Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,739 Members 43,585 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

desire hd gps signal strenght

Tip us?
 
hayabbusa
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Frankfurt am Main
Default desire hd gps signal strenght

hi guys, i just dont know why my DHD gps signal is so weak. today i've been driving for 30 km and it could not connect to the satelites, all the way down it was "searching for gps". when i stop the car sometimes it finds the gps signal, but when i starting to drive, the signal drops down again. same problem with locations and google navigation. any ideas folks ?
 
misterzak
Old
#2  
misterzak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 100
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newport Pagnell
Could be anything really, there are a lot of factors. If you're riding a hayabusa, it might not be able to keep up......!

Try a factory reset and see if it helps. I personally haven't had any issues.

Sent from my DHD
HTC DHD on CM7
SONY ERICSSON X10 on 2.1 (Finally)
SAMSUNG GALAXY S
T-MOBILE G1 (Bricked)
 
hayabbusa
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Frankfurt am Main
ok, i'll try this. no, i'm using this in the car lol

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
 
Patrock.nl
Old
#4  
Patrock.nl's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 31
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Overijssel
what where the weather conditions? do you have heating in your front window? latest updates as to the locations of satellites? A-GPS option off?

any experience with other GPS devices in the car?
 
hayabbusa
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Frankfurt am Main
Just did a factory restore. Still can't get gps signal to work.

Before the DHD I had a HTC desire and it had a perfect gps signal. Now I place my dhd in the same place and its just showing "searching for gps" all the time. Sometimes he catch up the signal, but it drops down very soon. Maybe there is any solutions how to fix it. Please help me people

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
 
hayabbusa
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Frankfurt am Main
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrock.nl View Post
what where the weather conditions? do you have heating in your front window? latest updates as to the locations of satellites? A-GPS option off?

any experience with other GPS devices in the car?
Latest updates of locations of satellites? How can I do that?

I think ill try to reflash the official DHD RUU.


Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
 
hayabbusa
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Frankfurt am Main
reflashed ruu, still no signal maybe its the hardware faulty? what do you think guys?
 
stihl
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jun 2009
I'd call HTC if I were you. Might very well be a faulty GPS receiver.
 
Humz
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 73
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Walsall
Quote:
Originally Posted by stihl View Post
I'd call HTC if I were you. Might very well be a faulty GPS receiver.
agreed, mine has managed to pick of GPS signal while indoors as quick as my Touch HD used to when it was outside
Running HTC TYTNII
ROM: Dutty's WM6.1 WWE
Radio: 1.58.26.20

You know you want to

Nokia 5110 -> Nokia 3210 -> Nokia 3310 -> Nokia 3330 -> Sony Ericsson T610i -> Nokia 6680 -> O2 XDA mini S -> HTC TyTN II -> HTC Touch HD -> HTC Desire HD
 
hayabbusa
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Frankfurt am Main
Quote:
Originally Posted by stihl View Post
I'd call HTC if I were you. Might very well be a faulty GPS receiver.
yeah, that's what i'm going to do now, definetely its the gps receivers fault. ok thanks for help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes