FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Howto: Rootless 3G Mobile Hotspot - AP/Infrastructure Mode #Free4All

119 posts
Thanks Meter: 51
 
By tekahuna, Senior Member on 6th October 2010, 11:46 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
The DX bootloader situation sucks... Hope this brightens up someones day...

This was tested on a Motorola Droid X Froyo 2.2(OTA) Rooted

Requirements:
Root(just kidding)
Stock 3G Mobile Hotspot Application
EasySwitch(Trial) by SmartDyne(Download from Market)

1. Download and Setup EasySwitch Widget
2. Fire up 3G Mobile Hotspot and wait for it to fully connect up (30 seconds?)
- If this is your first time running through this, open up your browser and go somewhere. You should get the Verizon Self Provisioning page... If not, you're wasting your money.
3. Now use EasySwitch to cycle the Radio *Off* then back *On* (Top row, 4th from the left... you must do this every time after you fire up 3G Mobile Hotspot)

Voila...

I know this process could be refined some... Who wants to help? #Free4All <- That was an invitation for dialog.

setNetworkPreference(ConnectivityManager.TYPE_MOBI LE)

Update 10/9/10 2:55pm PST:

Who has root and more than 5 wireless devices? I only have 4...

/data/misc/wifi/hostapd.conf

max_num_sta = 5 <-- increase this number.

Someone test this...
Last edited by tekahuna; 9th October 2010 at 11:00 PM. Reason: Be a little more friendly...
 
 
6th October 2010, 11:58 PM |#2  
Gimpeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Was Easywidget one of the stock widgets? This may have been some of the bloat I removed.
6th October 2010, 11:59 PM |#3  
Gimpeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:

I believe the solutions is an app that does the following:
setNetworkPreference(ConnectivityManager.TYPE_MOBI LE)

Was that in the buildprop? If so we can just edit it and be done with the process.
7th October 2010, 12:01 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Probably could set up tasker to do something like this
Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
7th October 2010, 12:03 AM |#5  
lu270bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryville, TN
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
or just root the phone and download Wireless Tether for Root Users and be done with it.
7th October 2010, 12:07 AM |#6  
Gimpeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lu270bro

or just root the phone and download Wireless Tether for Root Users and be done with it.

The difference is you get to utilize Infrastructor mode.
7th October 2010, 12:26 AM |#7  
drewden123's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lu270bro

or just root the phone and download Wireless Tether for Root Users and be done with it.

No. Please don't come in a thread acting as if you know everything and have some simple fix with a smart alec response. Wireless Tether is ad-hoc mode, as is Barnacle. This method is access point instead, which some people need specifically as opposed to ad-hoc.
7th October 2010, 12:48 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 51
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimpeh

Was that in the buildprop? If so we can just edit it and be done with the process.

No, not a build.prop thing, it's an application programming thing... Long story short, 3G Mobile Hotspot switches your phone's data connection from "TYPE_MOBILE" to "TYPE_MOBILE_DUN", which shuts down you your data connection unless you you are subscribed to the 3G Mobile Hotspot service. Cycling 3G off/on in EasySwitch switches your data connection back to TYPE_MOBILE, while keeping 3G Mobile Hotspot open.
Last edited by tekahuna; 7th October 2010 at 12:53 AM.
7th October 2010, 12:58 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 51
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewden123

No. Please don't come in a thread acting as if you know everything and have some simple fix with a smart alec response. Wireless Tether is ad-hoc mode, as is Barnacle. This method is access point instead, which some people need specifically as opposed to ad-hoc.

TY... Not to mention 2.2 OTA broke security on both of those apps and made them really flaky... 3GMH has WPA2 and so far seems pretty stable...
7th October 2010, 03:12 AM |#10  
Darkness_Invade's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I turn off and on my 3G and it shuts down my hot spot.
7th October 2010, 05:36 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Wow! Seems like de-railing happens alot around here lately. LOL, so anyway, anyone up for trying to make a tasker profile for this?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes