Post Reply

[App] Download T-Mobile Wifi-Calling App from G2 here !

OP jroid

13th October 2010, 05:05 AM   |  #1  
jroid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
1,344 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Everyone's been asking about it. Everyone wants it. Here it is, the wifi calling app from the G2! I've installed and runs perfectly fine on my vibrant running JP3 froyo 2.2. My home network is weak so i can't really test yet. Kudos to @Official_Drizzy for the .apk
Install with your preferred method of install, I used astro just fine, or push it to /system/app via adb. Whatever floats your boat.

enjoy
Attached Files
File Type: apk WiFiCalling.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.32 MB, 25362 views)
Last edited by jroid; 13th October 2010 at 05:10 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th October 2010, 05:07 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
I wonder if this would work on Bionix 1.8? I don't mind testing, but if anyone knows the answer...
13th October 2010, 05:11 AM   |  #3  
jroid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
1,344 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuapurcell

I wonder if this would work on Bionix 1.8? I don't mind testing, but if anyone knows the answer...

just install it, it won't hurt to try. If it doesn't, then remove it.
The Following User Says Thank You to jroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th October 2010, 05:24 AM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Doesn't look like it works at the moment... the app gets to the point where it says 'Enabling...' and doesn't do anything after that. It never goes unresponsive though. I'll keep messing around and see what happens.
13th October 2010, 05:30 AM   |  #5  
itsjusttim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 175
 
1,809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
It is being discussed in another thread... But it won't work yet with the vibrant. Something to do with the kernal.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
13th October 2010, 05:35 AM   |  #6  
Master™'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,237
 
3,211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjusttim

It is being discussed in another thread... But it won't work yet with the vibrant. Something to do with the kernal.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

I thought it had to do with localhost?
13th October 2010, 05:36 AM   |  #7  
darkknight49's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Daly City, CA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Perhaps it only works on 2.2

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
13th October 2010, 05:38 AM   |  #8  
jzero88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orange County
Thanks Meter: 152
 
1,137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Would love to get this thing working. Once it is, would it be possible to call using 3G instead of WIFI? Haven't they done it on Skype.

I wouldn't also mind having Skype work for my Vibrant either
13th October 2010, 05:39 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
504 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Looks like im going back to Froyo!
13th October 2010, 05:42 AM   |  #10  
masterotaku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spartanburg S.C.
Thanks Meter: 64
 
440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzero88

Would love to get this thing working. Once it is, would it be possible to call using 3G instead of WIFI? Haven't they done it on Skype.

I wouldn't also mind having Skype work for my Vibrant either

The Wifi calling app is merely using your Wifi as a poor-man's femtocell to allow you to have clear voice calls if your in areas where decent voice signal isn't available and Wifi is. Granted, this would also have significant benefits when roaming or traveling where Wifi is available too...

But....

This uses the minutes allocated in your service plan.... So being hacked to run on 3g would be pointless...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes