5,606,779 Members 37,904 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Confused on Facebook

Tip us?
 
hah2110
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 2,442
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Confused on Facebook

The facebook app that comes with the phone isn't really an app, it is just friendstream, no? When I signed it, it downloaded ALL of my contacts instead of just those with a matching entry in my phone which I can do with the Facebook app. How do I change that?
 
agentaaron
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 472
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Albuquerque
Quote:
Originally Posted by hah2110 View Post
The facebook app that comes with the phone isn't really an app, it is just friendstream, no? When I signed it, it downloaded ALL of my contacts instead of just those with a matching entry in my phone which I can do with the Facebook app. How do I change that?
can you not find the official facebook app in the market? I personally use Bloo as my FB Client and just sync my FB contacts through Settings > Accounts & Sync > Add new > Facebook
 
hah2110
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 2,442
Join Date: Nov 2008
I can but want to understand what the integrated solution does
 
Acid_Wir3
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 134
Join Date: May 2010
Location: los angeles
Go to the Sync option remove your facebook there and then add it again it will ask for the option if you want to sync matching contacts or all of them.
 
hah2110
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 2,442
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acid_Wir3 View Post
Go to the Sync option remove your facebook there and then add it again it will ask for the option if you want to sync matching contacts or all of them.
Add Facebook or Facebook for myTouch? Regular Facebook doesn't do anything when pressed. Facebook for myTouch doesn't give me the option.

Thx
 
Acid_Wir3
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 134
Join Date: May 2010
Location: los angeles
Use facebook for mytouch, after doing that wait for some time and it will notify you that you havd contactd simmilar to your fb account and if you wanna sync them

Sent from my HTC Glacier using XDA App
HTC Dream/G1 with CM->
HTC Leo/HD2 stock?->
Samsung Vibrant bionix->
Htc Glacier/Mytouch 4g stock ->
Htc Vision/G2 Virtous
 
CyberStorm98
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 115
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Missouri
Go to your contact list, click menu and view. It will let you decide which acccounts you want it to show in your contact list.
 
kitsunisan
Old
#8  
kitsunisan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 714
Join Date: Jan 2009
Facebook for Mytouch never syncs contacts for me, it gives me the "sync is having problems now" message. Anyone experience this?
 
Gr8gorilla
Old
#9  
Gr8gorilla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 887
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta, Ga

 
DONATE TO ME
Mine worked fine but there is an option under the contacts settings to make only contacts with phone numbers show. That is really nice.
 
esincho
Old
#10  
esincho's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 213
Posts: 2,382
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisiana
I disabled this cause even when I select use google pic, some how a few contacts would still revert to facebook over time. Too frustrating for me.
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Samsung Skyrocket
HTC My Touch 4G
HTC Nexus One
HTC HD2
HTC Touch Pro 2
Palm Treo 680 (2 of em)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...