MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

[Q] I'm rooted and SIM unlocked, BUT!

25th October 2010, 06:25 PM   |  #1  
Xaltotun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
I have lost my unlock code due to a HD failure. I am currently rooted and unlocked, and I run the leaked Froyo ROM.

What will happen in the future, should I want to flash, say, a Cyanogen ROM (*if* it becomes available)? Will I lock again? I understand my unlock codes were wiped when I flashed the new ROM.

Is there a way to insure I do not become locked again?

I have searched threads extensively, I do not think I have found a consensus on this? Anyone care to enlighten me?
25th October 2010, 06:29 PM   |  #2  
RKight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 109
 
533 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I unlocked back on 2.1 (JF6), updated to JH7, flashed 2.2 (JI6), and have also flashed Cognition Betas 6, 7, 8, 8.1, and 9...and I'm still SIM unlocked. As far as I know, it's permanent no matter what ROM you choose to flash.
25th October 2010, 06:32 PM   |  #3  
tjsooley's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Milford, NJ
Thanks Meter: 291
 
2,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Your phone can relock if you dont remove your sim when you flash
25th October 2010, 06:41 PM   |  #4  
RKight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 109
 
533 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjsooley

Your phone can relock if you dont remove your sim when you flash

I never remove my SIM.
25th October 2010, 06:45 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 3
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKight

I never remove my SIM.

That's what I did before I got my SIM locked, was playing around with JH7 a month or two back and somehow got it relocked.
25th October 2010, 07:01 PM   |  #6  
RKight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 109
 
533 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJNgoma

That's what I did before I got my SIM locked, was playing around with JH7 a month or two back and somehow got it relocked.

Hmm...strange. I still have my code (saved on both my MicroSD and an external harddrive) but I might start removing it as a precautionary measure.
25th October 2010, 09:01 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Chandigarh
Thanks Meter: 12
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
even i never removed my sim anytime while flashing or updating....mines still unlocked....i hope it doesnt get locked in the future, cant we permenantly unlock it. . . .
25th October 2010, 10:32 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 3
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKight

Hmm...strange. I still have my code (saved on both my MicroSD and an external harddrive) but I might start removing it as a precautionary measure.

Keep it on Simplenote .
26th October 2010, 03:59 AM   |  #9  
Xaltotun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Thanks for all the info. I feel better now! And yes, I will remove my SIM before flashing :)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes