Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,529 Members 40,417 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HELP: My Kies says I have a FW Upgrade Available

Tip us?
 
ppeccin
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 73
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default HELP: My Kies says I have a FW Upgrade Available

But it does NOT say to which FW it will upgrade.
It just says "Firmware Upgrade Notification" and a bunch of warnings about data loss.

Can't I see which new FW is available anymore?
Or can I just click Upgrade and another screen with FW information and further confirmation will pop up?

Thanks,
Paulo
 
ppeccin
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 73
Join Date: Aug 2010
Solved....
Had the guts to click "Upgrade" and another screen pops with further confirmation.

Now I'm totally confused.
It offered me to upgrade to JM2.
I thought that JM2 was a test release, isn't it????

I thought that official versions always followed the pattern JF, JG, JH.... but never JM or JP.

Can someone give some light?

Thanks
 
dovla_sa
Old
#3  
dovla_sa's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 64
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Adelaide, Australia
JM2 is not a test release. My German unbranded Galaxy S came with JM2.
Galaxy S2
 
RMCA
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 75
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dovla_sa View Post
JM2 is not a test release. My German unbranded Galaxy S came with JM2.

Same goes for my dutch SGS
 
Barachiel
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 56
Join Date: May 2009
2.2 is downloadable through Kies now.
 
Adevem
Old
#6  
Adevem's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 1,298
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barachiel View Post
2.2 is downloadable through Kies now.
are you sure you're not in test mode on kies?

or you've probably forgetten about the hostfiles trick previously ;p


Sony Xperia Z2

 
Sharken
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 55
Join Date: Oct 2010
Can confirm that Froyo (2.2) is available here in Denmark through Kies. Upgrade went without problems.

Hopefully this will fix issues with connecting to certain wifi routers...
 
perryman
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2006
Froyo also available in Norway trough Kies. Not test mode.

But seem to be missing Android Market... Anyone else got that problem?
 
Sharken
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 55
Join Date: Oct 2010
Android Market also missing here in Denmark. AppBrain App Market reports that Market is not installed. I hope they fix this soon :/
 
plichtousek
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Prague
try wipe, it should work
Samsung Galaxy S

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...