5,594,805 Members 36,881 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Disabling Sense to use Launcher Pro

Tip us?
 
ritzbrie
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 105
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South FL
Default [Q] Disabling Sense to use Launcher Pro

I searched and couldn't find an answer

I am currently on rooted stock ROM. I want to basically disable the Sense UI and switch to Launcher Pro. How do I go about disabling Sense UI in favor of Launcher Pro?

I would just set Launcher Pro as default but I don't want Sense running in the background,
 
themassofthesun
Old
#2  
themassofthesun's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 179
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlottesville VA
I do the same thing......after a while sense gets turned off until you launch it again

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
**Did I help? Don't forget to hit the "Thanks" button!**
gqstatus0685 Old
#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
There is a thread with a flashable file to completely remove sense.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=769525

Sent while sitting on the toilet.
 
ritzbrie
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 105
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by gqstatus0685 View Post
There is a thread with a flashable file to completely remove sense.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=769525

Sent while sitting on the toilet.
Thanks, but I don't necessarily want to flash something. I was thinking about using titanium backup and "Freezing" the HTC files. Would that work?
 
crimeslunk
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 123
Join Date: Jul 2010
should work just fine you can remove everything sense but some of the HTC stuff must stay. I know for sure if you remove com.htc.socialnetwork.provider the phone starts having problems using sense or not. Just do a nand backup and start getting rid of all HTC's and Sense BS but make sure you do that nand because if you remove the wrong file you will get constant force closes and won't be able to restore it even if you have backed up through titanium.
 
ritzbrie
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 105
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimeslunk View Post
should work just fine you can remove everything sense but some of the HTC stuff must stay. I know for sure if you remove com.htc.socialnetwork.provider the phone starts having problems using sense or not. Just do a nand backup and start getting rid of all HTC's and Sense BS but make sure you do that nand because if you remove the wrong file you will get constant force closes and won't be able to restore it even if you have backed up through titanium.
Did a NAND yesterday. I'll try this. Thanks.
 
potna
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 325
Join Date: Jun 2007
Go to appliactiosns, find sense, clear defaults. I think if you install another launcher they begin to compete for default status Nd android will ask you what you like to do inregaurds to which launcher will be default. Super easy. No flashing or hacking needed.


Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
 
omegasun18
Old
#8  
omegasun18's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 871
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
an alternative is there are scripts made that will remove sense and the known ok to remove bloatware/htc apps. one is linked in my signature. you flash the script just like a rom (follow instruction listed) once you have launcherpro set as your launcher. this will ensure it doesnt run and gives you the extra space in your phones memory.


EVO 4G
Current Daily Driver
*Koni's Elite Series III*
Current Kernel
*Netarchy 4.3.2 CFS More Aggresive*
Current Theme
Honeycomb Dreams
Current Launcher
*Honeycomb Dreams LauncherPro option 1*

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more