5,600,984 Members 44,478 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] LaunchKey

Tip us?
 
appelflap
Old
(Last edited by appelflap; 18th December 2010 at 01:09 PM.)
#1  
appelflap's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 786
Posts: 4,067
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utrecht
Default [APP] LaunchKey

As of now (dec 18) the app is split into two versions: a lite one (dowload it here) and a paid-for version (on the Android Market)


----
Assign app, system function or a customizable shortcut menu to the long-press search button.




Menu Lite version (version 1.2):


Menu Full version (version 1.3):


Full version has an extensive list of extra system functions like (only for *rooted* devices):
* Media controls (Media next, play/pause, forward etc)
* Volume controls (mute, volume up, down)
* Menu, back, home, toggle notification window
* dPad controls
Also, the full version allows the user to define up to 120 menu-shortcuts.

Requirements: Only for devices that have longpress search functionality (for example not for the Galaxy S)
Droid x/Droid 2 users: first install "HomeSmack" to use the long-press search functionality for this app

Instructions: When pressing-and-holding the search key button for the first time after installing the app one will see a menu like this:



Check "use by default for this action" and choose LaunchKey to complete the action.

To do: implement more system functions, assign a customizable menu to the longpress search key (done).
Open for requests.

Changelog
v1.2.1 (nov 5): Fixed bluetooth toggle issue
* v1.2 (nov 1): Now with a customizable shortcut menu.
* v1.1: added possibility to assign system functions to longpress search key (bluetooth, wifi, airplane mode toggle + home screen swither)
Attached Files
File Type: apk LaunchKey v1.2.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (54.6 KB, 13351 views)
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to appelflap For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
smoothone
Old
#2  
smoothone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 252
Posts: 834
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Thanks this is great!

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Retired:

HTC Hero
Nexus One
HTC EVO 4g
Nexus S 4g
EVO 3d
Moto Photon
 
appelflap
Old
#3  
appelflap's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 786
Posts: 4,067
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utrecht
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothone View Post
Thanks this is great!

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Thanks. I like to know if adding some system functions (as described in the first post) will add anything substantial to this app. I myself don't have any need for it, but maybe other users?
 
c00ller
Old
#4  
c00ller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 306
Posts: 1,978
Join Date: Jun 2010
For me, a great function to add would be MEDIA_NEXT to skip to the next track without having to turn on the screen
Google Nexus 4 16GB | CyanogenMod 11 Nightlies
 
appelflap
Old
#5  
appelflap's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 786
Posts: 4,067
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utrecht
Quote:
Originally Posted by c00ller View Post
For me, a great function to add would be MEDIA_NEXT to skip to the next track without having to turn on the screen
Actually, that's a great idea (for devices that can turn on the device with the search button). On the Desire HD with its capacitive buttons this isn't possible, unfortunately . Can you turn on your device with the search button... ? And when you hold it, will it launch one of the assigned apps?
The Following User Says Thank You to appelflap For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mezdup
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 80
Join Date: Jul 2010
doesn't seem to work on my droid x. long pressing the search key doesn't seem to do anything. a short press brings up search though.
 
appelflap
Old
#7  
appelflap's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 786
Posts: 4,067
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utrecht
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezdup View Post
doesn't seem to work on my droid x. long pressing the search key doesn't seem to do anything. a short press brings up search though.
Have you assigned the app to the long press search action? It's standard Android, tested it on several virtual machines on the emulator.

Would be weird if the droid X doesn't support that. That would be inconsistent indeed.
 
melinte
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Timisoara
I have come across some interesting behaviour.

I have an HTC Wildfire, stock 2.1 but rooted, with LauncherPro as my homie.

I installed Launchkey, configured the app I want to start by long-pressing (namely, Camera), hit back, then long-pressed search. It started Camera, as it should. No problems there.

But while I was inside the Camera app, I long-pressed it again, to see if it opens another camera on top of Camera so I can shoot in 3D. Alas, it did not! Instead, it opened the HTC Sense UI (which has been off for about a month, since I use LauncherPro).

What gives?
 
appelflap
Old
#9  
appelflap's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 786
Posts: 4,067
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utrecht
Quote:
Originally Posted by melinte View Post
I have come across some interesting behaviour.

I have an HTC Wildfire, stock 2.1 but rooted, with LauncherPro as my homie.

I installed Launchkey, configured the app I want to start by long-pressing (namely, Camera), hit back, then long-pressed search. It started Camera, as it should. No problems there.

But while I was inside the Camera app, I long-pressed it again, to see if it opens another camera on top of Camera so I can shoot in 3D. Alas, it did not! Instead, it opened the HTC Sense UI (which has been off for about a month, since I use LauncherPro).

What gives?

It looks like that some apps can override the long press key binding if they get focus. In some apps search is triggered also when long press the search button (for example in Root Explorer) .. It seems in your camera app they decided to launch Sense. In my camera app the press-and-hold button is disabled (Desire HD)
 
mezdup
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 80
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by appelflap View Post
Have you assigned the app to the long press search action? It's standard Android, tested it on several virtual machines on the emulator.

Would be weird if the droid X doesn't support that. That would be inconsistent indeed.
yea i set an app. set a few different ones, but no luck with any.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes