FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

This is where our RAM is used

3,435 posts
Thanks Meter: 8,165
 
By hardcore, Senior Member on 6th October 2010, 07:46 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi guys,

Not sure if this has been found yet, but in the dmesg logs you can see how the RAM on the Galaxy S is reserved.

This is from the JPK ROM:

[ 0.000000] S5PV210: PLL settings, A=800000000, M=667000000, E=96000000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 37748736 bytes system memory reserved for mfc at 0x30ec2000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 37748736 bytes system memory reserved for mfc at 0x40204000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 14680064 bytes system memory reserved for fimc0 at 0x42604000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 1048576 bytes system memory reserved for fimc1 at 0x43404000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 12582912 bytes system memory reserved for fimc2 at 0x43504000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 16777216 bytes system memory reserved for pmem at 0x332c2000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 10485760 bytes system memory reserved for pmem_gpu1 at 0x342c2000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 1536000 bytes system memory reserved for pmem_adsp at 0x34cc2000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 5132288 bytes system memory reserved for jpeg at 0x44104000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 10485760 bytes system memory reserved for texstream at 0x445e9000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 3145728 bytes system memory reserved for fimd at 0x44fe9000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 262144 bytes system memory reserved for wifi at 0x34e39000
[ 0.000000] Built 3 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on. Total pages: 117856
[ 0.000000] Kernel command line: console=ttySAC2,115200 loglevel=4
[ 0.000000] PID hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Dentry cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Inode-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Memory: 80MB 256MB 128MB = 464MB total
[ 0.000000] Memory: 308048KB available (9224K code, 1910K data, 2868K init, 0K highmem)

I added up all the "system memory reserved for..." lines and got 151,633,920 bytes (144.6MB) reserved.

So the kernel can definitely see about 464MB of RAM in this case, but only 308,048KB is available.
 
 
6th October 2010, 08:26 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardcore

Hi guys,

Not sure if this has been found yet, but in the dmesg logs you can see how the RAM on the Galaxy S is reserved.

This is from the JPK ROM:

[ 0.000000] S5PV210: PLL settings, A=800000000, M=667000000, E=96000000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 37748736 bytes system memory reserved for mfc at 0x30ec2000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 37748736 bytes system memory reserved for mfc at 0x40204000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 14680064 bytes system memory reserved for fimc0 at 0x42604000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 1048576 bytes system memory reserved for fimc1 at 0x43404000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 12582912 bytes system memory reserved for fimc2 at 0x43504000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 16777216 bytes system memory reserved for pmem at 0x332c2000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 10485760 bytes system memory reserved for pmem_gpu1 at 0x342c2000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 1536000 bytes system memory reserved for pmem_adsp at 0x34cc2000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 5132288 bytes system memory reserved for jpeg at 0x44104000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 10485760 bytes system memory reserved for texstream at 0x445e9000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 3145728 bytes system memory reserved for fimd at 0x44fe9000
[ 0.000000] s5pv210: 262144 bytes system memory reserved for wifi at 0x34e39000
[ 0.000000] Built 3 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on. Total pages: 117856
[ 0.000000] Kernel command line: console=ttySAC2,115200 loglevel=4
[ 0.000000] PID hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Dentry cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Inode-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Memory: 80MB 256MB 128MB = 464MB total
[ 0.000000] Memory: 308048KB available (9224K code, 1910K data, 2868K init, 0K highmem)

I added up all the "system memory reserved for..." lines and got 151,633,920 bytes (144.6MB) reserved.

So the kernel can definitely see about 464MB of RAM in this case, but only 308,048KB is available.


That's interesting. If we take the line:

Memory: 80MB 256MB 128MB = 464MB total as the total memory

So adding it all up:

((464 * 1024 (total memory)) - (9224 + 1910 + 2868 (reserved for kernel) + (144.6 * 1024 (reserved by system) ))) / 1024 = 306 MB (available for apps)

However we should be seeing 512Mb not 464 as the total, so we are missing 48 Mb somewhere.
6th October 2010, 08:44 PM |#3  
Senior Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 311
 
More
I still don't understand how the Galaxy Tab sees 444MB for actual applications.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KoOWPjIel-c look at 4:40 in this video. it clearly shows how much RAM the tab is seeing.
Maybe we should poke inside the TAB's firmware to find out what is different?
The hardware is almost 1:1 with the SGS.
6th October 2010, 08:47 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 205
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardcore

Hi guys,

Not sure if this has been found yet, but in the dmesg logs you can see how the RAM on the Galaxy S is reserved.

Yes, see this thread starting here.
6th October 2010, 08:50 PM |#5  
MCOGW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtoneman

That's interesting. If we take the line:

Memory: 80MB 256MB 128MB = 464MB total as the total memory

So adding it all up:

((464 * 1024 (total memory)) - (9224 + 1910 + 2868 (reserved for kernel) + (144.6 * 1024 (reserved by system) ))) / 1024 = 306 MB (available for apps)

However we should be seeing 512Mb not 464 as the total, so we are missing 48 Mb somewhere.


It's probably the dalvic-cache!

Because "/system/build.prop" says: "dalvik.vm.heapsize=48m"

Just an idea
6th October 2010, 08:59 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
any improvements if we set an higher value for dalvik heapsize?
6th October 2010, 09:18 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCOGW

It's probably the dalvic-cache!

Because "/system/build.prop" says: "dalvik.vm.heapsize=48m"

Just an idea

This is the max heapsize for a single VM...meaning
the single application can allocate max of 48Mb heap before it gets out of memory.

This has nothing to do with RAM reservation
6th October 2010, 09:23 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8,165
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCOGW

It's probably the dalvic-cache!

Because "/system/build.prop" says: "dalvik.vm.heapsize=48m"

Just an idea

No its not the dalvik heapsize. Changing that value doesn't give us more usable RAM.

I'm wondering about the Tab too. I was playing with a prototype and it definitely had more accessible RAM, as one poster said - more than 400MB. Would be good to see the dmesg boot log from a Tab to see what the system reserved and total memory is.
6th October 2010, 09:42 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
According to this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...792512&page=11


there are one 2GBit (256MByte) and 2 x 1GBit (128MByte each) RAM chips totalling 512MBytes on the board. What we need to find out is why the kernel is reporting "Memory: 80MB 256MB 128MB".
i.e. what happened to the 48MByte on one of the 1GBit modules.
6th October 2010, 09:44 PM |#10  
MCOGW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardcore

No its not the dalvik heapsize. Changing that value doesn't give us more usable RAM.

I don't think it's that easy to (really) modifiy this value. I think you need a JTAG to modify this because these are direct parameters for the (smdkc110) chip.
So how did you manage (and verified) this?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes