Post Reply

How to? Fascinate Diag mode (QPST/QXDM/CDMA Workshop)

9th October 2010, 06:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Does anyone know information about how to connect the Samsung Fascinate as Diag Mode driver? ie: this type of connection needed for QPST/QXDM/CDMA Workshop.

I tried 'debugging mode' enabled from the settings in the Applications, but it didn't create any new port that would recognize for my phone.

The Epic solution is pretty strait forward

Quote:

Install USB Drivers:
32 Bit or 64 Bit

Put phone into DIAG mode:
Dial ##8778#
Select UART = Modem, USB = Modem.

This doesn't seem to work on Fascinate though.
9th October 2010, 07:23 PM   |  #2  
hetaldp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nashik
Thanks Meter: 22
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Go to Settings - Wireless Networks - Click to Dialup Networking this will also put it in Dialup mode
The Following User Says Thank You to hetaldp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th October 2010, 08:36 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hetaldp

Go to Settings - Wireless Networks - Click to Dialup Networking this will also put it in Dialup mode

wow man, thanks a lot that worked.
10th October 2010, 09:07 PM   |  #4  
hetaldp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nashik
Thanks Meter: 22
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Remember to put it Again Dialup Networking off
15th October 2010, 05:57 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Thank you for the steps. I was also able to get the phone to be read by QPST and CDMA Workshop. The odd thing is that when I tried to read the phone again the next day, none of the software will read the phone. Interestingly, I can see the COM port and the Modem port in the Device Manager, but the software refuses to read the phone. I am wondering if I accidentally changed one of the settings to turn it into UART or something to this effect, but the code that I found for this (##UPST#) does not work on the phone, even with hidden menu enabled. Any suggestions, currently I am stuck with a phone that can only do voice and text, no 3G? Thank you in advance!
22nd October 2010, 01:30 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 81
 
1,084 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
You could try Diag mode


Diag/Testing Mode
*#4636*1111#



QPST sees it, but nothing is editable, in Dial-Up mode?
The Following User Says Thank You to pkopalek For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd October 2010, 07:58 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Thank you for your response! I tried that, it took me to the menu, plugged the phone to the PC, Device Manager shows Samsung Diagnostic Port, I use CDMA Workshop to try to at least read the phone. I connect to the correct COM port, but CDMAWS fails in reading it. I don't get it, it used to work fine with almost the exact same setup. I uninstalled the drivers, reinstalled them, same thing. Wiped the phone, same thing. Kind of frustrating. The only resort I have now is to maybe just get it fully flashed to stock so that I can start from scratch again. Odd, I have never had a phone that was giving me a COM port that phone software consistently fails to read, especially when it worked before. lol. Any assistance with anything else I may try would be greatly appreciated.
14th November 2010, 03:08 PM   |  #8  
shaikhsadik's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
**usbui select Modem.. and
21st February 2011, 01:34 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Bringing this issue up.... I cannot get it to work. I've read tons of threads and everyone says go to Device Manager and click Ports and then change the port on the Samsung to port 1 and it will show up blah blah Blah.... there is no list that says "Ports" in Device Manager. I have this DialUpNetworking thing checked and debug mode and the port1 shows up in QPST but it says "No Phone". And yes all drivers are installed.

Diag/Testing Mode
*#4636*1111# ??????

That doesn't do jack. It just lets me input the numbers and when I press the last #, all the numbers vanish. I need this to work or I have to get a different Phone.
21st February 2011, 01:42 AM   |  #10  
jenisiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Over The Rainbow
Thanks Meter: 34
 
441 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nFiniti

Bringing this issue up.... I cannot get it to work. I've read tons of threads and everyone says go to Device Manager and click Ports and then change the port on the Samsung to port 1 and it will show up blah blah Blah.... there is no list that says "Ports" in Device Manager. I have this DialUpNetworking thing checked and debug mode and the port1 shows up in QPST but it says "No Phone". And yes all drivers are installed.

Diag/Testing Mode
*#4636*1111# ??????

That doesn't do jack. It just lets me input the numbers and when I press the last #, all the numbers vanish. I need this to work or I have to get a different Phone.

Do a search in general...i posted how there. It's like *33 something.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Fascinate General by ThreadRank