Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Confused on Facebook

OP hah2110

3rd November 2010, 10:03 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
2,442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
The facebook app that comes with the phone isn't really an app, it is just friendstream, no? When I signed it, it downloaded ALL of my contacts instead of just those with a matching entry in my phone which I can do with the Facebook app. How do I change that?
3rd November 2010, 10:27 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Albuquerque
Thanks Meter: 43
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hah2110

The facebook app that comes with the phone isn't really an app, it is just friendstream, no? When I signed it, it downloaded ALL of my contacts instead of just those with a matching entry in my phone which I can do with the Facebook app. How do I change that?

can you not find the official facebook app in the market? I personally use Bloo as my FB Client and just sync my FB contacts through Settings > Accounts & Sync > Add new > Facebook
3rd November 2010, 10:58 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
2,442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I can but want to understand what the integrated solution does
4th November 2010, 05:07 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag los angeles
Thanks Meter: 0
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Go to the Sync option remove your facebook there and then add it again it will ask for the option if you want to sync matching contacts or all of them.
4th November 2010, 05:58 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
2,442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acid_Wir3

Go to the Sync option remove your facebook there and then add it again it will ask for the option if you want to sync matching contacts or all of them.

Add Facebook or Facebook for myTouch? Regular Facebook doesn't do anything when pressed. Facebook for myTouch doesn't give me the option.

Thx
4th November 2010, 06:17 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag los angeles
Thanks Meter: 0
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Use facebook for mytouch, after doing that wait for some time and it will notify you that you havd contactd simmilar to your fb account and if you wanna sync them

Sent from my HTC Glacier using XDA App
5th November 2010, 07:06 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Missouri
Thanks Meter: 15
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Go to your contact list, click menu and view. It will let you decide which acccounts you want it to show in your contact list.
6th November 2010, 09:30 PM   |  #8  
kitsunisan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
715 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Facebook for Mytouch never syncs contacts for me, it gives me the "sync is having problems now" message. Anyone experience this?
11th November 2010, 10:00 PM   |  #9  
Gr8gorilla's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga
Thanks Meter: 103
 
887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Mine worked fine but there is an option under the contacts settings to make only contacts with phone numbers show. That is really nice.
11th November 2010, 10:45 PM   |  #10  
esincho's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 223
 
2,411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
I disabled this cause even when I select use google pic, some how a few contacts would still revert to facebook over time. Too frustrating for me.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes