Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Sooo,I'm kinda confused...

OP xxflyingarmbarxx

23rd October 2010, 12:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I been seeing lately the the new Mytouch HD has also been dubbed the Mytouch 4G which kinda makes no sense to me. My Mytouch Slide picks up the HSPA± signal alost everywhere I go (except in my house of course :l ) and from what I've read that's the only,techicnally 4G network,that T-mo plans to put out. So the MTHD being called the MT4G seems silly. Unless there's something I don't know,in which one of the great members of XDA could fill me in on =D

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
23rd October 2010, 12:53 PM   |  #2  
sandpaperback's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
While you can use the HSPA+ network and will see some boost, the Slide isn't made to handle the full bandwidth available to it. If you were to use it and the 4G side be side, I'm sure you'd see a considerable difference.
23rd October 2010, 08:36 PM   |  #3  
KCRic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Overland Park
Thanks Meter: 243
 
1,134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
We can use towers that are rated 4G but will never reach the 21.1 Mbps. I thought hspa+ was their high end 4G, and standard 4G was just hspa. I only say that because UTMS is 3G, not hspa.
24th October 2010, 06:32 AM   |  #4  
Ohgami_Ichiro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 390
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Except HSPA and HSPA+ are really expanded 3G services. 4G is LTE and Wimax. It's just that sprint's wimax is so slow.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
25th October 2010, 08:08 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Well if you want to be technical, as it stands neither LTE or WiMax are 4G compliant.
25th October 2010, 09:12 PM   |  #6  
fermunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 59
 
1,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Remember, when the iPhone 4g (or was it 3g?) came out, it was ONLY a name, it did not mean it supported 4g (or 3g) speeds...
30th October 2010, 03:57 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 11
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilama

Well if you want to be technical, as it stands neither LTE or WiMax are 4G compliant.

Agreed wholeheartedly! No service provider has 4g and out of them all Tmobile has the fastest data connection. If you are in a hspa + area.

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
30th October 2010, 05:01 AM   |  #8  
immortalxgod's Avatar
Member
Flag vacaville
Thanks Meter: 0
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
My phone stay on this speed. After I flashed that new rom with 2.2.1 I've had this "H" for a long time. That's the only network I get unless I'm in my house then I get edge coverage lolz.

send from mytouch 3g bruh

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes