04:18 PM |#8  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 3,599
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnoyeb

all thanks to you bud will update credits with backstory if all goes well.

Totally thanks to you! I'm just glad that you were persistent on resolving it.
1st October 2010, 04:23 PM |#9  
Asterdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Providence
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Please please let Koush know about this, too. Nice work man.
1st October 2010, 04:39 PM |#10  
dnoyeb's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Auburn, AL
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asterdroid

Please please let Koush know about this, too. Nice work man.

if it works, sure going to send out the links shortly... testing the installer on another phone really quick.
1st October 2010, 04:54 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
YGPM.

I'll guinea pig my phone for a few days if it means getting CM running w/o locks or reboots.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes