Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM] [Huawei U8100] [Froyo] Climbing Mount Impropable beta 1 [2010-10-15]

OP kallt_kaffe

15th October 2010, 08:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Climbing Mount Impropable beta 2

DOWNLOAD: CMI_beta2.zip

Tested on U8100 but propably works on U8120 aswell. Doesn't work well on T-mobile pulse mini but may work on other U8110 phones.

Kernel
- 2.6.32.9
- Based on source for U8150
- Tweaked touchscreen driver calibration to work fine on my U8100.
- Enabled swap
- Enabled EXT3 (if I add a2sd later)
- Added swap_notify support for compcache
- Added LZO support for compcache
- No overclocking yet (will have a look at it later)

Android
- Android 2.2 based on Australian U8150 ROM
- Support for tons of languages
- HVGA hacked Market
- Updated/added several Google apps (Gmail, VoiceSearch, GestureSearch, Street view, Maps)
- root:ed
- Added busybox, nano, bash etc...

Not working
- Wifi (U8150 has a BCM chip, U8100/10/20 uses an Atheros chip, I'm working on it)
- FM Radio (no app was included and 2.1 app depends on stuff in the framework)

Compcache
See post #3

Swap
To enable swap on partition 3 or partition 2 (it will check partition 3 first and if it doesn't exist it will try partition 2)
$ su
# sdswap.sh enable

$ su
# sdswap.sh disable
Last edited by kallt_kaffe; 15th October 2010 at 09:14 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kallt_kaffe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th October 2010, 09:11 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Installation

1. Flash a recovery image (tested with AmonRA.)

2. Copy the .zip file to your MicroSD card and boot the phone into recovery mode (call+volume-up+power)

3. Choose "Flash zip from sdcard" and choose the zip you just copied.

4. Wipe data+cache before rebooting if it the first install of this ROM. When upgrading with future updates you propably won't need to wipe again.
Last edited by kallt_kaffe; 15th October 2010 at 09:13 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kallt_kaffe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th October 2010, 09:12 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Compcache

If you are using are allready using a swap partition on your SD-card, then you most likely shouldn't enable compcache. But if you do not want to partition your SD-card then compcache can be a good alternative.

Read more about how Compcache works here: http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/index.php?title=Compcache

Enable compcache
In a terminal or using an adb shell type this:
$ su
# compcache.sh enable

Type free to confirm you now have 32Mb swap

Disable compcache
In a terminal or using an adb shell type this:
$ su
# compcache.sh disable

Type free to confirm you now have 0Mb swap

Advanced users
Compcache size, settings and swappiness is setup in /system/bin/compcache.sh
If you are an advanced user, you'll know how to proceed from here...
The Following User Says Thank You to kallt_kaffe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th October 2010, 09:13 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Reserved for the future part 3
The Following User Says Thank You to kallt_kaffe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th October 2010, 10:00 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Is the Vodafone 845 One of them?
16th October 2010, 06:53 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggerbigboy

Is the Vodafone 845 One of them?

Vodafone 845 is a U8120 and I believe it should work on it.
16th October 2010, 08:50 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I installed on a U8110 from Yoigo (Spain) and It worked all except the sound, which allways sound as a white noise and the wifi wasn't work either.

I had to remove the rom because of the sound. I'll try it again in the next beta.

Best Regards
16th October 2010, 10:18 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Hi Kalt_Kaffee..
by my Vodafone 845 is by beta2 the same. Booting ok. Tutorial ok. Phone after first boot freeze. After second boot i can a little bit longer test. Phone and gprs working. After open Devtools freeze and reboots.
Waiting to Beta3
Christian
16th October 2010, 03:17 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
the u8120 get crashed when i touch the touchpad...all other keys working fine
16th October 2010, 03:43 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgunman

the u8120 get crashed when i touch the touchpad...all other keys working fine

With touchpad you mean the optical d-pad?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes