Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more
Post Reply

[Q] Flashing JH2 problems

OP bangtail

29th October 2010, 09:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Alright, I'm pretty uniformed when it comes to these things, but as it stands I need some help. I have a Bell Galaxy S (GT-I9000M) that I unlocked to use on Telus and then rooted a month later in an attempt to trouble shoot a reception issue (don't ask). Trouble shooting failed and now I'm trying to get the circumvent the warranty issues by trying to re-flash back to the stock bell ROM, which is from what I can tell the I9000UGJH2. I downloaded it from (samfirmware). I'm trying to use Odin and am having some troubles. When I extract the file there is only a single .tar file inside (I9000UGJH2-PDA-Kernel-Bootloader-CL490514-Low). As such I am unclear as to what to enter for the PDA/PHONE/CSC fields. I assume this file is the PDA, and inside is the modem file if I look. Do I need to extract this to use in the modem field? I'm so confused.

Also, a couple of things. Ive had 'success' flashing using just the the one file in the PDA field, as well as that plus the modem file found inside extracted and selected in the MODEM field. HOWEVER, in both attempts though it seem to boot into the OS fine, neither recognize my SIM card. Clearly this is some sort of failure. Any suggestions?

Oh, and yes, I can get into download mode. That's the only reason I'm fiddling.
29th October 2010, 09:21 PM   |  #2  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
since the phone boots into the OS
and you have the 3 buttons working

you can try flashing it back to stock (JH2) using KIES

and see if you can get it to recognize your Telus SIM card with that.


before you go ahead, do you have friends or family with Fido or Rogers SIM you can try?

just to make sure it's not a Telus SIM card problem
29th October 2010, 09:30 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I'm pretty sure I did flash it to the stock JH2. When I plug into kies and search for firmware updates it says there are none. Am I doing something wrong?
29th October 2010, 09:37 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
maybe if I flash the update prior to JH2? Then it will see it need an update and go to town?
29th October 2010, 09:46 PM   |  #5  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
on the registry just change all the JH2 references to JG9

then it will offer you JH2 for "upgrade"

or you can use this
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=i9000m
Last edited by AllGamer; 29th October 2010 at 09:49 PM.
29th October 2010, 10:31 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
done and done. used the regedit. prompted to update. did so. loads the galaxy s screen, then goes to black. i kind of want to kill myself ;(
29th October 2010, 11:14 PM   |  #7  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
try booting into recovery mode and wipe data + wipe cache

see if it can boot after that

Sent from my GT-I9000M using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes