Post Reply

"USB debugging" is missing

31st October 2010, 03:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Hello everyone,

I would like to rooot my device. Unfortunately my device uses a firmware which disables the USB Debugging mode. There is no menu item.

Does anyone know a way how to enable it?

Kind regards
PaulyTally
31st October 2010, 03:46 PM   |  #2  
linuxmotion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hemet, CA
Thanks Meter: 28
 
354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Which device are you running? What is the build numer? Is it eclair or froyo. Google "device root". That should get you started. where you replace device with your device. There is something out there on the subject. Without more info we cant help though

Sent from Conical .06
31st October 2010, 04:02 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxmotion

Which device are you running? What is the build numer? Is it eclair or froyo. Google "device root". That should get you started. where you replace device with your device. There is something out there on the subject. Without more info we cant help though

Sent from Conical .06

It's a 1&1 Smartpad. I've googled a lot without success.
It's a tablet running Froyo..

This is the technical specification:
* Display: 7″ LED-Touch-Display (Resoultion 800 x 480)
* Processor: 500 MHz ARM11
* Memory: 256 MB DDR RAM
* Internal memory: 1 GB Flash
* Model number: smartpad
* Kernel-Version: 2.6.29FV.0025.MTD_RO
* Build number: Release 02.01

I hop this helps.

Kind regards
PaulyTally
31st October 2010, 05:30 PM   |  #4  
linuxmotion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hemet, CA
Thanks Meter: 28
 
354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
If its brand new there may not be any info yet. I have dinc so i can't try any methods if i find them. If i find anything ill let you know though.

Edit: i can see why you haven't had much success. It seems its a relatively new device. Seems localized to germany from what i can tell.
There is no usb debugging menu in settings->applications->development?

Sent from Conical .06
31st October 2010, 06:16 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxmotion

If its brand new there may not be any info yet. I have dinc so i can't try any methods if i find them. If i find anything ill let you know though.

Edit: i can see why you haven't had much success. It seems its a relatively new device. Seems localized to germany from what i can tell.
There is no usb debugging menu in settings->applications->development?

Sent from Conical .06


Yes, it's a German device, produced by NEC...

I do not have any development menu. The whole settings->applications->development doesn't exist.

Kind regards
PaulyTally
4th November 2010, 12:32 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Any ideas? Looks like I just have to enable the usb debugging... are there no hacks to achieve this...

Alternatively another rooting method would be great of course.

Still hoping someone can help me...

PaulyTally
4th November 2010, 04:34 PM   |  #7  
linuxmotion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hemet, CA
Thanks Meter: 28
 
354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
All i can think is to use a recovery hack. Though i think i saw that koush developed a temp root solution but idk. If i can find some links ill post them here.

Sent from Conical. 07

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Software and Hacking General [Developers Only] by ThreadRank