Thread Closed

[MOD] Ubuntu *Working On Epic!!* NOW UPDATED TO V1.2 (03/13/2011)

OP BThomas22x

30th October 2010, 02:18 AM   |  #1  
BThomas22x's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Scottdale
Thanks Meter: 474
 
1,471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
IMPORTANT INFO
First I gotta give a shoutout to KellyLewis3985 because he's helped so much with modding the script to need less work for install, run faster, and have more programs work.

NEEDED!

Must Be ROOTED
1. Busybox (Preferrably the most updated version).
2. Superuser.
3. Android SDK (With knowledge on how to use it).
4. AndroidVNC (Search exactly that in the market. It will say "Android VNC Viewer").
5. Terminal Emulator (Also available in the market).
6. Patience when working with this.

UPDATE!!

Thanks to the persistance of urboy4mbx, we now know a little more information to get it working. While both KellyLewis3985 and myself were running custom ROMS, we didn't think about testing it for the stock build. So due to urboy4mbx's will to get this installed, we now know you MUST have a custom ROM installed. There's probably ways to get it to work on the stock build, but it's going to take a little more work. For now, make sure you have a custom ROM, download, and install the files, and if we got our scripts right, it should boot right up for you.

DOWNLOAD FILE!

NOTE: When you download this zip, you will need to extract it, and inside the extracted folder will be the folder "sdcard", DO NOT!! Place this entire folder in your "ubuntu" folder, simply open it and copy all the files from it to your "ubuntu" folder on your sd card.

Download File...

Ubuntu: Epic Edition v1.2 <---These are the files you will need to run Ubuntu. It will come with "bootlinux", "fsrw", "mountonly", "ubuntu.img", "ubuntu.sh", and "unionfs".

INSTRUCTIONS!


Options For Transferring Files To Phone


First Option...
Your first option of course is the easiest. Simply connect your phone to the computer, and mount your sd card. Once on the sd card, you are going to create a new folder labeled "ubuntu". Open this folder and transfer all the files from the downloaded zip file into this folder. After you have transferred the files to your "ubuntu" folder on the sd card, unmount the sd card, but leave the phone plugged in.

Second Option...
Your second option is "adb push". Here is the command for "adb push" if you cant, or don't feel like mounting your sd card.

First you need to create your destination folder. Do so with this set of commands.

cd C:/sdk/tools
(Of course you might have your sdk folder in a different location, just cd to that location)
adb shell
su
cd /sdcard/
mkdir ubuntu
exit


Now you should be back at "C:/sdk/tools", or wherever you have your sdk folder located. Next, you push the files to your folder. In order to push the files, you first need to open the zip folder, and copy all the files into your tools subfolder in the sdk folder. Then push the files with this set of commands.

adb push bootlinux /sdcard/ubuntu
adb push fsrw /sdcard/ubuntu
adb push mountonly /sdcard/ubuntu
adb push ubuntu.sh /sdcard/ubuntu
adb push unionfs /sdcard/ubuntu
adb push ubuntu.img /sdcard/ubuntu


The "ubuntu.img" file may take a little longer, as it is the largest file that needs to be transferred.

NOTE: You cannot have your sd card mounted to use adb. You must be unmounted.

INSTALLATION

1. Ok, first thing you have to do is make sure you're still cd'd to "C:/sdk/tools". Now you need to type "adb shell". You will then most likely be prompted with the symbol "$". To continue, type "su" and the symbol should then change to a "#". NOTE!!!! After adb shell, YOU MUST TYPE "su", or the program will not boot!!!

2. Next you are going to cd into the Ubuntu folder on your sd card. (cd /sdcard/ubuntu) Once in, you're going to type the command "sh ./ubuntu.sh".
After that runs through, the next thing you're going to enter is "bootlinux". Once you get the prompt "root@localhost" you have successfully installed ubuntu on the Epic.

With this new update, there is no need to install any other files, as we have added them into the image file for you so it should do so automatically. If you have issues, let us know and we will try to fix it.

PREPARING YOUR VNC TO LOAD UBUNTU!

NOTE: There is no need to type this into your adb shell. This is for information purposes only, i've displayed the code and it's position at the bottom of this post along with screen shots to show you what it should look like.

With our new update, it's a lot easier to get everything up and running, but we don't have the capability of storing the vnc server to start every time we start up ubuntu, as it was causing issues. Until we get this issue fixed, you have to start the vnc server like this:

rm -rf /tmp/.X*
export USER=root
vncserver -geometry 1280x800
(Or whatever you would like your resolution to be. We have found this to be the nicest so far.)

Ok, at this point, everything should be set up to run.

NOTE: After the initial install of ubuntu on your phone, when you want to get it to start again, all you have to do is go into the terminal emulator, first type "su" to give it superuser permissions, then type "bootlinux", it will run through it's script and give you the "root@localhost" prompt. After you get that prompt, simply type the "rm -rf /tmp/.X*", "export USER=root", and "vncserver -geometry 1280x800" prompts and you can then start vnc again.

All the info you need for vnc will be as follows.

Nickname: "root"
Password: "ubuntu" (This is a set password, so it will be the same for everyone.)
Address: "localhost"
Port: "5901"

Change Log

Version 1.2
-Modified to make it ext4 compatible.
-Modified img to make it a little faster and more stable.

That's really all I had to do for this version, as it was working before.

Version 1.1
-Modified the scripts to run smoother, faster and use less memory while running.
-Added some custom wallpapers.
-Mozilla Firefox now works.
-Modified scripts to make Ubuntu more interactive.
-Modified the .img to install everything needed instead of you having to do it.

Issues

-Firefox randomly closes. Just reopen and restore.
-After using the vncserver Ubuntu doesn't truly shutdown without a reboot. Fix in progress.
-When wanting to start Ubuntu, after initial install, you have to go into the terminal emulator and type "su", then "bootlinux", allow that to complete giving you the "root@localhost" prompt. Then type "rm -rf /tmp/.X*", "export USER=root", and "vncserver -geometry 1280x800" to start the vnc server. After that you can go right into vnc and start Ubuntu up. We ARE currently working on a fix for this issue.



If you have any issues please post. Your input helps us make this better for you.

Here's a couple tricks we picked up.

1. You can use the arrow pad on your keyboard to direct the mouse.
2. If you long press on the screen and keep your finger on it, you can slide the mouse with your finger.
3. Long press on something, is a left click.
4. Double tap on something, is a right click.
5. To get symbols to appear, such as "-", you have to HOLD the function key while hitting the symbol.

And i'm sure there's more, but there's a couple for now.
Last edited by BThomas22x; 13th March 2011 at 08:25 PM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to BThomas22x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2010, 02:19 AM   |  #2  
KellyLewis3985's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midland TX
Thanks Meter: 46
 
487 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
After the installation and the first time you setup the vncserver. You have to use this command everytime to start the vncserver again.
rm -rf /tmp/.X*
export USER=root
vncserver -geometry 1280x800


New links.
Ubuntu
http://db.tt/4z8uDst

New Scripts.
http://db.tt/lDjNNQn

Were working on a fix for this.

Here is the latest update. I dont know if its going to work for everyone. I suggest creating a folder inside the ubuntu folder to put the scripts you have in. Unzip this and replace the scripts in the ubuntu folder.
Please make a backup.

If you have any issues please post. Your input helps us make this better for you.
Last edited by KellyLewis3985; 31st October 2010 at 02:25 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KellyLewis3985 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2010, 02:37 AM   |  #3  
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Midland
Thanks Meter: 69
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Yeah I'm on this as soon as I leave buffalo wild wings.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
30th October 2010, 04:37 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
going to sleep soon for school in the morning, also will try tomorrow. naaao this is epic!
30th October 2010, 08:20 AM   |  #5  
ragnarokx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag GMT-8
Thanks Meter: 474
 
2,114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Since this is a full operating system, what are the chances or installing silverlight and being able to stream netflix?

Sent by a little green robot
30th October 2010, 09:05 AM   |  #6  
BThomas22x's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Scottdale
Thanks Meter: 474
 
1,471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
As Of Right Now, The Internet Is Having Issues On This One, But Kellylewis And I Have Already Scripted Another Version Of Ubuntu And It Is Internet Compatible . We're Running It Now To Get The Bugs Worked Out And Will Have It Up Soon. After That, You Can Try To Download Whatever You Want, Considering It's An OS, And See If It Works... I Have Not Tested Downloading Anything.

The New Ubuntu Will Come As A Update, So Install This One The Way I've Instructed, And The Update Will Simply Replace The Files. The New One Is Faster, Internet Compatible, And Nicer Looking All Together. This One Still Works, But Please Be Patient For The Update. Thanks Everyone.
Last edited by BThomas22x; 30th October 2010 at 09:17 AM.
30th October 2010, 09:14 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag East Islip, NY
Thanks Meter: 14
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
No matter what I do Im stuck here...

Quote:

Also, If You Change The Port And It Says "VNC Cannot Connect" Or Something Like That, Back Out To The Terminal Emulator, And Hit "Exit" And "bootubuntu" Again And Change The "localhost" Number Again. Whatever The "localhost" Number, Change The Port Number To Match. Ex: "localhost:4" > "5904", "localhost:7" "5907".

I get "VNC connection failed!" on any port.


TIA for any help! thanks.
30th October 2010, 09:21 AM   |  #8  
BThomas22x's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Scottdale
Thanks Meter: 474
 
1,471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
First, Exit From The Terminal Emulator, And Open It Back Up. Type "su" Then "Bootubuntu" Without Any Other Commands. It Should Boot It Up Still And Then When You Get The Localhost Prompt, Type "Exit" And "Bootubuntu" Again. This Time It Should Come Up Localhost:2 ...As Long As You Copied My Code, It Should Have Put The VNC Server In The Boot File So When Ubuntu Was Booted Up, It Would Automatically Start The Server. Anyways, When You Get "localhost:2" Change Your Port To 5902. Do That And Let Me Know What Happens.
The Following User Says Thank You to BThomas22x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2010, 09:22 AM   |  #9  
infamousjax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 29
 
833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Why Do You Type Like This? It's Really Annoying!
30th October 2010, 09:28 AM   |  #10  
BThomas22x's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Scottdale
Thanks Meter: 474
 
1,471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by infamousjax

Why Do You Type Like This? It's Really Annoying!

Because That's How I Type... You Aren't Required To Look At This Thread, So If It Bothers You, Just Hit The Back Button. Otherwise, How I Type Should Be Of No Importance, So If You Want Ubuntu, Run The Script To Get It And You'll Never Have To Worry About How I Type Ever Again. It's Completely Up To You.

The Following User Says Thank You to BThomas22x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
epic ubuntu, samsung epic ubuntu, ubuntu
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Epic 4G Android Development by ThreadRank