Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[APP] SmartSMSVibrate

7th October 2010, 02:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
SmartSMSVibrate is an application for Android Phones 2.0+ .

With this application when you receive a Text Message (SMS), SmartSMSVibrate will check if you have your phone in your pocket/holster. If your phone is in a closed environment (in your pocket/holster), then the phone will vibrate. If your phone is in a open environment (on the table), then the phone wont vibrate.

This is done using the proximity sensor.

Try it out, its free on the Market - "SmartSMSVibrate"

More info can be found on my website:

http://carstendressler.com/smartsmsvibrate/
7th October 2010, 02:44 AM   |  #2  
Captainkrtek's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 559
 
1010
2,511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
The link doesnt work "Password Protected" Also im writing an article for the XDA Portal about this app, looks cool!
7th October 2010, 03:47 AM   |  #3  
c00ller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 319
 
2,020 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Anyway to make it work on Android 1.5? My friend is stuck with 1.5 on the Cliq XT until Motorola gets their act together.
7th October 2010, 01:28 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I removed the Password Protected stuff already. Can you check if its gone now?

It should work in 1.5x. I will need to test first.

There was a bug reported, when installing from the Market, the default settings arent getting applied correctly. This causes the app to vibrate all the time. The temp fix is to disable all the settings in the options. Then re-applying them fixes it. I will patch it this evening when I get home (10.7.2010).
Last edited by Carsten4207; 7th October 2010 at 01:30 PM.
7th October 2010, 02:08 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
not working on my evo, always vibrating even after turning all settings off and turning back on
7th October 2010, 02:16 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I just pushed the fix. Version 1.1

For those who have 1.0 installed. There are two ways to fix it. Either uninstall and reinstall the app. Or check all the options, then uncheck them all again. Then apply the settings of your choice.

Please let me know if anything else comes up.

This is my first Android app
7th October 2010, 02:19 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MogulUser13

not working on my evo, always vibrating even after turning all settings off and turning back on

What Android version you running?
7th October 2010, 02:27 PM   |  #8  
dr_marion's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
nice idea..
I've installed it from the market on my HD2 with Android (mattc Leo + Froyo w/Sense 1.8), does not work.
7th October 2010, 02:36 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_marion

nice idea..
I've installed it from the market on my HD2 with Android (mattc Leo + Froyo w/Sense 1.8), does not work.

There is an app on the market called SensorViewer. Install it and get me the readings of the Proximity values when you cover your phone and when you dont have it covered.

Once you can give me that info I can add support for your model.

Thanks
Carsten
7th October 2010, 02:58 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Thumbs up
Doesnt work on 2.1 eclair with Samsung Galaxy S Captivate!
Very Good idea btw

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes