5,605,187 Members 37,915 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How To] Install The New GOT Update On Milestone

Tip us?
 
protozeloz
Old
(Last edited by protozeloz; 28th October 2010 at 04:41 PM.)
#1  
protozeloz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 139
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default [How To] Install The New GOT Update On Milestone

Hello My Friends I've Heard You Are Having Troubler Installing The New Upgrade Or Understanding What Is Needed To Be Done.
Note: THIS IS A WINDOWS BASED HOW TO AND WILL WORK ON WINDOWS ONLY

Before I Start I must Say, This Is a combination of process and I have not created any of those files or own the right to them so all the links are the same links found on other posts from where i got the info, so by downloading those files you are, supporting them not me i take no credit for this work

Well Here Is the quick Easy Guide In How To Do This

-Fist we Need To Get The Tools To Perform This Operation
pulled From This Tread we need

1. Motorola Drivers For Either 32 or 64 Bits
2. RSD Lite, witch is a tool for flashing your phone.
3. The GOT Open Recovery ToolUpdate: Added Latest version from G.O.T.'S Blog
4.The Firmware Files From Got
EDIT: G.O.T. Has Added the burnerable open recovery to these sfb files so no need to flash it latter

-Now That We Have The Stuff We Need We are going to do it, fist i must say that unlike other roms that are applied by a backup restore (corect me if im whrong) this is a full flash and its going to reset everything so no apps will remain no setting will remain and is highly recommended that you uninstall every app you have, don't back them up(except for apps some apps that have a create backup file, those seem to work) just uninstall them, and when we are done have them installed again, Here Is A Tool That Will Help You Get There Faster

1.ok you have everything uninstalled right? now time for some action

2.install the proper divers (32 or 64)

3.install the RSD Lite tool

4.unzip the 2.2.1 FIRMWARE FILES you downloaded and you will find a ".sbf" file

5.now connect your phone to USB cable and turn it off

6.boot it in boot-loader mode (press the D-PAD UP key while pressing the power button), some night need you to release the button after a minute, a black screen will be shown on your phone and you will see the divers being installed on your computer.

7.when drivers are done open the RSD Lite tool and your device should appear you can click on it to see details.

8.now click on the "..." buttons that are close to the start button and look for the ".sbf" file, after a couple of seconds it should be ready to start
9.press the start button and do not unplug the cable or let your computer show the screen saver or go to sleep, the posses must not be stopped while it has started .
10.when the posses is done the devise will restart and voala, you have 2.2

-As GOT stands there are some bugs on the firmware and they have developed a fix to them and get root and overclock, here is what you have to do.

1. unzip the got open recovery tool into the root of your SD card

2.check this quote
Quote:
NOTE: On some devices, we have encountered that rooting directly after flashing without rebooting after the initial flash can bring some issues with RootExplorer not asking for root permissions. To be safe, reboot after flash so that the “welcome to milestone” menu comes up, set up the device in general, then reboot to recovery and root the device as well as apply our 2.2.1 tweaks with Launcher, Services.jar fix and Wireless Tethering app.
this means if the fist time your milestone got restarted and you saw "Welcome to Milestone" Message You are good an you can root.

but if you didn't then restart you phone and see if the message comes out, if not , a factory reset should have that scree message shown.

3. open the open recovery by pressing camera and power button at the same time while the device id off. you should see a scree with a "!" symbol on it then press fist volume rocker up button a leave it pressed then press camera button, some letter will pop out.

4. using the pad scroll down to "apply update.zip", after a couple of seconds the GOT menu should pop out (everything from now on uses the pad)


5.root your phone (why not)

6.go down to "Launch 2.2.1 Menu" Option.

7.Here you will see the "Fix Bugs They Are Talking About
Quote:
One of the first things you should do is use the “Fix 2.2.1 bugs” selection in the new OR 2.2.1 menu after you flash the sbf file.
This tweak will fix some of the issues with the generic sbf build such as dual USB notifications, replacing some stock Motorola applications such as the old launcher/mediagallery and adding the Wireless Tethering application.
8. there is the overclock too.

Now your device should have all the things you need to start playing with it,I encourage you to check on some tweaks the GOT team might have, and you might want.

I Hope This Was Helpful enjoy ^_^
To Do For This thread:
Code:
1. Make It More Easy To Use, and clear to read 
2. Add Suggestions
3. Add screenshots
4. Add Other OS Options
5. Add Attachments (For Some reason I Can't Now)


Please Post And Rate If This Was Useful
HTC Fuze with att manila, winmo 6.1 and some manila tweaks

Thanks XDAndroid Team For Making Our Phones Look So Great
XDAndroid Is Not A Right Its A Privilege
Motorola Milestone(Europe Version) with Moto Frezy v0.52
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to protozeloz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
protozeloz
Old
(Last edited by protozeloz; 3rd November 2010 at 02:40 PM.)
#2  
protozeloz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 139
Join Date: Oct 2009
Bug Counter:
Common Problems Found On Thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=810726

1. AppBrain Market Sync Not Connecting To server.
2. Google Chrome To Phone Not Working.
3. WiFi Having Trouble To Connect On Some Routers, Sometimes Not Connecting At All on WPA2
4. Activating The Camera From The The Albums Will "Force Close"
5. Facebook Sync Is Not Working
6. The menu button on the keyboard activates the voice recognition option, and cannot be used to trigger shortcuts anymore (To me its more like a change on the way the keyboard works instead of a bug since you can use the menu button on the screen to trigger keyboard shortcuts)
7. No Vibration On key press
8. Russian Language Will Have Problems with phone and contacts apps
9. problem with android id

If Any Of Those Work On Yours Please Report Witch version you installed maybe yours can help fix others,you think you found a bug and its not listed? post it here and post


Fixing Problems:

1. Problem with android ID:
A. If Not Installed The Update Yet(Needs Root)
-Install This AppAndroidID
-Back your android ID up, and put ir somewhere safe
-follow the guide to update to froyo
-Install This App againAndroidID
-restore your android id
B. If Already did it(Needs Root)
-install this appAndroidID
-invent a number that might serve as your android ID (you need numbers and letters)
-input it on the app
HTC Fuze with att manila, winmo 6.1 and some manila tweaks

Thanks XDAndroid Team For Making Our Phones Look So Great
XDAndroid Is Not A Right Its A Privilege
Motorola Milestone(Europe Version) with Moto Frezy v0.52
 
November91
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Aalen
okay nice tut, butttttt... im stuck at the part where i should install openrecovery. at first, to come to the "!" screen, camera screen + power did not work. i got there by pressing X + Power... but now i dont know how to access the menu where i should install update.zip..

please help!
 
November91
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Aalen
Quote:
Originally Posted by November91 View Post
okay nice tut, butttttt... im stuck at the part where i should install openrecovery. at first, to come to the "!" screen, camera screen + power did not work. i got there by pressing X + Power... but now i dont know how to access the menu where i should install update.zip..

please help!
okay i got it, im so sorry, i used the up button on the dpad
 
FoTwoZero
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 68
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Also I did not see a launch 2.2.1 menu option. But I have currently launched the GOT open recov without an issue. I have rooted as well as many other things but didn't see that specific menu.
 
protozeloz
Old
#6  
protozeloz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 139
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoTwoZero View Post
Also I did not see a launch 2.2.1 menu option. But I have currently launched the GOT open recov without an issue. I have rooted as well as many other things but didn't see that specific menu.
Silly question are you suing the newest version?

if you press down should on the open recovery menu it should be your sixth option, I have recorded a video about it this morning but its backwards I'm Going To Try And Have it Fixed and up today hopefully
HTC Fuze with att manila, winmo 6.1 and some manila tweaks

Thanks XDAndroid Team For Making Our Phones Look So Great
XDAndroid Is Not A Right Its A Privilege
Motorola Milestone(Europe Version) with Moto Frezy v0.52
 
gbzygil
Old
#7  
gbzygil's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Atlanta
Default For Tmobile USA ?

Which SBF for a german Mlestone on TMobile USA ? Will telus do fine ?
 
protozeloz
Old
#8  
protozeloz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 139
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbzygil View Post
Which SBF for a german Mlestone on TMobile USA ? Will telus do fine ?
your Should use the rom depending on which band your phone has

German milestone should work with Europe ROM

under setting about phone check the Build Number

and look for that same number in here

http://and-developers.com/sbf:milestone

it will give us an idea where the phone is actually from
HTC Fuze with att manila, winmo 6.1 and some manila tweaks

Thanks XDAndroid Team For Making Our Phones Look So Great
XDAndroid Is Not A Right Its A Privilege
Motorola Milestone(Europe Version) with Moto Frezy v0.52
 
plvt_florian
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2008
hi there. i have instaled europe GOT_RTEU_2_2_1FULL.zip version and now sometimes my touchscreen does not work. i mean that if i put the phone in standby and i try to unlock the touchscreen is not responding. i have to power off/on to make it work again. thanks in advance
 
hanslast
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 73
Join Date: Nov 2008
Facebook app wont Synch with my contacts on first launch of FB app.

No other bugs so far...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more