FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

[Q] Galaxy S i9000 as an wireless access point hot spot

33 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By newsgroupmonkey, Member on 5th August 2010, 12:25 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Clearly, you can use the tethering within Kies to connect to the interweb which is a massive bonus over most other 2.1 versions

Has anyone investigated using a Galaxy as a Wireless Access Point?

There's a 'droid app here

h t t p : / / c o d e .g o o g l e. c o m / p / android-wifi-tether /

But the Galaxy S isn't mentioned.

Does anyone know of an app that would work the same?

Basically, I want to avoid having to swap my Sim into a MiFi type device (Google it if you've no idea what I'm talking about)
 
 
5th August 2010, 12:40 PM |#2  
xsoft's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I tried today:
http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...downloads/list
"wireless_tether_2_0_5-pre7.apk"

and .. it works. Sometimes Ive got some "unknown state", but restart (app) will work.
5th August 2010, 12:43 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Eh, its built into the galaxy s. RTFM.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
5th August 2010, 12:50 PM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bynar010

Eh, its built into the galaxy s. RTFM.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App

I know how to tether using Kies

I'm talking about setting my phone up so that I can not only access the interweb from my PC using Kies, but also PSP, DS, netbook and so on.
5th August 2010, 12:53 PM |#5  
Piny12's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
D'OH!

Settings -> Wireless and Network -> Mobile-AP Settings -> Mobile Accesspoint
Last edited by Piny12; 5th August 2010 at 01:04 PM. Reason: Little typo.
5th August 2010, 12:53 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I thought all Galaxy S phones has mobile AP already built in as standard.

Steps:

Head to settings > Wireless and network > Mobile AP settings

Once in this area, if you have wifi turned on already it will pop up with the following message 'Disconnect Wi-Fi for using Mobile AP'. Click yes.

Next, click the menu key and click settings. In the options that appear,
- tick 'Mobile AP'
- untick 'Hide my device'
- tick 'Tethering' (if you wanna use)
and use the connection password in that screen to connect or use your own.

This all works for me.
5th August 2010, 12:53 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by newsgroupmonkey

I know how to tether using Kies

I'm talking about setting my phone up so that I can not only access the interweb from my PC using Kies, but also PSP, DS, netbook and so on.

Exactly THAT is built in!!!!!!
A wireless AP!
5th August 2010, 12:57 PM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Yup, you're right cheers.

Now setup and working.

What's odd is that most plans in the UK actually ban tethering and yet the SGS is the only Android phone that has all this functionality out-of-the-box.
5th August 2010, 01:01 PM |#9  
Piny12's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Yes, we lucky users
6th August 2010, 02:20 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piny12

Yes, we lucky users

I have US version vibrant from T-Mobile, I don't see this Mobile AP settings. Do I need to disable the sense UI to see it?
6th August 2010, 02:48 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Lippstadt
Thanks Meter: 32
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcadepdx

I have US version vibrant from T-Mobile, I don't see this Mobile AP settings. Do I need to disable the sense UI to see it?

IIRC I think all US carriers are blocking it except for Sprint.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
tethering, wireless
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes