Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more
Post Reply

[MISC] Activate and Adjust Wifi HotSpot Settings, No Root Necessary

5th October 2010, 02:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Interestingly enough if you install Launcher Pro or similar you can pop right on over to the Froyo AP settings.

Its very straight-forward, all you need to do is long press your homescreen, create a shortcut/activity that goes directly to the Wifi AP settings, what you are looking for is:

com.android.settings.wifi.WifiApSettings

Its as exactly as you would find on the Nexus One, its just hidden from the standard menus to keep the noobs out I suppose. Hopefully they leave this in, since the cat is out of the bag!

Edit:

HamNCheese has figured out that the temp root is necessary to kick things off. Its not really complex, here is his instructions:



Quote:
Originally Posted by HamNCheese

Here's a workaround to get things working (for now)

Step 1: get root

Step 2: Add the wifi settings shortcut as posted in this thread and configure your AP

Step 3: Create dnsmasq.conf:

Code:
no-resolv
no-poll
server=208.67.222.222
server=208.67.220.220
dhcp-authoritative
Step 4: adb push dnsmasq.conf to /data/local/tmp

Step 5: create wifi.sh:

Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

./busybox ifconfig wl0.1 192.168.1.1

dnsmasq --strict-order --bind-interfaces --pid-file=/data/local/tmp/dnsmasq.pid --conf-file=/data/local/tmp/dnsmasq.conf  --listen-address 192.168.1.1  --dhcp-range 192.168.1.2,192.168.1.254 --dhcp-lease-max=253

iptables -t nat --append POSTROUTING --out-interface rmnet0 -j MASQUERADE

iptables --append FORWARD --in-interface wl0.1 -j ACCEPT
Step 6: adb push wifi.sh to /data/local/tmp

Step 7: su, change to /data/local/tmp and run wifi.sh

Step 8: (important) Connect to your AP only after dnsmasq is started, otherwise you will get weird DNS failures.

Credit to teferi for his original USB tether script.

Last edited by sherifone; 5th October 2010 at 10:32 PM.
5th October 2010, 03:07 AM   |  #2  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 541
 
3,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Ha! Nice find...
5th October 2010, 03:08 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
723 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
You beat me to it! I was just noticing that switchpro has an option to enable hotspot access. I still couldn't get to it, but the ssid popped up on my laptop.

This feature would make waiting for root soooo much easier. lol

Stupid dhcp...
5th October 2010, 03:08 AM   |  #4  
electronicrice's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chandler, AZ
Thanks Meter: 216
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Holy crap dude there it is! That's awesome. Thanks a lot for finding that out. Hopefully it does stay in.
5th October 2010, 03:17 AM   |  #5  
Master Loon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norwalk, CT
Thanks Meter: 6
 
295 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Were you actually able to connect. My devices keep waiting to obtain an ip address

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
5th October 2010, 03:21 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 481
 
3,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Rather than install an entirely new launcher, you could probably access this by installing AnyCut and creating a shortcut from there. Good luck to all you folks in G2 land!

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
5th October 2010, 03:23 AM   |  #7  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 541
 
3,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
yeah, its not working. good find still though.
5th October 2010, 03:23 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
I can get to it, but it's not working for me. Gets enabled, shows up on my laptop, but I never get an IP to use.
5th October 2010, 03:26 AM   |  #9  
philosophics's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Um... Does anyone have gps these days?
Thanks Meter: 144
 
1,166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherifone

Interestingly enough if you install Launcher Pro or similar you can pop right on over to the Froyo AP settings.

Its very straight-forward, all you need to do is long press your homescreen, create a shortcut/activity that goes directly to the Wifi AP settings, what you are looking for is:

com.android.settings.wifi.WifiApSettings

Its as exactly as you would find on the Nexus One, its just hidden from the standard menus to keep the noobs out I suppose. Hopefully they leave this in, since the cat is out of the bag!

I can't get anything to connect with it though so that's kind of a bust. Nice work on the hunt though!


Sent from my HTC Vision
5th October 2010, 03:39 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
723 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
To all of you trying to make it work, it doesn't. Something is disabled in the IP tables or something to that effect. The hotspot menu was removed from the settings.apk from the g2 shipped rom as another way to try and disable hotspot access. Looks like we're getting close!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
wifi hotspot
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 and Desire Z General by ThreadRank