Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Don’t Forget About Birthdays with Birthday Reminder

A person’s birthday is, without a doubt,one of the most important days in his … more

Don’t Fear Flashing with I Don’t Want You!

The XDA message boards are full of various modifications, with many of these helping … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Help! Droid 2 stuck in boot loop.(solved.)

OP scrshaw

20th October 2010, 08:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Ok, so I was playing around with the new Root Tools app and made a few, what I thought were safe, tweeks to the system and rebooted the phone. It gets past the M screen, runs the boot animation and then starts the boot animation again. No way out except to pull the battery.

How can I get it out of this endless bootloop? If I have to factory reset and start again from scratch, so be it. I would just like to know how.

I've tried holding down different button combinations on boot but haven't come up with the right sequence I guess.
I've also tried pulling the battery as the animation starts, then putting it back in and rebooting which is supposed to call up the recovery mode, but it doesn't. I'm not sure what to try next? I wish these things had a reset button

It's a Droid 2 Rooted with the stock rom running Froyo 2.2. I have the Bootstrap recovery loaded and did a backup with the clockwork recovery. I also have, and use, Titanium Backup Pro for Root.
20th October 2010, 08:57 PM   |  #2  
newk8600's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northglenn
Thanks Meter: 25
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
After bootlooping pull the battery and put it back in. Then plug the droid 2 in with the cable either wall or USB will work. Then turn it on and it should get you recovery. The phone has to be completely off when you plug it in though.

Sent from my DROID2 using XDA App

EDIT: I tested it and USB won't work (at least for me) better off just using the wall plug.
Last edited by newk8600; 21st October 2010 at 12:10 AM.
20th October 2010, 10:13 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Thanks, but that not working either. When I plug in the cable after the battery pull it starts up automatically and goes to the battery charge screen. I then shut it off and start it back up with no battery but plugged in and it goes right back into the boot loop after the M screen.
21st October 2010, 12:09 AM   |  #4  
newk8600's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northglenn
Thanks Meter: 25
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
The batter charge screen is what you want. Just press the power button after you get the charge screen and you'll be booted into clockwork.

But in order to factory reset from a bootloop you have to flash an .sbf theres a few different tutorials. One in Windows, Another in linux/mac, and another in linux but for windows machines through an Ubuntu livecd(that I made).
Last edited by newk8600; 21st October 2010 at 12:12 AM.
21st October 2010, 01:30 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Thumbs up
Oh, OK I thought it was going to go right into recovery mode. Good to know.

I finally figured out how to get into the stock recovery and bootloader, so I tried to run the stock restore but after it wiped the data, it couldn't find the recovery file! So then I read in another post about using RSDlight 4.9 to do an sdf restore so I used that method. Of course while it was flashing I did come across your Ubuntu method and that does look like it would be a simpler process. I'm going make one of those CD's to have for next time.
Anyway, I was able to get it back to stock. It looks like most of my stuff is still on the SD card, so that's a bonus! I'll have to re-root before I can restore everything via Titanium, but that's going to be tomorrow's project. As for now just happy to to have my phone back. Especially before the wife (who has been telling me for weeks to stop F'in with it) found out .
I really appreciate that you took the time to help, thanks again!
21st October 2010, 02:37 AM   |  #6  
newk8600's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northglenn
Thanks Meter: 25
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
No problem.
26th October 2010, 04:42 AM   |  #7  
newk8600's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northglenn
Thanks Meter: 25
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Could you change your Thread title to include [SOLVED]. Thanks
31st October 2010, 08:51 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Can you please explain to me how you fixed this problem? I am currently having this problem now.
31st October 2010, 09:00 AM   |  #9  
theecho's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chesapeake, VA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
321 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
More
Please do not open/post in multiple threads for the same issue. This is a waste of time as we can see you have an open thread. Please reply to my response in your original thread for further assistance. (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=824254)
31st October 2010, 04:50 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by newk8600

Could you change your Thread title to include [SOLVED]. Thanks

Ok, your wish is my command! ;)

Sent from my DROID2 using XDA App

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes