Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,303 Members 43,249 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[App] Mobile Currency Converter v1.6

Tip us?
 
joeylicc
Old
(Last edited by joeylicc; 26th February 2011 at 10:04 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 110
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Thumbs up [App] Mobile Currency Converter v1.6

I have created a simple currency converter application with HTC Sense Interface Style.
Exchange rate downloaded from Yahoo! Finance. Downloaded exchange rate cache for user specified period.
All suggestions are welcomed.

Tips:
Do you really need all 153 currencies code supported by Yahoo!?
If not, copy the CurrencyList.csv from the application directory and trim down the file to suit your needs.
This can speed up the startup time too.

Thanks:
Thank you very much eboelzner shared his Sense Interface SDK.
This application is built upon Sense Interface SDK.

Thank you very much the AlphaMobileControls at CodePlex.

Thank you very much stickfigure design the application icon.

Changelog:
  • v1.0 - 13-Oct-2010
    * Initial Release
  • v1.1 - 25-Oct-2010
    * [Bugfix] Exception w/ message "Value cannot be null."
    * [Request] Exchange Conversion Currencies
  • v1.2 - 07-Dec-2010
    * [Bugfix] Incorrect Exchange Rate for some Currencies
  • v1.3 - 28-Jan-2011
    * [Request] Localization for Traditional Chinese
    * [Request] Localization for French
    * [Request] Localization for German
  • v1.4 - 02-Feb-2011
    * [Feature] Language Selector in Settings
  • v1.5 - 06-Feb-2011
    * [Bugfix] Exception w/ message PlatformNotSupportedException
    * [Request] Localization for Indonesian
  • v1.6 - 25-Feb-2011
    * [Request] Localization for Spanish
    * [Request] Localization for Russian
    * [Request] Change Exchange Button to Icon
    * [Request] Update Exchange Rate in Action Menu
    * [Feature] Clear Cache function in Action Menu
    * [Feature] No Cache option in Cache Expiration settings

Prerequisite:
Downloads:
Screenshots:
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to joeylicc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mitsi
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 568
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Croydon
Very nice app, working well on my TD2!
Diamond 2 - with CHT2.0 & Enterprise I - WM6.5 Sense 2.5.2016
 
Homer-S
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 182
Join Date: Aug 2006
works fine on my HD2

could you maybe add the calculation in both directions at the same time

eur - $

$ - eur

otherwise you have to scroll so many times to have both informations
 
onesolo
Old
#4  
onesolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 1,822
Join Date: Apr 2006
This could be really great if it would be possible to choose more currencies to convert, between 4-6 dependening on available space on the screen, just like the Windows Vista/7 currency gadget
Can you please add this??
Main phones:
Motorola CD930 -> Nokia 8210 -> Nokia 3310 -> Nokia 6310 -> Nokia 6310i -> Nokia 7650 -> Nokia 3650 -> SonyEricsson P800 ->
Qtek S200 -> HTC Touch Pro -> (SonyEricsson k800i) -> HTC Touch HD ->HTC Desire HD -> Samsung Galaxy SIII -> Google Nexus 5 (current)
 
slicer
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CAMBRAI
Really nice app ! Thanks a lot.
Can I make two suggestions ? :
- an Invert button, next to the submit one, to add the possibility of inverting the currency,
- possibility to translate the app.

Great job !
 
User_99
Old
#6  
User_99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 921
Posts: 2,216
Join Date: Jul 2009
Nice app!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer-S View Post
works fine on my HD2

could you maybe add the calculation in both directions at the same time

eur - $

$ - eur

otherwise you have to scroll so many times to have both informations
+ 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicer View Post
- possibility to translate the app.
+1
BTW, for German I could help...
Device: Sony Ericsson xPeria Arc S -- Rom: CM10Hasty@10-11-2013 -- Base: CM 10 - Linaro/O3/BIONIC Optimization - GCC 4.9 -- Radio: 77 -- Kernel: 2.6.32.60
Device: Samsung Galaxy Note GT-7000 -- Rom: Paranoid 2.56@20-12-2012 -- Base: CM 10-PA -- Radio: BOLT1 -- Kernel: Stock-PA
Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 8 GT-N5100 -- Rom: Stock 4.1.2 -- Base: Stock -- Radio: Stock -- Kernel: Stock
 
hallauers
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2007
Unhappy Doesn't work on HD2 with Elegancia v5 ROM

Get failure message from the .NET Framework. When trying to the 3.5 version referenced with the tool I get a message stating that a newer version is already installed.
 
joeylicc
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 110
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by hallauers View Post
Get failure message from the .NET Framework. When trying to the 3.5 version referenced with the tool I get a message stating that a newer version is already installed.
I think .NET Compact Framework has been installed on your device.
If you're using cooked ROM, it may be cooked into the ROM.
 
kongocui
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2006
If we believe the developer is taking courses with Yahoo! Finance (from the same place they pull tab Shares HTC Sense).
HTC phone tips and tricks: HTC
droid
htc evo 4g
 
ys222
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 341
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tel Aviv
Thumbs up some suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicer View Post
Really nice app ! Thanks a lot.
Can I make two suggestions ? :
- an Invert button, next to the submit one, to add the possibility of inverting the currency,
- possibility to translate the app.

Great job !
Agree with all the above :)
1. option to have the Scroll more faster/ smoother
2. Option to search the currency by key type
3. option to remember last 3 uses (like in Babylon)
there are some minor stability bugs related to the fact that he doesn't connected to network, but I'm sure that you already aware of those
Yinnon Sharon



Tags
currency converter, finance, sense interface sdk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes