Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] LaunchKey

OP appelflap

25th October 2010, 07:54 AM   |  #1  
appelflap's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Utrecht
Thanks Meter: 808
 
10
4,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
As of now (dec 18) the app is split into two versions: a lite one (dowload it here) and a paid-for version (on the Android Market)


----
Assign app, system function or a customizable shortcut menu to the long-press search button.




Menu Lite version (version 1.2):


Menu Full version (version 1.3):


Full version has an extensive list of extra system functions like (only for *rooted* devices):
* Media controls (Media next, play/pause, forward etc)
* Volume controls (mute, volume up, down)
* Menu, back, home, toggle notification window
* dPad controls
Also, the full version allows the user to define up to 120 menu-shortcuts.

Requirements: Only for devices that have longpress search functionality (for example not for the Galaxy S)
Droid x/Droid 2 users: first install "HomeSmack" to use the long-press search functionality for this app

Instructions: When pressing-and-holding the search key button for the first time after installing the app one will see a menu like this:



Check "use by default for this action" and choose LaunchKey to complete the action.

To do: implement more system functions, assign a customizable menu to the longpress search key (done).
Open for requests.

Changelog
v1.2.1 (nov 5): Fixed bluetooth toggle issue
* v1.2 (nov 1): Now with a customizable shortcut menu.
* v1.1: added possibility to assign system functions to longpress search key (bluetooth, wifi, airplane mode toggle + home screen swither)
Attached Files
File Type: apk LaunchKey v1.2.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (54.6 KB, 13964 views)
Last edited by appelflap; 18th December 2010 at 02:09 PM.
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to appelflap For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th October 2010, 11:30 PM   |  #2  
smoothone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Lauderdale
Thanks Meter: 253
 
830 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Thanks this is great!

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
26th October 2010, 08:17 AM   |  #3  
appelflap's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Utrecht
Thanks Meter: 808
 
10
4,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothone

Thanks this is great!

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App

Thanks. I like to know if adding some system functions (as described in the first post) will add anything substantial to this app. I myself don't have any need for it, but maybe other users?
26th October 2010, 08:21 AM   |  #4  
c00ller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 315
 
2,013 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
For me, a great function to add would be MEDIA_NEXT to skip to the next track without having to turn on the screen
26th October 2010, 08:31 AM   |  #5  
appelflap's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Utrecht
Thanks Meter: 808
 
10
4,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by c00ller

For me, a great function to add would be MEDIA_NEXT to skip to the next track without having to turn on the screen

Actually, that's a great idea (for devices that can turn on the device with the search button). On the Desire HD with its capacitive buttons this isn't possible, unfortunately . Can you turn on your device with the search button... ? And when you hold it, will it launch one of the assigned apps?
The Following User Says Thank You to appelflap For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th October 2010, 02:42 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
doesn't seem to work on my droid x. long pressing the search key doesn't seem to do anything. a short press brings up search though.
26th October 2010, 03:00 PM   |  #7  
appelflap's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Utrecht
Thanks Meter: 808
 
10
4,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezdup

doesn't seem to work on my droid x. long pressing the search key doesn't seem to do anything. a short press brings up search though.

Have you assigned the app to the long press search action? It's standard Android, tested it on several virtual machines on the emulator.

Would be weird if the droid X doesn't support that. That would be inconsistent indeed.
26th October 2010, 03:15 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Timisoara
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I have come across some interesting behaviour.

I have an HTC Wildfire, stock 2.1 but rooted, with LauncherPro as my homie.

I installed Launchkey, configured the app I want to start by long-pressing (namely, Camera), hit back, then long-pressed search. It started Camera, as it should. No problems there.

But while I was inside the Camera app, I long-pressed it again, to see if it opens another camera on top of Camera so I can shoot in 3D. Alas, it did not! Instead, it opened the HTC Sense UI (which has been off for about a month, since I use LauncherPro).

What gives?
26th October 2010, 03:27 PM   |  #9  
appelflap's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Utrecht
Thanks Meter: 808
 
10
4,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by melinte

I have come across some interesting behaviour.

I have an HTC Wildfire, stock 2.1 but rooted, with LauncherPro as my homie.

I installed Launchkey, configured the app I want to start by long-pressing (namely, Camera), hit back, then long-pressed search. It started Camera, as it should. No problems there.

But while I was inside the Camera app, I long-pressed it again, to see if it opens another camera on top of Camera so I can shoot in 3D. Alas, it did not! Instead, it opened the HTC Sense UI (which has been off for about a month, since I use LauncherPro).

What gives?


It looks like that some apps can override the long press key binding if they get focus. In some apps search is triggered also when long press the search button (for example in Root Explorer) .. It seems in your camera app they decided to launch Sense. In my camera app the press-and-hold button is disabled (Desire HD)
26th October 2010, 03:51 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by appelflap

Have you assigned the app to the long press search action? It's standard Android, tested it on several virtual machines on the emulator.

Would be weird if the droid X doesn't support that. That would be inconsistent indeed.

yea i set an app. set a few different ones, but no luck with any.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes