5,597,313 Members 37,555 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] Ubuntu *Working On Epic!!* NOW UPDATED TO V1.2 (03/13/2011)

Tip us?
 
raymund160
Old
#331  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Apr 2011
Ubuntu Chroot Bootloader v0.1
Ubuntu Bootloader is now installed!
This process does NOT damage Android OS!

To enter the Debian Linux console just type 'bootlinux'
# bootlinux
mknod: /dev/loop5: File exists
losetup: /dev/block/loop5
mount: Device or resource busy
mount: No such file or directory
mount: No such file or directory
mount: No such file or directory
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1
Setting /etc/resolv.conf to Google Open DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
bootlinux: cannot create /data/local/ubuntu/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
bootlinux: cannot create /data/local/ubuntu/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
Setting localhost on /etc/hosts
bootlinux: cannot create /data/local/ubuntu/etc/hosts: directory nonexistent
Created by KellyLewis3985 and BThomas22x!
Brought to you by Team Viper!

chroot: can't execute '/bin/bash': No such file or directory

Shutting down Ubuntu
failed.
failed.
failed.
failed.
#

That's what I get on my ext4-filesystem galaxy tab (voodoo lagfix kernel)
 
nathanpc
Old
#332  
nathanpc's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 554
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brazil

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm having the same problem

Any idea?
Daily Use/Development Devices: Galaxy Nexus - BlackBerry Dev Alpha - BlackBerry PlayBook 64GB - BlackBerry Bold 9900 - ASUS EeePad Slider - Samsung Galaxy Tab P1000L - iPhone 4 32GB - iPad 1 w/ 3G 64GB

Other Devices I Own BlackBerry Torch 9800 - HTC Ultimate (aka Titan) - Samsung Galaxy S I9000B - Motorola Milestone - HTC Touch Pro2 - HTC Vox - HP iPAQ Hx2920b - Palm T|X - HP Jornada 720 - iPod Touch 3g 64GB - Nokia E61 - Nokia N95 - Mio Moov 560 - TI Nspire

About Me - Night Clock - build.prop Editor - RubyGems Browser
Android User
 
styles420
Old
#333  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1235
Posts: 2,145
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymund160 View Post
Ubuntu Chroot Bootloader v0.1
Ubuntu Bootloader is now installed!
This process does NOT damage Android OS!

To enter the Debian Linux console just type 'bootlinux'
# bootlinux
mknod: /dev/loop5: File exists
The loop device appears to already be in use. I don't have a definite fix at the moment, but basically you need to change the ubuntu setup to use another loop device that isn't already in use. Any subsequent errors will probably clear up after that is fixed (no guarantees, but that's the first troubleshooting step)

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
"What is this?! When does this happen in the movie?!"

"Now, sir. You're looking at now - everything that's happening now, is happening now."
 
xopher.hunter
Old
#334  
xopher.hunter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 386
Posts: 1,602
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ventura
I am a little confused as to how this works, can I run this on top of srf 1.2 and use the genocide 2.0 kernel so I can dual boot this bad boy with another froyo rom?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
 
styles420
Old
#335  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1235
Posts: 2,145
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xopher.hunter View Post
I am a little confused as to how this works, can I run this on top of srf 1.2 and use the genocide 2.0 kernel so I can dual boot this bad boy with another froyo rom?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
It's not a dual boot - that would entail only booting one OS at a time. This setup boots android as usual, then you start Ubuntu within Android, basically via a virtual machine (an emulator, essentially - that may not be entirely accurate, but close enough).

While it seems that this still has trouble, at least with some roms (configuration conflicts, maybe), if you can find two roms that it will work with AND that work with Genocide, then you could dual boot those roms and run Ubuntu from either one.

However, the rom that is booted from the SD card will likely run on the slow side (unless you have a high enough class of SD card), so running another OS on top of that would be either unbearably slow, or completely unusable.

Hopefully that helps clear things up a bit

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
"What is this?! When does this happen in the movie?!"

"Now, sir. You're looking at now - everything that's happening now, is happening now."
 
maihuuquan
Old
#336  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2010
can use it for galaxy tab 7 ?
 
SirLeto
Old
#337  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 116
Join Date: Jun 2011
The links are broken, can you please fix hosting?
 
iphone=closedsystem
Old
#338  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 109
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bay Area

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm wondering if anyone has tried to use a different ISO for Ubuntu variants like BT5 of Mint? I didn't read the entire thread reply but just wondering it would be easy to set up. Would love to get Lubuntu running, will post results if I can get anything else running. great thread btw, much thanks to the OP.
 
EvoNotEvil
Old
#339  
EvoNotEvil's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 147
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default LINKS

new links to ubuntu and scripts appear to be down. reupload ? Strange that their isnt more following here. no posts in a while.
Whatever Rom is making me screwy atm thanks to the rediculous number of options available
 
Kafluke
Old
#340  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 245
Join Date: Mar 2009
Links are still dead. Is anyone going to fix this? The OP says it was updated today but the links are still down.

---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:00 PM ----------

Actually, it says it was updated a year ago today LOL

Tags
epic ubuntu, samsung epic ubuntu, ubuntu
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes