FORUMS

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Sooo,I'm kinda confused...

23rd October 2010, 11:45 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
I been seeing lately the the new Mytouch HD has also been dubbed the Mytouch 4G which kinda makes no sense to me. My Mytouch Slide picks up the HSPA± signal alost everywhere I go (except in my house of course :l ) and from what I've read that's the only,techicnally 4G network,that T-mo plans to put out. So the MTHD being called the MT4G seems silly. Unless there's something I don't know,in which one of the great members of XDA could fill me in on =D

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
 
 
23rd October 2010, 11:53 AM |#2  
sandpaperback's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
While you can use the HSPA+ network and will see some boost, the Slide isn't made to handle the full bandwidth available to it. If you were to use it and the 4G side be side, I'm sure you'd see a considerable difference.
23rd October 2010, 07:36 PM |#3  
KCRic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Overland Park
Thanks Meter: 244
 
More
We can use towers that are rated 4G but will never reach the 21.1 Mbps. I thought hspa+ was their high end 4G, and standard 4G was just hspa. I only say that because UTMS is 3G, not hspa.
24th October 2010, 05:32 AM |#4  
Ohgami_Ichiro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 391
 
Donate to Me
More
Except HSPA and HSPA+ are really expanded 3G services. 4G is LTE and Wimax. It's just that sprint's wimax is so slow.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
25th October 2010, 07:08 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Well if you want to be technical, as it stands neither LTE or WiMax are 4G compliant.
25th October 2010, 08:12 PM |#6  
fermunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Remember, when the iPhone 4g (or was it 3g?) came out, it was ONLY a name, it did not mean it supported 4g (or 3g) speeds...
30th October 2010, 02:57 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilama

Well if you want to be technical, as it stands neither LTE or WiMax are 4G compliant.

Agreed wholeheartedly! No service provider has 4g and out of them all Tmobile has the fastest data connection. If you are in a hspa + area.

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
30th October 2010, 04:01 AM |#8  
immortalxgod's Avatar
Member
Flag vacaville
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
My phone stay on this speed. After I flashed that new rom with 2.2.1 I've had this "H" for a long time. That's the only network I get unless I'm in my house then I get edge coverage lolz.

send from mytouch 3g bruh
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes