FORUMS

NVIDIA Launches SHIELD Android TV at Google I/O

Since Android TV was announced at Google I/O 2014, there has been very little activity … more

Devs Beware – Automatic Backup Privacy Risks

One new feature of “Android M” (speculation on potential names welcomed … more

Android M to Bring New App Drawer

It has now been seen that Android M will receive a new app drawer as part of the stock … more

Which IO Announcement Are You Most Excited About?

The keynote we had all been waiting for has just ended and it’s time to enjoy … more

[App] Download T-Mobile Wifi-Calling App from G2 here !

Thanks Meter: 86
 
By jroid, Senior Member on 13th October 2010, 05:05 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Everyone's been asking about it. Everyone wants it. Here it is, the wifi calling app from the G2! I've installed and runs perfectly fine on my vibrant running JP3 froyo 2.2. My home network is weak so i can't really test yet. Kudos to @Official_Drizzy for the .apk
Install with your preferred method of install, I used astro just fine, or push it to /system/app via adb. Whatever floats your boat.

enjoy
Attached Files
File Type: apk WiFiCalling.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.32 MB, 28612 views)
File Type: apk WiFiCalling.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.32 MB, 28612 views)
Last edited by jroid; 13th October 2010 at 05:10 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
13th October 2010, 05:07 AM |#2  
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I wonder if this would work on Bionix 1.8? I don't mind testing, but if anyone knows the answer...
13th October 2010, 05:11 AM |#3  
jroid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuapurcell

I wonder if this would work on Bionix 1.8? I don't mind testing, but if anyone knows the answer...

just install it, it won't hurt to try. If it doesn't, then remove it.
The Following User Says Thank You to jroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th October 2010, 05:24 AM |#4  
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Doesn't look like it works at the moment... the app gets to the point where it says 'Enabling...' and doesn't do anything after that. It never goes unresponsive though. I'll keep messing around and see what happens.
13th October 2010, 05:30 AM |#5  
itsjusttim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 175
 
Donate to Me
More
It is being discussed in another thread... But it won't work yet with the vibrant. Something to do with the kernal.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
13th October 2010, 05:35 AM |#6  
Master™'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,237
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjusttim

It is being discussed in another thread... But it won't work yet with the vibrant. Something to do with the kernal.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

I thought it had to do with localhost?
13th October 2010, 05:36 AM |#7  
darkknight49's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Perhaps it only works on 2.2

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
13th October 2010, 05:38 AM |#8  
jzero88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orange County
Thanks Meter: 168
 
More
Would love to get this thing working. Once it is, would it be possible to call using 3G instead of WIFI? Haven't they done it on Skype.

I wouldn't also mind having Skype work for my Vibrant either
13th October 2010, 05:39 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Looks like im going back to Froyo!
13th October 2010, 05:42 AM |#10  
masterotaku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spartanburg S.C.
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzero88

Would love to get this thing working. Once it is, would it be possible to call using 3G instead of WIFI? Haven't they done it on Skype.

I wouldn't also mind having Skype work for my Vibrant either

The Wifi calling app is merely using your Wifi as a poor-man's femtocell to allow you to have clear voice calls if your in areas where decent voice signal isn't available and Wifi is. Granted, this would also have significant benefits when roaming or traveling where Wifi is available too...

But....

This uses the minutes allocated in your service plan.... So being hacked to run on 3g would be pointless...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes