Elemental – The Cross Platform Code Editor StartUp

There is not many cross-platform code editors capable to run both on desktop and … more

Dropbox App Available on Windows Phone

The Dropbox app is well known and widely used. The application has finally landed on Windows Phone … more

aContact+++ Next Dialer

Ifyou have a dual SIM device and have problems with managing your two cards, you should check this dialer. … more

HTC Hima Photo Leaks Were Decoys

Reputable leaker EvLeaks confirms to us that he knows the photos of the HTC Hima circling the internet these … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I'm rooted and SIM unlocked, BUT!

OP Xaltotun

25th October 2010, 07:25 PM   |  #1  
Xaltotun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
I have lost my unlock code due to a HD failure. I am currently rooted and unlocked, and I run the leaked Froyo ROM.

What will happen in the future, should I want to flash, say, a Cyanogen ROM (*if* it becomes available)? Will I lock again? I understand my unlock codes were wiped when I flashed the new ROM.

Is there a way to insure I do not become locked again?

I have searched threads extensively, I do not think I have found a consensus on this? Anyone care to enlighten me?
25th October 2010, 07:29 PM   |  #2  
RKight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 118
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I unlocked back on 2.1 (JF6), updated to JH7, flashed 2.2 (JI6), and have also flashed Cognition Betas 6, 7, 8, 8.1, and 9...and I'm still SIM unlocked. As far as I know, it's permanent no matter what ROM you choose to flash.
25th October 2010, 07:32 PM   |  #3  
tjsooley's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Milford, NJ
Thanks Meter: 302
 
2,140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Your phone can relock if you dont remove your sim when you flash
25th October 2010, 07:41 PM   |  #4  
RKight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 118
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjsooley

Your phone can relock if you dont remove your sim when you flash

I never remove my SIM.
25th October 2010, 07:45 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 3
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKight

I never remove my SIM.

That's what I did before I got my SIM locked, was playing around with JH7 a month or two back and somehow got it relocked.
25th October 2010, 08:01 PM   |  #6  
RKight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 118
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJNgoma

That's what I did before I got my SIM locked, was playing around with JH7 a month or two back and somehow got it relocked.

Hmm...strange. I still have my code (saved on both my MicroSD and an external harddrive) but I might start removing it as a precautionary measure.
25th October 2010, 10:01 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Chandigarh
Thanks Meter: 12
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
even i never removed my sim anytime while flashing or updating....mines still unlocked....i hope it doesnt get locked in the future, cant we permenantly unlock it. . . .
25th October 2010, 11:32 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 3
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKight

Hmm...strange. I still have my code (saved on both my MicroSD and an external harddrive) but I might start removing it as a precautionary measure.

Keep it on Simplenote .
26th October 2010, 04:59 AM   |  #9  
Xaltotun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Thanks for all the info. I feel better now! And yes, I will remove my SIM before flashing :)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes