DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Gapless playback in Zune??

OP adamwebb28

3rd November 2010, 03:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Hi all

Had an HD7 for the last week, great phone. I've found a couple of little bugs (eg if your browsing in IE and go back to the home tab, use some other apps then go back to IE, theres no way of going back in the browser as the back button just takes you back to the home page or previous app?)

Anyway, onto my question, does the Zune player on the phone support gapless playback of tracks? I've got a lot of albums of live concerts etc that would normally playback seemlessly on my old iPhone but have gaps when played on the Zune. Couldnt find any options anywhere to change it. Does anyone know if this is supported or not?

Thanks!
3rd November 2010, 04:11 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I know gapless is supported on the ZuneHD. But I know even then some people had issues in getting it to work, and it is all based on how your albums are tagged in the ID3. Once I get my HD7 I can confirm if albums that played fine gapless on the ZuneHD do so on the HD7 and i'll inspect the ID3 to figure out what the appropriate tags are.
3rd November 2010, 04:39 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Thanks! All my music is imported into Zune from iTunes so maybe iTunes hasn't tagged the music properly? Or Zune can't read the itunes tags?
4th November 2010, 01:05 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Gapless works on Zune HD as long as there is no DRM...thus, if you bring your own tracks with no DRM, gapless works perfectly...however, if you have a zune pass, funny enough, gapless does not work...

This is a known issue for many months but MS has no fixed it so far...(people seemed more upset at the lack of apps for the Zune HD than fixing core music related issues)...
4th November 2010, 11:33 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Thanks. I seem to get this from my own ripped CD's as well as music bought from iTunes and music from my Zune subscription.

I might try re-ripping one of my CD's in Zune and see if it works.

Gapless playback seems to be a massive missing feature of an audio device?!
10th November 2010, 03:26 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Londres
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
A big one for me is this. I've got 200 or so live/dj mix albums, so not having this feature has pretty much made my new HD7 worthless to me.

All my music is in .M4A format and was ripped/converted in iTunes. I also tried ripping a mix CD to .MP3 format, but got the same result.

I just don't understand why MS haven't implemented it. If there are no plans to add this, then my HD7 will have to be returned.
10th March 2011, 04:27 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
I know this is an old thread, but I've noticed something when using bluetooth and my music...
I use my HD2 (WinMo7) when I'm down the gym and a lot of my mix tracks often jump at the mix point, some even have some stuttering...
However I've noticed that when I'm streaming via bluetooth to my car stereo, the same tracks don't jump or stutter and play virtually continous. There is only the odd tiny space on some tracks...
12th March 2011, 04:27 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Daytona Beach, Fl
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Beatles USB gapless
My Beatles, Abbey Road Remastered 2nd side sounds great on Zune on WP7. Very slight breaks between songs, but nothing objectionable to me.

Make sure that when you select the music, you select the Play All or Play Album selection. Don't try to play the 1st track and expect things to go uninterrupted.

Definitely the Abbey Road playback is different than the first side, which has song-to-song gaps.

Enjoy Windows Phone 7!

-e
17th November 2011, 05:25 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Aldan, PA (Philadelphia Suburb)
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
I've been digging around recently in trying to get some gapless in WP7.

I then finally notice that the Zune PC software doesn't even do gapless! The gap is shorter, I suspect due to the more powerful hardware, but it's still not gapless.

Windows Media Player seems to emit a slight click

Winamp and Foobar both seamlessly transition to the next song.



But, back to WP7. It's now apparent that either MS needs to fix this (they didn't in Mango, so they probably won't for a while, if at all), or a third party app that doesn't use Zune could be created, (or ported).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes