Droid Turbo Rooted, Bezel-less Oppo R7 Seen – XDA TV

The post Droid Turbo Rooted, Bezel-less Oppo R7 Seen – XDA TV appeared first on xda-developers. … more

LG G4 Note Leaks

The post LG G4 Note Leaks appeared first on xda-developers. … more

Compact Volume Panel for CM12

The post Compact Volume Panel for CM12 appeared first on xda-developers. … more

HTC M9 Roundup: Availability and Prices

The post HTC M9 Roundup: Availability and Prices appeared first on xda-developers. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] How to create back-up of phone, to put on new phone?

15th October 2010, 01:17 PM   |  #1  
id_twin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 59
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Was drinking last night and went outside. Managed to drop my phone face first onto the concrete. The screen is cracked now, but is still functional. So this raises two questions:

1) Before filing insurance claim, should I return phone fully to stock?

2) How should/would I go about backing up my apps, and data, so that when I get the new phone I can just transfer them to it?

Thanks for the help.
15th October 2010, 01:20 PM   |  #2  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 2,159
 
2,566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by id_twin

Was drinking last night and went outside. Managed to drop my phone face first onto the concrete. The screen is cracked now, but is still functional. So this raises two questions:

1) Before filing insurance claim, should I return phone fully to stock?

2) How should/would I go about backing up my apps, and data, so that when I get the new phone I can just transfer them to it?

Thanks for the help.

Titanium backup (free, from the market) should work for backup.
15th October 2010, 01:48 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, OH
Thanks Meter: 18
 
713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
install clockwork mod recovery, nandroid backup backs up your entire phone in the Backup and Restore menu
15th October 2010, 03:02 PM   |  #4  
id_twin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 59
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I know how to use titanium, and do nandroid. What i'm asking is how to transfer that information to the new phone that I will be getting.
15th October 2010, 03:06 PM   |  #5  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 2,159
 
2,566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by id_twin

I know how to use titanium, and do nandroid. What i'm asking is how to transfer that information to the new phone that I will be getting.

Both methods offer a restore function. Install the program of your choice, then select restore. keep a copy of your sdcard of course...
15th October 2010, 03:52 PM   |  #6  
id_twin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 59
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Lol, Jocala thanks - I never even thought about everything being stored on the sd card. Your the man
15th October 2010, 10:13 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
thats great- I did not realized you could a nandroid backup and place it on another phone- that would be a nice way to produce some clones!
15th October 2010, 11:15 PM   |  #8  
mattallica76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hanover, Pa
Thanks Meter: 321
 
2,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyz

thats great- I did not realized you could a nandroid backup and place it on another phone- that would be a nice way to produce some clones!

I've done this before but you have to remember when restoring the backup to the new phone, that the kernel is on the boot partition that is not part of the backup. You have to flash the same kernel you were using on the other phone.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes