FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 25 – May 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Lollipop Xposed Framework Alpha 4 Released

Good news to all Xposed Framework fans. XDA Senior Recognized … more

Do You Rock Two Phones?

A few people in the comments were surprised to find out that a number of the XDA staff actually use two phones … more

Brand Loyalty: OEMs Giveth and Then Taketh Away

The majority of users here at XDA will feel fierce brand loyalty for a company, whether … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[App] Mobile Currency Converter v1.6

13th October 2010, 03:58 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I have created a simple currency converter application with HTC Sense Interface Style.
Exchange rate downloaded from Yahoo! Finance. Downloaded exchange rate cache for user specified period.
All suggestions are welcomed.

Tips:
Do you really need all 153 currencies code supported by Yahoo!?
If not, copy the CurrencyList.csv from the application directory and trim down the file to suit your needs.
This can speed up the startup time too.

Thanks:
Thank you very much eboelzner shared his Sense Interface SDK.
This application is built upon Sense Interface SDK.

Thank you very much the AlphaMobileControls at CodePlex.

Thank you very much stickfigure design the application icon.

Changelog:
  • v1.0 - 13-Oct-2010
    * Initial Release
  • v1.1 - 25-Oct-2010
    * [Bugfix] Exception w/ message "Value cannot be null."
    * [Request] Exchange Conversion Currencies
  • v1.2 - 07-Dec-2010
    * [Bugfix] Incorrect Exchange Rate for some Currencies
  • v1.3 - 28-Jan-2011
    * [Request] Localization for Traditional Chinese
    * [Request] Localization for French
    * [Request] Localization for German
  • v1.4 - 02-Feb-2011
    * [Feature] Language Selector in Settings
  • v1.5 - 06-Feb-2011
    * [Bugfix] Exception w/ message PlatformNotSupportedException
    * [Request] Localization for Indonesian
  • v1.6 - 25-Feb-2011
    * [Request] Localization for Spanish
    * [Request] Localization for Russian
    * [Request] Change Exchange Button to Icon
    * [Request] Update Exchange Rate in Action Menu
    * [Feature] Clear Cache function in Action Menu
    * [Feature] No Cache option in Cache Expiration settings

Prerequisite:
Downloads:
Screenshots:
Last edited by joeylicc; 26th February 2011 at 10:04 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to joeylicc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
13th October 2010, 06:45 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Croydon
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Very nice app, working well on my TD2!
13th October 2010, 10:26 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
works fine on my HD2

could you maybe add the calculation in both directions at the same time

eur - $

$ - eur

otherwise you have to scroll so many times to have both informations
13th October 2010, 12:34 PM |#4  
onesolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
This could be really great if it would be possible to choose more currencies to convert, between 4-6 dependening on available space on the screen, just like the Windows Vista/7 currency gadget
Can you please add this??
13th October 2010, 03:47 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag CAMBRAI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Really nice app ! Thanks a lot.
Can I make two suggestions ? :
- an Invert button, next to the submit one, to add the possibility of inverting the currency,
- possibility to translate the app.

Great job !
13th October 2010, 03:50 PM |#6  
User_99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,036
 
More
Nice app!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer-S

works fine on my HD2

could you maybe add the calculation in both directions at the same time

eur - $

$ - eur

otherwise you have to scroll so many times to have both informations

+ 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicer

- possibility to translate the app.

+1
BTW, for German I could help...
13th October 2010, 11:02 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unhappy Doesn't work on HD2 with Elegancia v5 ROM
Get failure message from the .NET Framework. When trying to the 3.5 version referenced with the tool I get a message stating that a newer version is already installed.
13th October 2010, 11:53 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hallauers

Get failure message from the .NET Framework. When trying to the 3.5 version referenced with the tool I get a message stating that a newer version is already installed.

I think .NET Compact Framework has been installed on your device.
If you're using cooked ROM, it may be cooked into the ROM.
14th October 2010, 02:49 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If we believe the developer is taking courses with Yahoo! Finance (from the same place they pull tab Shares HTC Sense).
14th October 2010, 06:41 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Tel Aviv
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Thumbs up some suggestions
Quote:
Originally Posted by slicer

Really nice app ! Thanks a lot.
Can I make two suggestions ? :
- an Invert button, next to the submit one, to add the possibility of inverting the currency,
- possibility to translate the app.

Great job !

Agree with all the above :)
1. option to have the Scroll more faster/ smoother
2. Option to search the currency by key type
3. option to remember last 3 uses (like in Babylon)
there are some minor stability bugs related to the fact that he doesn't connected to network, but I'm sure that you already aware of those
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
currency converter, finance, sense interface sdk
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes