Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

Creating Goldcard

OP emx_o

30th October 2010, 04:01 PM   |  #1  
emx_o's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 37
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Hi,

I just tried to generate a goldcard for my DHD, but adb shell cant read mmc1, so I cant get the CID mmc0 and 2 are working, which of the 2 should I choose?

iI used this guide:
ty in advance

edit: ITS MMC2
Last edited by M_T_M; 17th November 2010 at 05:46 PM. Reason: Deleted link
31st October 2010, 09:22 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
hi,

also wanted to debrand my DHD, but i always get error 170 usb not connected ...

i have o2 DHD and wanted to flash the standard 1.32 RUU

may an idea what problem there is ?

tested with or without HTC sync installed

thanks ahead
31st October 2010, 05:32 PM   |  #3  
Apache14's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 551
 
875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
You need to use MMC2 while creating the goldcard as that is the ext SD card.

All you have to do is get the signed RUU zip file and rename it to PD98IMG.zip and put that on the goldcard SD card and boot to hboot.

hboot should check the the file and ask to flash it :D

Im writing a guide for this now sould be up after iv confirmed it working
31st October 2010, 10:12 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 29
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
isn't USB error to do with drivers? install the latest htc sync that came with the phones memory card and then run the RUU
1st November 2010, 05:40 AM   |  #5  
emx_o's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 37
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Vote 4 guide xD ill give it a try tomorrow, got usb problems as well

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
1st November 2010, 07:28 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
i got it working yesterday then after using a different pc as raZr confirmed working.

and yes, worked then here too.

no idea why it doesnt work on my main pc, all i can imagine is may collides due
too many drivers ... desire, iphone, desireHD, ...
1st November 2010, 04:20 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
is there any real reason to create goldcard of any major use i.e. will this help me to gain information i can pass on to help with perma root on vision. i have looked into goldcard creation a lot since receiving my DHD but cannot see what i can do with the goldcard. Confused if this helps toward root.


am a knoob

1st November 2010, 06:53 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Won't help the people who are working on rooting the DHD, but it lets you debrand your phone if you have a carrier specific branded version by flashing a signed unbranded ROM.

In the future it might be necessary to root your phone, but not yet... crossing fingers here.
1st November 2010, 08:39 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 50
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Does anyone know what is done by Viper to actually create the GoldCard image?

I've been looking at the GoldCard method this week, threw together a nice AJAX CID reverser which flips the digits and replaces the first two with 00, but would like to know about the image side now.
Last edited by M_T_M; 17th November 2010 at 05:51 PM.
5th November 2010, 11:22 AM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Essex, England
Thanks Meter: 3
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Question
Hi there guys I don't own the Desire HD yet, but am very interested in it.

I'm an Android newb. I'm likely going to purchase a UK Vodafone branded Desire HD but would like to immediately debrand it to essentially make it a stock HTC version.

Is this possible?

If so, is the method you've described in the previous posts, the way to do it? i.e. create a Goldcard in the way described on the Modaco website (these instructions appear to be for the Desire, not the Desire HD - does this matter?)

I have had a Voda branded Nokia N95 8GB for 3 years but changed the product code and installed a standard Nokia firmware - I'd like to do the same with my Desire HD (when I get it).

Hopefully that all made sense,

Any help appreciated.

Cheers,

Grim.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes