Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Google TV hack!

OP Apeman42

25th October 2010, 02:06 PM   |  #51  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
It would be nice to get the rom and see if the Amazon VOD and Netflix apps are bytecode for other Android devices.
25th October 2010, 05:41 PM   |  #52  
Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
iFixIt Teardown of Revue reveals UART connector
In the upper right corner of the Revue motherboard shown in iFixIt's teardown, there is a four pin connector marked UART1, near J4. We can hope it's a serial console... I'll take mine apart tonight (assuming UPS drops it off today) and find out .

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Logit...evisionid=HEAD

There is also a footprint for a SATA connector, which could open up some possibilities for a DVR.
Last edited by hharte; 25th October 2010 at 05:45 PM.
25th October 2010, 06:11 PM   |  #53  
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 14
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I bought a Revue yesterday, and absolutely love it. There certainly are current limitations, but I'm sure all will be overcome soon enough, given the Android OS. Perhaps I'm most excited about the potential!

I'll be doing a lot of tinkering, and will see what I can get into with ADB later tonight.
25th October 2010, 08:03 PM   |  #54  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaze00

It did do an OTA update when I first booted, didn't appear ot be anyway to skip it.

I managed to capture the OTA link for the revue unit. Unlike the Sony device, the Revue does not ask you for permission to d/l the link (mandatory update maybe ?)

http://android.clients.google.com/pa...ate-b39389.zip

I have not had time to poke into yet....have fun
25th October 2010, 09:15 PM   |  #55  
jmlott's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Awesome! Thank you for grabbing this. It would have been nice if the flash apk was in there so the person who modded the android version could do the same here and give us Hulu, etc back. That said, we would still need to figure out how to get into recovery on the Revue and manually apply the update.zip. Anyway, we are one step closer now. Thank you again.
25th October 2010, 10:19 PM   |  #56  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by zonyl

It would be nice to get the rom and see if the Amazon VOD and Netflix apps are bytecode for other Android devices.

Tada!

Netflix refuses to install, however, the Amazon VOD app installed fine. Apparently it doesnt register to the Launcher intent, so Ill have to do some digging tonight to see how to get it working.
Attached Files
File Type: apk Amazon.apk - [Click for QR Code] (78.2 KB, 135 views)
File Type: apk Netflix.apk - [Click for QR Code] (7.6 KB, 107 views)
25th October 2010, 10:53 PM   |  #57  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zonyl

Tada!

Netflix refuses to install, however, the Amazon VOD app installed fine. Apparently it doesnt register to the Launcher intent, so Ill have to do some digging tonight to see how to get it working.

How are you installing the APK's ? ADB or through the browser ?


NVM...I thought you were installing those APK's on the GTV box, not on other Android device.
Last edited by twobit; 25th October 2010 at 10:57 PM.
25th October 2010, 11:05 PM   |  #58  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zonyl

Tada!

Netflix refuses to install, however, the Amazon VOD app installed fine. Apparently it doesnt register to the Launcher intent, so Ill have to do some digging tonight to see how to get it working.

Did you deodex netflix ?
25th October 2010, 11:26 PM   |  #59  
Member
Flag Holiday
Thanks Meter: 3
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Anyone try getting the Revue into recovery with the power button trick? I'm going to give it a shot shortly
25th October 2010, 11:38 PM   |  #60  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagmier

Anyone try getting the Revue into recovery with the power button trick? I'm going to give it a shot shortly

I tried to find the power button but couldnt, so I didnt try this out

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes