Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[GUIDE]Uninstalling Stock/System Apps

5th November 2010, 11:07 AM   |  #1  
l1nuxfre4k's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
265 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Hello all :=)
Thought i would give a small quick guide for you hehe.

Ofc root your phone before this :=)
Step1.
Install Titanium Backup from market.
Step2. Start it.
step 3 Firstly, after you run Titanium Backup you need to tap on "Problems?" and accept to download BusyBox.
Step 4. Keep your finger pressed on the app you want removed.
step5. On the bottom of the options that comes up you find force remove app.

That simple it is

Im aware of some people have posted this in threads and such, but i thought i would make a simple straight forward guide for them that did not know about titanium backup

Warning
This will stop the OTA updates for your phones.
You will need to download the ZIP for the update when it's released here to update.
Or the RUU
Last edited by l1nuxfre4k; 6th November 2010 at 05:17 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to l1nuxfre4k For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th November 2010, 11:13 AM   |  #2  
mike1986.'s Avatar
Senior Member
XDA-Developers
Thanks Meter: 70,123
 
37,031 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
The guide is incomplete. Firstly, after you run Titanium Backup you need to tap on "Problems?" and accept to download BusyBox.
5th November 2010, 11:19 AM   |  #3  
l1nuxfre4k's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
265 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by michal_banszel

The guide is incomplete. Firstly, after you run Titanium Backup you need to tap on "Problems?" and accept to download BusyBox.

Very true thank you.
5th November 2010, 12:26 PM   |  #4  
Café King's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marseille
Thanks Meter: 116
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
And when doing this, the apps removed will be gone for good? Or just temp?

TY


/CK
5th November 2010, 01:07 PM   |  #5  
Kroutnuk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag La Longueville
Thanks Meter: 119
 
570 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
it's for good
5th November 2010, 01:39 PM   |  #6  
Café King's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marseille
Thanks Meter: 116
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Cool... But I must be doing something wrong... Got the Busybox and did as above, but after the restarts the removed app is still there


/CK
5th November 2010, 03:37 PM   |  #7  
mike1986.'s Avatar
Senior Member
XDA-Developers
Thanks Meter: 70,123
 
37,031 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Café King

Cool... But I must be doing something wrong... Got the Busybox and did as above, but after the restarts the removed app is still there


/CK

You need to have the newest TitBackup 3.5.7.3 to do that. Then remember not to use Uninstall option but you need to keep your finger for a little longer to see full list of options and then select force to remove using Paul's recovery.
5th November 2010, 06:27 PM   |  #8  
egzthunder1's Avatar
Member Advocate Admin - Spirit of XDA
Flag At The Good End Of My Hammer, Likes: My Family & XDA, Dislikes: Incompetence
Thanks Meter: 4,961
 
18,482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2005
More
Thread stuck.
5th November 2010, 07:14 PM   |  #9  
jkoljo's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Tampere
Thanks Meter: 2,525
 
3,377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Works great!
5th November 2010, 10:11 PM   |  #10  
Café King's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marseille
Thanks Meter: 116
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Got it working now Is it true that if there's a new ota we need to flash this rom from scratch to be allowed to get the update?


/CK

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Desire HD Android Development by ThreadRank