Smart Lock for Chrome Now Available for Chromebooks

Android 5.0 Lollipop introduced a useful feature titled Smart Lock, which kept your … more

Alibaba Breathes New Life Into Game-Console Maker Ouya

After asuccessful KickStarter campaign, Android console Ouya failed to become a … more

Use JSON to Dynamically Load Layouts with json2view

You normally use XML layouts for your applications, but what if you need a simpler way to … more

OnePlus Teases Their New ROM, OxygenOS

OnePlus went back to the drawing board tocreate a ROM that they promisewill be open,customizable, and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HELP: My Kies says I have a FW Upgrade Available

OP ppeccin

15th October 2010, 06:06 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
But it does NOT say to which FW it will upgrade.
It just says "Firmware Upgrade Notification" and a bunch of warnings about data loss.

Can't I see which new FW is available anymore?
Or can I just click Upgrade and another screen with FW information and further confirmation will pop up?

Thanks,
Paulo
15th October 2010, 06:24 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Solved....
Had the guts to click "Upgrade" and another screen pops with further confirmation.

Now I'm totally confused.
It offered me to upgrade to JM2.
I thought that JM2 was a test release, isn't it????

I thought that official versions always followed the pattern JF, JG, JH.... but never JM or JP.

Can someone give some light?

Thanks
15th October 2010, 07:22 AM   |  #3  
dovla_sa's Avatar
Member
Flag Adelaide, Australia
Thanks Meter: 5
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
JM2 is not a test release. My German unbranded Galaxy S came with JM2.
15th October 2010, 07:43 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dovla_sa

JM2 is not a test release. My German unbranded Galaxy S came with JM2.


Same goes for my dutch SGS
15th October 2010, 07:47 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
2.2 is downloadable through Kies now.
15th October 2010, 07:50 AM   |  #6  
Adevem's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
1,299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barachiel

2.2 is downloadable through Kies now.

are you sure you're not in test mode on kies?

or you've probably forgetten about the hostfiles trick previously ;p
15th October 2010, 09:12 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Can confirm that Froyo (2.2) is available here in Denmark through Kies. Upgrade went without problems.

Hopefully this will fix issues with connecting to certain wifi routers...
15th October 2010, 09:16 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Froyo also available in Norway trough Kies. Not test mode.

But seem to be missing Android Market... Anyone else got that problem?
15th October 2010, 09:25 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Android Market also missing here in Denmark. AppBrain App Market reports that Market is not installed. I hope they fix this soon :/
15th October 2010, 09:28 AM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 1
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
try wipe, it should work

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes