Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[DEPRECATED][GUIDE] Temporary root your Desire Z

OP kholk

4th October 2010, 03:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Torino
Thanks Meter: 3,804
 
2,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Donate to Me
More
HTC Vision // Desire Z Temporary Rooting

1. Download this package: MegaUpload
2. Copy the content of the package in a folder called "temproot" in your SDCard root.

3. Execute this script:
Code:
#!/system/bin/sh
cp -R /mnt/sdcard/temproot/* /data/local/tmp/
cd /data/local/tmp/
chmod 755 *
./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
ps
4. Restart Terminal Emulator

5. Execute this script:
Code:
#!/system/bin/sh
/data/local/tmp/busybox killall rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p25 /system
/data/local/tmp/busybox cp /sdcard/temproot/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk
/data/local/tmp/busybox cp /sdcard/temproot/su /system/bin/su
/data/local/tmp/busybox cp /sdcard/temproot/busybox /system/bin/busybox
chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
chmod 4755 /system/bin/busybox
mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p25 /system
Now your phone is temporairily rooted and you can even get root on adb.


Thanks to:
*- C-Skills for the exploit
*- Guys in G2 section for testing it.
Last edited by kholk; 23rd October 2010 at 08:29 PM.
4th October 2010, 10:35 PM   |  #2  
stian230's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Penguin land,way up north.
Thanks Meter: 1,185
 
1,218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Sweet
but what do we do to get full root access?
5th October 2010, 05:57 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Around
Thanks Meter: 35
 
588 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
There is no full root yet for either this device or g2. You will see that later
5th October 2010, 07:04 AM   |  #4  
stian230's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Penguin land,way up north.
Thanks Meter: 1,185
 
1,218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by M9x3mos

There is no full root yet for either this device or g2. You will see that later

excited
wonder if the "z" and G2 can use the same Recovery image and Roms..or wil it be like htc magic and My touch ?
Last edited by stian230; 5th October 2010 at 07:06 AM.
5th October 2010, 12:56 PM   |  #5  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Torino
Thanks Meter: 3,804
 
2,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Donate to Me
More
G2 and Z are the same device.... HTC Vision.
Radio ROMs and BootLoaders should be compatible, we only need someone that can verify, but AFAIK a G2 owner flashed a full Desire Z ROM and worked without problems.
5th October 2010, 03:19 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 42
 
509 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kholk

G2 and Z are the same device.... HTC Vision.
Radio ROMs and BootLoaders should be compatible, we only need someone that can verify, but AFAIK a G2 owner flashed a full Desire Z ROM and worked without problems.

any idea if the G2 is a test unit or retail unit? i want senseui (sad i know, but im a sucker for nice graphic)
5th October 2010, 07:01 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Around
Thanks Meter: 35
 
588 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Correction. The Desire Z rom currently be flashed to G2 but the PC10IMG.zip original G2 rom does work on the Desire Z
6th October 2010, 06:52 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
I try using this but My G2 didn't work, I got stock here at this step:
"#!/system/bin/sh
cp -R /mnt/sdcard/temproot/* /data/local/tmp/"
6th October 2010, 07:18 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 8
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Anyone try overclocking it yet?
6th October 2010, 10:15 AM   |  #10  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Torino
Thanks Meter: 3,804
 
2,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by waiting89

I try using this but My G2 didn't work, I got stock here at this step:
"#!/system/bin/sh
cp -R /mnt/sdcard/temproot/* /data/local/tmp/"

Are there any errors?
Please provide more details, it's only a file copy...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes