FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[MISC] Activate and Adjust Wifi HotSpot Settings, No Root Necessary

50 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By sherifone, Member on 5th October 2010, 02:44 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Interestingly enough if you install Launcher Pro or similar you can pop right on over to the Froyo AP settings.

Its very straight-forward, all you need to do is long press your homescreen, create a shortcut/activity that goes directly to the Wifi AP settings, what you are looking for is:

com.android.settings.wifi.WifiApSettings

Its as exactly as you would find on the Nexus One, its just hidden from the standard menus to keep the noobs out I suppose. Hopefully they leave this in, since the cat is out of the bag!

Edit:

HamNCheese has figured out that the temp root is necessary to kick things off. Its not really complex, here is his instructions:



Quote:
Originally Posted by HamNCheese

Here's a workaround to get things working (for now)

Step 1: get root

Step 2: Add the wifi settings shortcut as posted in this thread and configure your AP

Step 3: Create dnsmasq.conf:

Code:
no-resolv
no-poll
server=208.67.222.222
server=208.67.220.220
dhcp-authoritative
Step 4: adb push dnsmasq.conf to /data/local/tmp

Step 5: create wifi.sh:

Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

./busybox ifconfig wl0.1 192.168.1.1

dnsmasq --strict-order --bind-interfaces --pid-file=/data/local/tmp/dnsmasq.pid --conf-file=/data/local/tmp/dnsmasq.conf  --listen-address 192.168.1.1  --dhcp-range 192.168.1.2,192.168.1.254 --dhcp-lease-max=253

iptables -t nat --append POSTROUTING --out-interface rmnet0 -j MASQUERADE

iptables --append FORWARD --in-interface wl0.1 -j ACCEPT
Step 6: adb push wifi.sh to /data/local/tmp

Step 7: su, change to /data/local/tmp and run wifi.sh

Step 8: (important) Connect to your AP only after dnsmasq is started, otherwise you will get weird DNS failures.

Credit to teferi for his original USB tether script.

Last edited by sherifone; 5th October 2010 at 10:32 PM.
 
 
5th October 2010, 03:07 AM |#2  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 720
 
More
Ha! Nice find...
5th October 2010, 03:08 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
You beat me to it! I was just noticing that switchpro has an option to enable hotspot access. I still couldn't get to it, but the ssid popped up on my laptop.

This feature would make waiting for root soooo much easier. lol

Stupid dhcp...
5th October 2010, 03:08 AM |#4  
electronicrice's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chandler, AZ
Thanks Meter: 217
 
More
Holy crap dude there it is! That's awesome. Thanks a lot for finding that out. Hopefully it does stay in.
5th October 2010, 03:17 AM |#5  
Master Loon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norwalk, CT
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Were you actually able to connect. My devices keep waiting to obtain an ip address

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
5th October 2010, 03:21 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 515
 
More
Rather than install an entirely new launcher, you could probably access this by installing AnyCut and creating a shortcut from there. Good luck to all you folks in G2 land!

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
5th October 2010, 03:23 AM |#7  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 720
 
More
yeah, its not working. good find still though.
5th October 2010, 03:23 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I can get to it, but it's not working for me. Gets enabled, shows up on my laptop, but I never get an IP to use.
5th October 2010, 03:26 AM |#9  
philosophics's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Um... Does anyone have gps these days?
Thanks Meter: 161
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherifone

Interestingly enough if you install Launcher Pro or similar you can pop right on over to the Froyo AP settings.

Its very straight-forward, all you need to do is long press your homescreen, create a shortcut/activity that goes directly to the Wifi AP settings, what you are looking for is:

com.android.settings.wifi.WifiApSettings

Its as exactly as you would find on the Nexus One, its just hidden from the standard menus to keep the noobs out I suppose. Hopefully they leave this in, since the cat is out of the bag!

I can't get anything to connect with it though so that's kind of a bust. Nice work on the hunt though!


Sent from my HTC Vision
5th October 2010, 03:39 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
To all of you trying to make it work, it doesn't. Something is disabled in the IP tables or something to that effect. The hotspot menu was removed from the settings.apk from the g2 shipped rom as another way to try and disable hotspot access. Looks like we're getting close!
5th October 2010, 03:40 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Hollywood, FL
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm unable to get it up and running either. I see the SSID, but no valid connection.

Hopefully there's a simple workaround

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
wifi hotspot

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes