5,601,223 Members 51,081 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to create back-up of phone, to put on new phone?

Tip us?
 
id_twin
Old
#1  
id_twin's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 314
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Default [Q] How to create back-up of phone, to put on new phone?

Was drinking last night and went outside. Managed to drop my phone face first onto the concrete. The screen is cracked now, but is still functional. So this raises two questions:

1) Before filing insurance claim, should I return phone fully to stock?

2) How should/would I go about backing up my apps, and data, so that when I get the new phone I can just transfer them to it?

Thanks for the help.
 
jocala
Old
#2  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1975
Posts: 2,140
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ocala

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by id_twin View Post
Was drinking last night and went outside. Managed to drop my phone face first onto the concrete. The screen is cracked now, but is still functional. So this raises two questions:

1) Before filing insurance claim, should I return phone fully to stock?

2) How should/would I go about backing up my apps, and data, so that when I get the new phone I can just transfer them to it?

Thanks for the help.
Titanium backup (free, from the market) should work for backup.
 
scriz
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 682
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dayton, OH

 
DONATE TO ME
install clockwork mod recovery, nandroid backup backs up your entire phone in the Backup and Restore menu
Current phone: White Note 2
Rom: Cyanogenmod
 
id_twin
Old
#4  
id_twin's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 314
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denver, CO
I know how to use titanium, and do nandroid. What i'm asking is how to transfer that information to the new phone that I will be getting.
 
jocala
Old
#5  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1975
Posts: 2,140
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ocala

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by id_twin View Post
I know how to use titanium, and do nandroid. What i'm asking is how to transfer that information to the new phone that I will be getting.
Both methods offer a restore function. Install the program of your choice, then select restore. keep a copy of your sdcard of course...
 
id_twin
Old
#6  
id_twin's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 314
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Lol, Jocala thanks - I never even thought about everything being stored on the sd card. Your the man
 
jimmyz
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 358
Join Date: Jun 2007
thats great- I did not realized you could a nandroid backup and place it on another phone- that would be a nice way to produce some clones!
Touch Pro2 (Rhodium)
Sprint
 
mattallica76
Old
#8  
mattallica76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 321
Posts: 2,338
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hanover, Pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyz View Post
thats great- I did not realized you could a nandroid backup and place it on another phone- that would be a nice way to produce some clones!
I've done this before but you have to remember when restoring the backup to the new phone, that the kernel is on the boot partition that is not part of the backup. You have to flash the same kernel you were using on the other phone.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...