How Open Source Can Help Your Project w/ Ethan Yonker – BABBQ2014

People have finally recovered from this years Big Android BBQ … more

Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more

More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more

Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more
Post Reply

[Q] Remove T-mobile customizations from my Omnia 7

OP Meanblue

31st October 2010, 09:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Greetings all,

I am hoping one of you can help me - I have recently received a T-mobile branded Omnia 7, which arrived locked. I have unlocked the phone and have it working now with my o2 sim card.

My problem is that the phone remains branded and customized to T-mobile - the loading splash screen (which I can live with) and the default homepage within the internet explorer (which I seemingly cannot change). Hence whenever I perform a search I am redirected to a T-mobile branded google search (not the end of the world but the pages are then riddled with T-mobile links to their own website etc.

I have tried a factory reset to no avail - the T-mobile customizations remain. Does anyone know how to remove these brandings? or at the very least remove them from IE?

Thank you in advance for your help.
31st October 2010, 10:03 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
how did you unlock the phone?
31st October 2010, 10:13 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
unlock code
mobileunlocked .co .uk

They were very quick - I also emailed them a question which they responded to within 30 mins - reassuring.

They delivered the unlock code the following day.

Cost me £24 I believe. Highly recommended.
31st October 2010, 10:31 AM   |  #4  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag No Android Fanboys Please !!!
Thanks Meter: 2,175
 
3,361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
you can't de-brand a wp7 phone , only when we have custom rom's/jailbreak/HSPL we can do that .
31st October 2010, 11:10 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Its weird. I have omnia 7 directly from T-mobile as well but I dont have some of the T-mo customizations. I have standard bing as a search engine, and no default home page in internet explorer. My phone is still locked to them as I love flext tariff, so only thing is the loading screen (which I have just seen once
Is there any way to copy rom from one phone to another?
1st November 2010, 09:04 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
dont forget carriers will unlock it free for you over the phone, orange, voda and t-mobile (i've done it with these straight away after buying) so am sure a lot of others do.

just out of interest to some of you when you get ur spanky new phone and you unlock it for another carrier, the insurance you have is probs void as each call/sim is logged and if its not your carriers sim/phone combo they wont honor the insurance. This is specialy true to orange from september so others will probs follow soon if they havn't already.
25th December 2010, 09:41 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Remove!!!
Helllo ,
Iíve got device from T-mobile,and unlocked it by code, but when I press search when in IE I got a page t-mobile-favoriten page in Deutschland language.
Do you know how help me to remove it please?
I'm waiting for your answer.
Merry christmass!!
Best Regard.
31st December 2010, 11:34 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Giannitsa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Hi from Greece. I got mine from Germany. Used the network profile app to switch to Vodafone Greece but still have the default search issue. I've found this link and app that promises to change the provider to Bing but i haven't tried it yet (too scared to try an app that makes registry changes). Please try it and tell me how it worked (if it worked that is :P )

www dot nextbestgeek dot com/2010/12/30/remove-t-mobile-branding-on-samsung-omnia-7-partially/

(Apparently xda won't let me post a link as i am a new user. replace dot with '.')

Thanks,
happy new year everyone
31st December 2010, 11:46 AM   |  #9  
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 2,573
 
2,495 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meanblue

mobileunlocked .co .uk



They were very quick - I also emailed them a question which they responded to within 30 mins - reassuring.



They delivered the unlock code the following day.



Cost me £24 I believe. Highly recommended.


Hi I paid £13 ($20) at fastgsm.com. Its a cable unlock solution but once u purchase an unlock credit, ur phone is done in seconds! So cheaper is better i so believe!

Sent from my OMNIA7 using Board Express
1st January 2011, 03:54 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Hi Imperial Dynamics,

should work as advertised but I'm the developer . Actually all it does is chaning the search scope, so it doesn't delete any setting that might be there. I have it running on my Omnia 7 from t-mobile an reverted the t-mobile search back to bing.
You can always switch back to t-mobile search.

regards,
-tobias

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
omnia 7, t-mobile
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes