Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Help with updating

OP Bryan211

25th October 2010, 03:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
So I have recently been receiving a notification about updating my phone, which I have been avoiding for a while. My phone is the Samsung Vibrant, and it is rooted. I am a nooby to this whole hacking and rooting scene being that this is my first Android phone. I am using the Vibrant9 ROM from Eugene373.

What I want to know is: what happens if I update my phone? will I need to re-root it and get the rom again? will all of my applications get erased? If so, is there a way around this?

Please don't flame me.
1st November 2010, 05:37 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Somebody help please.
ranger61878
1st November 2010, 06:01 AM   |  #3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
You will lose your root, but not apps if it is just an update.

Sent from my FroYoed Sprint Hero
5th November 2010, 05:43 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
OOOH ok thank you so much. I can still re-root it and use the vibrant9 rom again though right?
ranger61878
5th November 2010, 07:33 AM   |  #5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
As long as the update is rootable.

Sent from my FroYoed Sprint Hero
6th November 2010, 04:48 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Oh ok thank you so much for your help man.
6th November 2010, 08:23 AM   |  #7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
There are a special program in your phone.
This will likely void your warranty, and you should do this at your own risk. We take no responsibility if you turn your Vibrant into a paperweight.

This method will allow you to give root access to root-only applications. There are currently no custom ROMs for the device yet, so if that is what you’re looking for, you may want to wait it out a little longer until custom ROMs have been developed.

Soyou can get started:

1. Download this file and rename it to “update.zip”
2. On your Vibrant, go to Settings > Applications > USB Settings > and select Mass Storage.
3. Connect your Vibrant to your computer, and mount as a mass storage device by pulling down the notification bar at the top of the screen.
4. Back on your computer, look for a new drive.
5. Copy (drag and drop) the update.zip file to the Internal Storage.
6. Turn off the phone.
7. Hold down the volume up and down buttons while turning the Vibrant on, which will bring you to the recovery mode.
8. To navigate in Recovery, use volume up and down to move, and Power button to select. Select ‘Reinstall Packages“
9. After installed, your phone will reboot, and will have the Superuser app, as well as Busybox installed.
10. You’re Rooted!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes