FORUMS

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[MOD] Ubuntu *Working On Epic!!* NOW UPDATED TO V1.2 (03/13/2011)

28th September 2011, 09:41 AM |#331  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ubuntu Chroot Bootloader v0.1
Ubuntu Bootloader is now installed!
This process does NOT damage Android OS!

To enter the Debian Linux console just type 'bootlinux'
# bootlinux
mknod: /dev/loop5: File exists
losetup: /dev/block/loop5
mount: Device or resource busy
mount: No such file or directory
mount: No such file or directory
mount: No such file or directory
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1
Setting /etc/resolv.conf to Google Open DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
bootlinux: cannot create /data/local/ubuntu/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
bootlinux: cannot create /data/local/ubuntu/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
Setting localhost on /etc/hosts
bootlinux: cannot create /data/local/ubuntu/etc/hosts: directory nonexistent
Created by KellyLewis3985 and BThomas22x!
Brought to you by Team Viper!

chroot: can't execute '/bin/bash': No such file or directory

Shutting down Ubuntu
failed.
failed.
failed.
failed.
#

That's what I get on my ext4-filesystem galaxy tab (voodoo lagfix kernel)
 
 
28th September 2011, 11:00 AM |#332  
nathanpc's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Brazil
Thanks Meter: 109
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm having the same problem

Any idea?
28th September 2011, 11:49 AM |#333  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,253
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymund160

Ubuntu Chroot Bootloader v0.1
Ubuntu Bootloader is now installed!
This process does NOT damage Android OS!

To enter the Debian Linux console just type 'bootlinux'
# bootlinux
mknod: /dev/loop5: File exists

The loop device appears to already be in use. I don't have a definite fix at the moment, but basically you need to change the ubuntu setup to use another loop device that isn't already in use. Any subsequent errors will probably clear up after that is fixed (no guarantees, but that's the first troubleshooting step)

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
28th September 2011, 11:12 PM |#334  
xopher.hunter's Avatar
Senior Member
Ventura
Thanks Meter: 393
 
More
I am a little confused as to how this works, can I run this on top of srf 1.2 and use the genocide 2.0 kernel so I can dual boot this bad boy with another froyo rom?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
29th September 2011, 12:46 AM |#335  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,253
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xopher.hunter

I am a little confused as to how this works, can I run this on top of srf 1.2 and use the genocide 2.0 kernel so I can dual boot this bad boy with another froyo rom?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

It's not a dual boot - that would entail only booting one OS at a time. This setup boots android as usual, then you start Ubuntu within Android, basically via a virtual machine (an emulator, essentially - that may not be entirely accurate, but close enough).

While it seems that this still has trouble, at least with some roms (configuration conflicts, maybe), if you can find two roms that it will work with AND that work with Genocide, then you could dual boot those roms and run Ubuntu from either one.

However, the rom that is booted from the SD card will likely run on the slow side (unless you have a high enough class of SD card), so running another OS on top of that would be either unbearably slow, or completely unusable.

Hopefully that helps clear things up a bit

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
1st October 2011, 10:14 AM |#336  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
can use it for galaxy tab 7 ?
10th October 2011, 12:39 AM |#337  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
The links are broken, can you please fix hosting?
5th November 2011, 08:46 PM |#338  
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 4
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm wondering if anyone has tried to use a different ISO for Ubuntu variants like BT5 of Mint? I didn't read the entire thread reply but just wondering it would be easy to set up. Would love to get Lubuntu running, will post results if I can get anything else running. great thread btw, much thanks to the OP.
10th March 2012, 09:18 AM |#339  
EvoNotEvil's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
LINKS
new links to ubuntu and scripts appear to be down. reupload ? Strange that their isnt more following here. no posts in a while.
13th March 2012, 05:00 PM |#340  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Links are still dead. Is anyone going to fix this? The OP says it was updated today but the links are still down.

---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:00 PM ----------

Actually, it says it was updated a year ago today LOL
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
epic ubuntu, samsung epic ubuntu, ubuntu
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes