Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] StartProgWOSense - Update v2.6.3b1/b2!! - auto-disable Sense to free RAM !!

OP cyber-junkie

4th October 2010, 07:46 PM   |  #1  
cyber-junkie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Because of new functions StartProgWOSense is renamed to UIFlex -
and continued in a new thread: <Link>

! Big thanx to arealityfarbetween !




For all with WVGA / VGA* / WQVGA / QVGA* screen and Sense (in Rom or installed separately) I can proudly present:


StartProgWOSense v2.6.3b1/b2

Freeware-Version (since v2.5) includes all Pro-functions - Pro-Version is no more available!

!Fixes most Ram-problems with installed HTC-sense!
! 20 - 30MB more free RAM by temporarily disabling HTC-Sense!



Runs on all Roms (not only WWE) with HTC-Sense!
Multilanguage! Supported languages:
Bulgarian / Croatian / Czech / English / French / German / Greek / Polish / Russian / Spanish

Functions::

Add programs to a list.
A background-script (that could be started automatically) checks the list,
terminates Sense as soon as one of the programs starts (highest after 5 seconds) -
and starts Sense automatically when the program is closed.

The programs can be added with the exe-file - or the Startmenu-Shortcut.

Some exe-files are by default in the list (could removed if required):
Navigon: MobileNavigator.exe
Igo: IGO8.exe
TomTom: TomTom Navigator.exe
Route66: Route66.exe
Garmin:Garmin Mobile XT.exe
CityGuide:CityGuide.exe

If the background-script don't terminates Sense when you starts your navi-program
please delete the default-exe-entry and re-add the exe-file of your navi-program
(some navi-programs have other exe-files on different versions...).

Additional you can add Quicklaunch-Shortcuts, so that you can start a program
without Sense directly from startmenu (this needs no running background-script).
When starting a program with the Quicklaunch-Shortcut Sense will be closed, then the
program starts (and when the program is closed Sense starts automatically).

Manual:
To terminate Sense automatically when starting programs:
1. 'Add Program to list'
(either select the StartMenu-Shortcut, or the EXE file)
2. Start Background-Script (or activate Background-Script Auto-Start + Softreset)
3. Close StartProgWOSense

To start programs (without Sense) with a Startmenu-Shortcut:
1. 'Create Quickstart in Startmenu'
(either select the Startmenu-Shortcut, or the EXE file)
2. Enter name of the new shortcut
3. Close StartProgWOSense
4. Quickstart-Shortcut is now added to the startmenu

When a program should be addes by a Startmenu-Shortcut (to add it to the list -
or to create a Quicklaunch-Shortcut), the program will run once (still with Sense)
and closes automatically after a while (10 seconds) - after that the 'real' process-exe ist registered!

Deinstallation:

Befor deinstallation please deactivate the background-script-autostart -
otherwise there comes an error-message after every softreset!
(In this case please the SPWOS_autostart.lnk in your autostart-folder!)

Created Quicklaunch-Shortcuts are not getting deinstalled - please delete the Quicklaunch-Shortcuts with StartProgWOSense before deinstalling (otherwise you have to delete it manually from Startmenu-folder)!


*) I've tested on VGA and QVGA device: It work's ! Only a little part of the messages won't be shown on the display
(every status message have a footer '(window is closing soon)' - and this isn't shown on VGA-/QVGA-devices).


Changelog:

2.5.1
  • BugFix: Backgroundscript-Autostart wasn't working on some roms with cooked in StartProgWOSense (because of the installation-path) - fixed
  • BugFix: StartProgWOSense wasn't working when Sense is called 'Sense' (and not 'HTC Sense') - fixed: If required StartProgWOSense renames 'Sense' to 'HTC Sense' (followed by a softreset)
  • Languages now included: Czech, Spanish
2.5.2
  • Limit of list places removed (thanx to arealityfarbetween)
  • BugFix: When you had two programs of the list running - and have closed one of them - Sense was starting for a short time (and closing again 5 second later) - fixed
  • Languages are now sorted in alphabetic order
  • Added Garmin Mobile XT.exe (Garmin) and CityGuide.exe (CityGuide) to the default list-entries (could removed if required)
2.5.3
  • Programcode partly rewritten by arealityfarbetween
  • Added a 'Special thanks to'-page to 'About StartProgWOSense' - with credits to all coders/translators
2.6.0
  • Changing language don't need a program-restart
  • Added 'Debug' - with status of backgroundscript/autostart/program-list/quickstart-shortcuts
  • Little Bug-fixes
2.6.12.6.2
  • Went back to refreshtoday.exe - with RedrawToday there are some bad bugs.
2.6.3b1
  • Latest mods by arealityfarbetween (see his changelog)
  • + Turned again back to RefreshToday.exe - RedrawToday gave different problems ...
  • + deleted ExeCheck when adding a program with a exe... (because when I want to add a special exe it don't have to be checked)
2.6.3b2
  • Same Version as v2.6.3b1 - but with RedrawToday - and not RefreshToday.exe.
    (works better on Navigon - but RedrawToday gave sometimes an error on my device - see post 76)

CU cyber-junkie

If you like the program - and want to buy me a cup of coffee, a coke or a beer to say 'thanx':

>>> Donate (Paypal) in EUR <<< >>> Donate (Paypal) in USD <<<


Because of new functions StartProgWOSense is renamed
to UIFlex - and continued in a new thread: <Link>

! Big thanx to arealityfarbetween !
Last edited by cyber-junkie; 13th December 2010 at 01:16 PM.
4th October 2010, 08:09 PM   |  #2  
windows7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag mashhad
Thanks Meter: 26
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Thumbs up
nice work man
5th October 2010, 04:19 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Canmore, AB
Thanks Meter: 84
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Thanks - works very well with iGo!
5th October 2010, 05:07 AM   |  #4  
frmariam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Uh... These are Mortscripts. You do realize that anyone with a notepad and just a bit of knowledge can make themselves a pro-version? It seems quite easy...

I don't want to be mean... I just hate Sense that much! Manila/Sense hacks are the sole responsibles of actual homescreen plugins development death/halt (there's a big difference between hacking an HTC app and developing proper software...).



PS: Hope you send part of your profits to Mort (he made this possible... who knows maybe he'll finally update MortScript). That or put a bounty for new features for MortScript using the official SVN as base (Mort's 6th post).
5th October 2010, 06:18 AM   |  #5  
cyber-junkie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by frmariam

Uh... These are Mortscripts. You do realize that anyone with a notepad and just a bit of knowledge can make themselves a pro-version? It seems quite easy...

Yes I know that - but: I haven't even disabled the pro-functions - I removed them completly from the free-version.
And: I programmed around 100 hours to make this program possible - so I think it's really, really unfair to edit just my finished code ...

And: Of course I will send a part of the profit to Mort - he made all this possible!
Last edited by cyber-junkie; 5th October 2010 at 06:21 AM.
5th October 2010, 10:06 PM   |  #6  
KUR0I's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Question VGA-Version
This sounds very cool. Any hope for a VGA Version.
6th October 2010, 04:16 AM   |  #7  
cyber-junkie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUR0I

This sounds very cool. Any hope for a VGA Version.

I've tested on VGA and QVGA device: It work's ! Only a little part of the messages won't be shown on the display (every status message have a footer '(window is closing soon)' - and this isn't shown on VGA-/QVGA-devices).
Last edited by cyber-junkie; 6th October 2010 at 06:03 AM.
6th October 2010, 06:55 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Australian Capital Territory
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Can translate into Chinese. Will open the file first. Is that ok?
6th October 2010, 07:43 AM   |  #9  
cyber-junkie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzeng

Can translate into Chinese. Will open the file first. Is that ok?

Yes - thank you! I've sent you a PM...
6th October 2010, 09:58 AM   |  #10  
lesscro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag paris
Thanks Meter: 1,779
 
3,407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Nice Idea Cyber bro'...
If you look for UI design/logo, you know where i am...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes